We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay - Nice Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront to your Saves list
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Veterans Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Nice Stay - Nice Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here two nights mainly because of price and convenience. The location isn't that great considering it's right next to the train track and freeway and there's nothing nearby except other hotels and business. It served the purpose of having a place to stay while we were visiting San Francisco and before moving on to Sonoma.

Getting from the airport is slow - you have to walk outside the airport and wait for the shuttle which took over half an hour. The shuttle serves other hotels as well so ours was the last to drop off. Check in was fast and easy and the room was small but nice.

Breakfast is available in a bistro-style setting. The good thing is Starbucks coffee and pastries but the bad thing is very limited menu.

Nice all around experience and probably would stay again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the building which faces the freeway and train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience with us. The airport shuttle is a shared service. It services four other hotels in our immediate location. Travel time from the airport to the hotel is approximately 20 minutes; as we are the last stop. However, the shuttle route from our hotel to the airport is the shortest, approximately 10 minutes. I am delighted to hear that your arrival experience was efficient with the right amount of customer service. Moreover, while our pastry selection is limited compared to the standard Starbucks coffee house, we do proudly brew Starbucks 24-7. Overall, I am happy your stay was positive and the hotel amenities allowed you to be productive. Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    96
    45
    8
    10
See reviews for
35
63
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Triad, NC
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I typically use this Marriot CY location when I have a 6:00 am flight out the following morning. Although the Oyster Point location is not in walking distance of restaurants or any retail establishements, it is close to the airport. A 5 minute drive to San Bruno Avenue for car return or take the hotel shuttle. There is a couple gas stations nearby for filling up the car.

The hotel has a nice walking path along the Oyster Point area and to the Bay. It is frequented by joggers and bicyclists. Walk to the right.

This is a refurbished (lobby only) CY. And food in addition to the Bistro menu is available. You can always head into South San Francisco (a short drive) for a local bar pizza.

The property is clean and well kept. However, their elevators are close to being the slowest in the world. And it is only 4 stories tall.

Room Tip: Union Pacific commercial and Cal Tran passenger train service pass by the front door (you can hit a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience with us. Many travelers prefer our location because of the complimentary airport shuttle service and proximity to the San Francisco International Airport. Restaurants options are not available within walking distance, but we do have The Bistro open 7 days a week for breakfast and dinner. In addition, the hotel has a separate shuttle service that can transport guests to near by Grand Avenue. Here you can find a list of locally owner restaurants and shops. Other hotel amenities include the scenic walk/running path along the waterfront. It is very popular with hotel guests and locals. Thank you for your feed back and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Bay Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed for one night with wife and two kids.
Arrived at airport and enjoyed the complementary bus to the hotel. Checked in without problem staff were very helpful, although very close to being robotic - fixed smile, set questions! Room was very big and fairly clean. Lobby has just been renovated and breakfast area was good. Breakfast was fine, although I am not a fan of the new Marriott Courtyard breakfast - limited choice and doesn't work well when there is a crowd.
But, the hotel is a fairly depressing place - especially for a Courtyard and given what they are charging. Away from the lobby the corridors and lift are shabby and dingy - lighting is yellow. The room has old furniture which has seen better days and the colour of the walls (yellow) along with the poor lighting is depressing. The electronics had seen better days - the bedside clock front panel was broken, power sockets were loose in the wall, the tv was small and poorly placed, no fridge etc. The hall only has an ice machine, no where to get soft drinks other than the lobby and the room offer the complementary water at 3.50 a bottle.
So, overall, we survived. Would I stay there again? No.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A fairly classic courtyard establishment, though the newly refurbishment reception, sort of starbucky / bistro style is great. Staff are all positive and focused on top service delivery. Management care and it shows. Rooms, well it's a "Courtyard" every works and clean. Try and get a room at the water facing side or you may have some sleep quality issues with the railway line 20 feet away, unless you like trains that is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Clean and quiet, with polite staff. However, staff is not empowered to help a customer. I needed to wash some clothes and the hotel has one washer and one dryer for $2 in quarters for customer use. The payment/cash box on the dryer malfunctioned and no one on the hotel staff could help because they were not allowed to have a key to the box! Only the day manager has a key. I had a load of wet laundry fresh from the washer and there was no way to dry them. They said I would have to go down the street to the Residence Inn and use their dryer. A big inconvenience that could easily have been avoided if someone on the evening shift had a key. This is representative of micro-managed employees.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here just last week. Very friendly staff, helpful when we asked questions about the area, shuttle information etc. . The hotel has a lovely view in the back of the water , with a walking trail, the front overlooks what looked like a storage unit business, but you do see the mountains, too The lobby appeared to have recently been updated and was clean and modern . This hotel does not include a complimentary breakfast with your stay , but there is food available to buy.. The hotel is in the area of the airport, but the noise from the planes did not seem to be a distraction . I only heard one plane flying overhead. The room we had was very clean and appropriate space for two. . One awesome thing - a free shuttle pick up from the hotel about 9:45 am and drop off at the Hard Rock Cafe/Aquarium of the Bay for a visit to Fisherman's Wharf and all the activities available there. Do take advantage of that service! Overall , this is a nice hotel and I would stay here if traveling to San Francisco again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience with us. I am very happy to read that you took advantage of our popular shuttle service to Pier 39. This is available Friday's and Saturday's only. I am also very delighted to hear that our staff provided outstanding customer service through out your stay. You mentioned that your room was impeccably clean. I will share your comments with our housekeeping staff and commend our team for making your stay enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, SC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for two weeks while working in the area. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Recent updates to the hotel give it a very modern feel in the lobby and restaurant area. The rooms are decent size with a small couch, coffee table and desk. Flat screen TVs with some good channels and large bathrooms are also found. A small fridge and microwave can be requested and delivered to the room.

The hotel is in a beautiful location right on the water. There is a great walking/running trail just outside the hotel that runs along the water. Unfortunately, if you don't have a car, there is very little options for food and entertainment. The hotel restaurant is nice and has good food but is very overpriced. There is a great Deli about a mile down the road called Mike and Ken's Deli. Great food and good prices. The Hotel shuttle should be able to take you.

Pros:
- Fantastic Customer Service
- Clean and up to date
- Nice running path outside
- Decent rooms and accommodations
- Airport shuttle.
-Nice indoor pool and spa

Cons:
-Overpriced restaurant and no free breakfast
-Only one washer and dryer for whole hotel
-Six dollars to do laundry in said washer and dryer
-Very few refrigerators available for rooms. .
-Very little around for food and drink.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony and request Microwave and Fridge if staying for a while. A rental car is very hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Address: 1300 Veterans Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront Hotel
Courtyard South San Francisco
South San Francisco Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.