We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clifton Forge, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel was close to the airport. There was a shuttle service to the airport that ran every 30 minutes. The shuttle dropped off at the BART location so it was east and quick to travel to San Francisco. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had breakfast with our reservation and the breakfast was excellent with a good variety. Would definitely stay at the hotel if I have the pleasure of returning to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Yankeeroze, thanks for your positive review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit! Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    447
    177
    73
    46
See reviews for
280
370
109
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
modesto, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Room lacked proper bedding for hidabed. Staff were not able to accomadate us. Constant wind noise coming from window in room. The night clerk was friendly but lacked ability to get housekeeping supplies so we could make bed. The rest of the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Heather and thanks for posting another review. As I mentioned in my personal email to you, we have bedding for the pull-out sofas in a special bag in the closet. We do not keep the sheets on the pull-out sofas so they are always fresh. I am sorry that the night clerk could not assist you. I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future, and thanks again for your feedback. We appreciate it. Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed here around ten times over the past decade. The room rates are reasonable compared to downtown San Francisco hotels. The Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel now reminds me of a low fare airline. Good price, but the amenities start adding up. The mandatory parking fee at the Grosvenor is now $7.00. The candy bars and small snacks in your room are $1.50 each. If you partake of the 16.9 oz. (500mL) Kirkland (Costco) bottled water also found in your room, the price will set you back $2.00 per bottle. Be forewarned, and bring your own food and water! Upon arrival, it took about eight minutes to be checked in since there were two guests in front of me and only one person at the front counter. The room I was given, number 904, was clean and had a comfortable king bed. There was slight traffic and airplane noise. When taking a shower in the morning, the water pressure was low, but the water itself was hot. The gym at this Best Western has a True brand treadmill, a stair-stepper rowing machine, stationary bicycle, and a weight lifting machine. Everything worked fine. There are free copies of The Wall Street Journal and USA Today newspapers in the lobby for guests of this hotel. The complimentary breakfast is great. You get scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, meat, yogurt, white steamed rice, fruit, breads, cereals, and juices. There is plenty of seating during breakfast hours, which are 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. During check out, I was the only one at the front counter. Just as the lady took my room keys, the telephone rang. It was apparently more important to talk on the phone with a potential customer than to deal with a paying guest right in front of her. Fortunately, I was checked out in about four minutes. Overall, I would say that this property has nice rooms, a nice gym, a nice breakfast, and friendly staff. As pointed out, hopefully the management does not start nickel-and-diming its guests with add-on costs. Despite my stated qualms, I will be returning to this Best Western when in the San Francisco area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the outside traffic and airplane noise is minimized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello MrLorin and thanks so much for your nice review! Please note that all hotels in South San Francisco charge for parking, and we are still the least expensive. Most hotels have honor bars as well, and we feel that our snacks are priced very fairly. Again, this is an option to purchase, not mandatory, so my no means are we "nickel and diming" anyone. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and other amenities and we look forward to your next visit! Thanks again, Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel and took BART into San Francisco,Ca. for the 4th of July celebration, the hotel was excellent for the price we paid, only draw back was only opne elevator was working which caused long waits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Fast61 and thanks for your review! Sorry about the unexpected elevator problem. Murphy's Law - always happens on a holiday weekend. We hope to see you again soon!
Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Staff at the check in were all very friendly & professional. The restaurant staff were also very friendly & professional both for dinner and breakfast. I intend to return to this hotel the very next time I am in the Bay area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Susan, we can't wait for your next visit! Thanks for your positive review! Jim McGuire, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is our choice for future accommodation as we depart SFO early morning.
Shuttle on time. staff efficient, food good quality, reasonable prices.
Very close to airport and rental car dropoffs. Noise levels good considering proximity to airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Dave! Thanks for your positive review and come back soon from Australia to see us.
Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great welcome at desk, good quality of accommodation and restaurant. Sound breakfast buffet. Airport shuttle also available but not required in our case. Ideal location for San Francisco airport and especially good for rental car drop off point. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Elaine and thanks for taking time to write about our hotel. See you the next time you visit from the UK! Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Address: 380 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient hotel of 3 Best Western "Director's Award" and 11 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards". Newly renovated rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting space. Location, location, location! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Hotel offers all the amenities you need for business or pleasure! Restaurant, bar, business center, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary shuttle to SFO. PLEASE NOTE that our front entrance and porte cochere are currently under renovation and our entrance is located at the rear of the hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South San Francisco
South San Francisco Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.