We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Great hotel superior service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 Veterans Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow. Great hotel superior service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to the hotel via the courtesy shuttle. There was a smooth transition from airport to hotel. Becky at the front desk provided professional and efficient service upon check in.
Our room was a one bedroom suite that was decorated for my husbands birthday with banner , balloons, wine with a cheese plate. Breakfast was great with a good variety to choose from. The breakfast ladies were charming and welcoming. The star of the hotel is Edil Acosta who with his team set up our room for my husbands birthday. He called me to ask what he could do to help me make my husbands birthday memorable and personally looked after my request . Other hotels could learn by the example of putting the customer first from this hotel. Thanks so much for the effort of going beyond our expectations !!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review of our San Francisco Airport Residence Inn hotel. I am so pleased to hear that the team provided superior service. Our goal is to go above and beyond everyday and I am happy to see that both Becky and Edil did just that. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    46
    15
    3
See reviews for
84
36
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We checked into this hotel with points after our flight was cancelled and it was much nicer than we expected. Even though they have a renovation scheduled for March, we thought our room was quite nice. The bed was very comfortable and nothing looked worn or too outdated. It's not walking distance to anything, but the staff will drive you anywhere within two miles, and they give you a big list of restaurants in that radius. They also have a free shuttle that runs back and forth to Union Square. The breakfast was your typical hotel breakfast, nothing to write home about but perfectly fine.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the forth floor and didn't hear the train or any of the other noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your stay with us at the Residence Inn. I am so pleased that you found the staff friendly and that you room was up to your standards. We pride ourselves on our friendly customer service and cleanliness. Please come back and visit us again after our renovation is complete in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENO,NV
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a month stay for my family where my son just got a heart transplant. We need a place to stay which is closed to the hospital, so we picked The Residence Inn. I was so happy to see the studio type suite with one queen bed, a sofa bed, a kitchen with complete utilities like refrigerator, a 2 burner stove, microwave oven, coffee maker. Silverware and cooking utensils are also provided, It has a big bathroom with tub and a big closet. This is actually the type of place we're looking for because you don't need to carry a lot of stuff from where you came from. There's also a complimentary breakfast every day and selected dinner days for the week. I'm so glad to find this hotel and I'm not sorry to pay the price because it's really worth the price you are paying for. What you see in their website is exactly what you get!!!

Room Tip: Rooms doesn't really matter because they got an elevator service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate the great comments and the "5" rating. We are glad that we were the perfect choice for a long term stay. We hope your son was comfortable while recovering from his heart transplant and that he is on the mend now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Located in a business park off the airport. Being that we were there not during a workday, the entire area was deserted and quiet. There is a nice walkway around the waterfront which was great for children and pets (at least when the several large office complex was not in session). The 2 bedroom/2 bath was great if you are traveling with family. The breakfast was a little bit of a disappointment. The only fruit selection was cantelopes. No bananas, apples, oranges, etc (at least they did not replenish them while we were there). The room was clean and nicely equipped. There is a railroad track that runs next to the hotel. We did not notice it until morning when we heard the train go by. Not sure why we did not notice it at night, maybe because the train only runs at night (???). It can be annoying. Parking was plentiful with easy access to the hotel rooms and free unlike its competitor a few blocks away (E Suites). Can't beat the value if you need the extra room and full amenities like a full kitchen.

Room Tip: The rooms in the North end of the complex is closest to the railroad track. Might want to avoid thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We appreciate your commenting regarding your stay with us at the Oyster Point Residence Inn by Marriott. I am delighted to hear that your room was clean and that you enjoyed the San Francisco Bay Trail alongside the hotel. Please accept my apology that we did not have bananas and oranges available during breakfast. We do provide them daily. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for vacation and hotel staffers were awesome...what a great people working here, took great care of us 24/7.

the hotel itself is outdated to say the least, no wonder the price was lower than other places in the area.

Room is usual Residence Inn but design is old and kitchen is old. We got a one room bedroom and helped us a lot with kids and friends visiting.

Breakfast is nothing special to write home about, it's typical residence inn food and you just eat it so you don't have to spend any more $$$ outside.

Location is nice, right by the water, near a big park and also highway. There are many restaurants near by, Vietnamese, Japanese, Italians...we felt everything was great (don't eat in downtown SF...such a rip off)

Overall this could be a great place, just need some face lift.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We appreciate your commenting regarding your stay with us at the Oyster Point Residence Inn by Marriott. So pleased to hear that the staff was friendly and made your stay enjoyable. To continue to improve our product we will renovate all of our public space and suites starting in February. Thank you for your feedback as it is the nourishment that lets us grow and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back as guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We recently stayed a week over Thanksgiving and used this Inn as a base to explore San Fran and the region. We found the Property to be very clean, with the typical Marriott Residence Inn amenities including full kitchen, fireplace, full breakfast buffet served daily, and three very nice dinners served during our stay. It was a quick 20 minute drive to downtown, and we actually could have used their shuttle service which was taking folks to and from Union Square during our stay. The airport is just 4 miles away, 10 minutes by car. What we found as a real plus for the location was the nice walkway around the Bay, which was right out the back entrance of the Hotel. We took a number of beautiful walks out to the Marina and found "the locals" walking their dogs along the way to be very nice people to chat with. As is the norm with Marriott Personnel we found the entire staff to be extremely helpful and welcoming, providing excellent service throughout our stay. The one thing I might caution those that go to bed earlier in the evening is that the Bay Area Rapid Transit tracks run right behind the Hotel and run every hour up until midnight. You can definitely hear/feel the trains as they rumble by. For us being on an adventure we generally were up at least that late so it wasn't a factor except it was definitely noticeable. Overall though we were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: My guess is rooms away from the tracks would be quieter, and if you can get a room overlooking the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your "Awesome" review you gave to the Residence Inn by Marriott and that you thought the staff was helpful and provided "excellent" service. Glad to hear it was convenient to San Francisco and the airport. We are delighted to read that our hotel met all your expectations. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My family truly enjoyed the accommodations at the Residence Inn on Oyster Point. We were welcomed by a cheerful staff, informed of the happy hour/buffet events available to us for free, and the rooms were in excellent shape! Traveling with a family in San Francisco can be expensive, but we strategically planned our meals to include the burger nights and the free breakfasts to save money. We also went to the Costco nearby buy to buy some dinner and sandwich foods along with beverages. The hotel is conveniently located to the major highway, shopping and restaurants. There is a train that comes nearby, but the sound was never an issue for us since our room was located with a view of the bay. We will definitely be staying there again on our next visit. It was definitely kid approved!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a view of the bay to minimize the distraction of the train. Top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your "Awesome" review you gave to the Oyster Point Residence Inn. Very happy to hear that the staff was cheerful and that you enjoyed our complimentary evening social hour. I am delighted to read that our hotel is one that you will definitely return to and that it was kid approved. Please come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Address: 1350 Veterans Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront Hotel
Residence Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.