We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel near airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   373 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel near airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I had to go to San Francisco for a 1 night stay before flying to my final destination. Decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Express based past experience. This hotel offered shuttle service between airport and hotel and free breakfast so I decided to stay.

The hotel was great and very convenient to the airport. The room was extremely clean and modern, bed was super comfortable. The staff was very helpful. I had forgotten my medication and the front desk was very helpful in helping me find a pharmacy that would fill my medication before flying.

The hotel also offered parking, but at an additional cost.

Overall, this hotel I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    123
    65
    30
    29
See reviews for
96
96
40
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We booked this at the last minute and were pleasantly surprised that we had the best night sleep in weeks. The rooms were immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. Not only that, the front desk woman was delightful upon arrival, as was the other woman when we departed. I have nothing else to say or advise. I was pleased about the proximity to the airport and would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I will start this review by stating that the experiences that have coloured my opinion are unlikely to be common events and mainly relate to communication with the hotel before and after our stay.
Given I wasn't interested in making international phone calls to clarify reservation details, I sent a number of emails to the hotel only to have them repeatedly ignored (later I was informed that they had inexplicably gone into the hotel's trash folder - not a great way to treat emails from guests!) Whilst this didn't look promising, I was hopeful that the various Trip Advisor comments I had read would prove correct.
The stay itself was uneventful, we had a little bit of a wait for the hotel shuttle, but an easy check in. Both of our 2 Queen bed rooms were clean (overlooking the delivery area, but we weren't there for the view!).
The standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast was in a well set out, clean space in the foyer. There are coin laundry facilities plus a gym area just near the ground floor elevators. While there is no restaurant in the hotel, there is a MacDonald's next door and a lovely sports bar (Houlihan's) at the Holiday Inn just down the road.
We used the hotel shuttle to get back to the airport to catch the train into San Francisco. The public transport was clean and reliable, so it wasn't a bad option, but it meant we couldn't take short breaks during our sightseeing - which we could have done if we'd stayed in town.
Since we were driving out from SFO to San Luis Obispo early, we opted to collect our hire car and pay for one night's parking at the hotel ($US 6.95). This led to the other issue with our stay at the Holiday Inn Express. With handfuls of small change, and only a short amount of time left in the US, I opted to pay the $6.95 in change. There were no problems at the time, but I forgot to get a new receipt (my mistake). After I came home, my credit card bill arrived, with a $6.95 charge (plus exchange fees) - it turned out that my cash payment wasn't recorded, and I had no evidence to state that I had paid. After several emails, I had resigned myself to the double charge (it was the principle, not the cost) - however in January (three months after our stay) the charge was reversed by the hotel.
Would I recommed this hotel? Yes, it is a nice Holiday Inn Express hotel that has reasonable access to the airport. Just remember to get the correct paperwork, and don't expect them to respond to emails.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear InfrequentFlyer22,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

We would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you.

Thank you and best regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

A quiet and pleasant stay at the HI Express near the San Fran intl airport.

Smooth and early check in thanks to Jon & ample size room w comfortable bed.

There was the added surprise of a microwave fridge and my fav - a coffee pot!
Sindy at the front desk dispensed change w sunny cheer despite the painfully early hour.

A hot enjoyable breakfast buffet started both days and all around peaceful visit

Room Tip: On the back side away from the freeway, excellent
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was my first trip to the west coast and I can surely say that it felt just like back home. It was nice to experience the same level and quality of customer service you would expect from a tried and true establishment, Holiday Inn. I loved the diversity of the staff and the courtesy shown in which Tess answered all my touristy questions. Anyways, if you are looking for a restful and overall great hotel stay I would definately recommend this hotel...Holiday Inn Express, and by the way, McDonalds is right next door, good food for a good value...not to mention the complimentary hot breakfast provided by the hotel!! Almost forgot to mention that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great place to stay, with a nice big room and comfortable bed. We stayed and left our vehichle for 2 weeks with park & fly. We were able to leave it in the covered garage. Free shuttle to & from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Park, Stay and Fly and it was very reasonably priced. There was a garage where we could leave our car for 5 days. The lobby and the room were impressively clean and updated. I was surprised how big the room was. It was very spacious. The bathroom, though updated and clean, was short on amenities, yet adequate. Unfortunately for us the breakfast was not edible. However I'm sure it was adequate fare for the average eater. We happen to eat fresh, organic fruits and vegetables.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North

Address: 373 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport North is centrally located just one mile north of San Francisco International Airport and minutes from San Francisco's world famous attractions and financial district. Complimentary amenities with each night's stay include a free hot morning breakfast buffet, free San Francisco International Airport and BART station shuttle service, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and free use of the hotel's 24 hour business center.The hotel also offers guests an expanded fitness room and whirlpool spa. In-room amenities in all of the the hotel's newly renovated oversized guestrooms include a luxury pillow-top mattress, 32" flat panel television, microwave/refrigerator, digital safe, cordless phone, two-line speakerphone with data-port and voice mail, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, and a large 48" executive desk with an ergonomic chair. A coin-op guest laundry facility and ATM are also available on-site.Park Stay & Go Packages are available, which can include up to 14 days of covered parking beyond your actual stay at the hotel.San Francisco City, Alcatraz, and Napa Valley Room and Tour Packages are available, which include both accommodations and tour pick-up and drop-off services from and to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.