We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   373 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel itself was fine, room was nice & clean, etc. My issues with this property are:

- Breakfast not starting until 6:00. For an airport hotel this is unacceptable. The whole point of an airport hotel is to be close to the airport for an early flight. Breakfast should be available (or at least something) by 5:00.

- Shuttles are quite intermittant until after 5:00, again this is not really conducive to staying in an airport hotel for early flights.

- Quite pricey for a HIE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    123
    65
    30
    29
See reviews for
96
96
40
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

nothing special. negative experience: asked reception to call a taxi, and a town car showed up
with the driver asking for $60.00 to go downtown San Francisco; cab fare is $35.00. when told, driver claimed his rate was same as taxi fare. we refused to get in, he obtained permission from front desk person to take us for $40.00. left us with a bad taste

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Fredontheroad,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to San Francisco and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were a family of 4 adults and the size of this room accommodated us well. We normally stay at the HIE SF Pier but the rooms there can be very cramped.
We had 2 queen sized beds, a decent sized fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The breakfast has stepped up over time and we really appreciated it. The two workers kept everything filled up to the end of breakfast without having too much of the hot foods out at one time. They really did a great job.
We didn't interact too much with any of the employees as everything went very smoothly and everything we needed were already provided in the room.
I must say, we left a car in the garage all day near the entrance with the window open and nothing was missing or touched. Very safe area.
We've been visiting San Francisco once or twice a year and I would definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After a 12 hour flight we wanted a nice hotel very close to the airport and the rental car agency. The hotel was perfect for that. It was very comfortable with a good sized room for our family of 4 and very comfortable beds, and it was very modern. The staff were friendly. We were within easy walking distance of an IHOP, which was fine for dinner. We really enjoyed the free buffet breakfast the next day - it had a good selection. My children had fun in the spa pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On our recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, the front desk person on arrival was vey nice and accommodating. Our room when we arrived was clean but clearly had a moldy odor. Since we were staying just one night we let it slide. It was nice being able to leave our car parked there while gone and using the shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEXS_Management, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for your recent stay and comments. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced when staying with us. Since we have never had such a complaint before, we are currently investigating your complaint. In the future, please let us know if there is any problem with your stay as soon as possible, so that we can remedy the situation immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After 10.5 hour flight we wanted a hotel close to airport. Chose this after reading Trip Advisor. We were lucky in that the hotel shutte arrived withing 60 seconds of as getting to shuttle stop at airport and the trip was very quick as hotel is so close (though the shuttle also serves the Travelodge and best Western located right by the Holiday inn.)

Very pleasant welcome at reception, room was bigger than expected with a seating area. All spotlessly clean. No restaurant on site but there's a 24hour IHOP within a few minutes walk (turn right out of hotel to traffic lights, cross there and its in front of you attached to the Travelodge) where I had a hamburger before bed.

Noticed the hotel had an inside swimming pool and gym, but didn't use them, or free internet or TV, but did use the bed which was so comfortable we had a good sleep.


Used the free shuttle - which loops around every 30 minutes (shows how close the hotel is to the airport when it serves 3 hotels and the airport terminals) to go back to airport next morning to pick up rental car and found that rental car location and hotel aree ven closer.

You could stay in the hotel and travel to downtown SF via the BART railway station at the airport, which we many well do later in this trip.

Very pleased with our - albeit very short - stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel in general and room were very nice, clean and modern. The bed was comfy and they had a good daily breakfast. But.... the Wi-Fi was very disappointing. It was not available most of the time related to excessive use. Never able to get on in the afternoon or early evening. They need to upgrade. Also, be aware there is a $8.95 a day. This is not indicated in the description and I was under the impression it was free because they make a statement that "extended" (for airport) parking had a surcharge. Also, if your interested in a variety of restaurants you have to go looking...it's located in a very commercial location....great if your looking for a quick stop from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North

Address: 373 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport North is centrally located just one mile north of San Francisco International Airport and minutes from San Francisco's world famous attractions and financial district. Complimentary amenities with each night's stay include a free hot morning breakfast buffet, free San Francisco International Airport and BART station shuttle service, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and free use of the hotel's 24 hour business center.The hotel also offers guests an expanded fitness room and whirlpool spa. In-room amenities in all of the the hotel's newly renovated oversized guestrooms include a luxury pillow-top mattress, 32" flat panel television, microwave/refrigerator, digital safe, cordless phone, two-line speakerphone with data-port and voice mail, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, and a large 48" executive desk with an ergonomic chair. A coin-op guest laundry facility and ATM are also available on-site.Park Stay & Go Packages are available, which can include up to 14 days of covered parking beyond your actual stay at the hotel.San Francisco City, Alcatraz, and Napa Valley Room and Tour Packages are available, which include both accommodations and tour pick-up and drop-off services from and to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.