We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Veterans Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

As Courtyards go the hotel seemed very reasonable, not better, not worse. The restaurant staff was great and the food was actually fairly good. The hotel shuttle is handy but it takes a while and there are lots of hotels on the route. I had a first floor room and was having a lot of trouble getting cell phone reception which has not happened in a long time when traveling.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Courtyard Oyster Point. Delighted to hear that the restaurant staff was great and and that you enjoyed the food in our Bistro Restaurant. Hope that you will return for more memories and appreciate the time you took to let our readers read your overview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    72
    32
    7
    9
See reviews for
29
49
12
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed in Marriott hotels for years and have maintained platinum or gold membership. I have visited several Marriott properties across the United States and Europe. This property, by far, was the worst experience I have EVER had in a Marriott property. If it weren't for my late jet lagged check-in (after 9pm) and early check out (before 7am to catch another flight) I would have bothered to raise hell with management and get another room. I was simply too exhausted to complain and have since been on the road with work for too many days to lodge a complain with Marriott corporate. My photos I uploaded speak for themselves. There were onion and lettuce particles all over the kitchen and several disgusting curly brown hairs in the bathroom. The hotel hallways smelled musty and moldy. This is the first Marriott that I stayed at in which I chose to sleep on top of the bed for fear of what may lay beneath the sheets. The staff was relatively friendly but at check out I was not even asked how my stay was. If I hadn't been in a rush to catch my flight to DC I would have shared my experience. Breakfast was good but we were the first people down to eat in the early morning so we enjoyed the first selections. Regardless I will NEVER stay at this property again when I need SFO airport-close accommodations. There are many other cleaner options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing to me about the areas that did not enhance your stay. I do apologize the cleanliness of your kitchen and bathroom. I will take your comments and share with my housekeeping team on the importance of maintaining high Marriott standards. I do wish I would have had the opportunity to make this bad experience up to you. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed breakfast.
We do appreciate your loyalty to Marriott hotels and thank you for your Platinum and Gold status. I hope Marriott will have another opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The room was very nice and comfortable. Somewhat small,but, it is a airport Courtyard. The staff was very professional and courteous. There shuttle to SFO is pormpt and efficient. The driver was friendly. The rate was reasonable.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Wow- thank you for your wonderful review of our Courtyard Oyster Point. Delighted that we exceeded your already very high expectations. Pleased to read that the staff was professional and courteous and that you had such a friendly shuttle driver. We hope that you will return for more memories and appreciate the time you took to let our readers read your overview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Pretty standard Marriott Courtyard in a nice location between the airport and DT San Francisco. Getting off of 101 and finding your way here can be a bit of a challenge but a call to the desk found me someone that could guide me to the parking lot.

My only issue was that the Internet connection was terrible, like a modem back in the 1980s. I couldn't even see anything in the evening but did get some bandwidth between 530 and 630 in the morning. The problem was made worse by bad cell phone coverage as well.

Otherwise, a pretty nice hotel with not much noise and a nice spot with free parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments as well as the constructive criticism. I am sorry that the internet connection was slow, we are upgrading our system to 100MB bandwidth, to accomodate the growing number of internet users. We will have this installed by December. I am glad that you enjoyed the free parking. Feedback of any kind is the nourishment that lets us grow and we hope that we have the opportunity to earn you back as guest in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great entrance and makes you believe you're entering a big hotel. Hotel staff that checked us in was great; the next desk person we talked with we were obviously bothering. Room is nice size and clean. The sheers over the windows are torn which makes it look tacky. The only hotel we've stayed at during our two-week trip that did not have a hair dryer in the room. Not far from the restaurants/shops area and a really good location to get to. Outside is a very nice walking area overlooking part of a bay and a really pretty view. Overall good place to stay but could use some detail work.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that the front desk clerk who checked you in was great. I feel bad that the room did not live up to your expectation. We are happy to announce that we will be doing a complete room renovation in early 2014. Glad to hear that you enjoyed walking along our Bay trail with the views of San Francisco Bay. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night before a flight home the next morning. The hotel was easy to find off the freeway. The hotel and rooms appeared to be new and clean. My room was very quiet and well appointed. The people at check in and check out very friendly and helped me get directions to fill up the gas on my rental car and get to the airport. It was an easy drive to both gas stations and the airport. I got a good price on the Marriott web site. I would definitely use this hotel again when flying out of SFO and for the right price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway. Mine was at the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your "Awesome" review you gave to Courtyard Oyster Point and my staff. I am delighted to read that our hotel is one that you will definitely return to. Please come back soon and often !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is exactly like every Courtyard you have ever seen. The rooms are fine, cheaper than a full service Marriott and a little off the beaten path....DO NOT EAT here. The food is terrible. Fine to have a beer, but thats it.

Room Tip: If you are going to order food, order out. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your time write this review regarding your stay with us in July 2013.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food offerings in our Bistro. In addition to our restaurant we offer complimentary shuttle service to downtown South San Francisco, which has numerours restaurants to choose from. If your travel plans bring you back to the South San Francisco area, I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and provide a better experience with us than your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Address: 1300 Veterans Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront Hotel
Courtyard South San Francisco
South San Francisco Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.