We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great airport hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
chicago, IL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A great airport hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel. The AAA rate was fair, given the sky high room rates around SFO. The hotel is obviously an older hotel, but well kept. The lobby is dated, but has a bar/restaurant and some charm. My check-in was quick and very friendly. My room was adequate size with a very comfortable bed. Slept very well, even with the high way noise nearby. The airport shuttle was on time, frequent and free. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Chicago and thank you for your nice review and nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again when you are on the West Coast! Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    452
    177
    73
    47
See reviews for
284
371
110
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

for a cheap airport hotel. The rugs in the room were disgusting, but the bed, coffee maker & good shower made up for it. The complementary buffet breakfast was surprisingly good, but won't work for you if you must leave super early.

So there you are...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry that the carpet was dirty in your room - we strive to continuously shampoo them as often as we can. Thank you for your other positive comments and we hope to see you again soon. Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel shuttle from the airport is the most wanted so when it gets there, theres tons of ppl trying to hop in. Lost a bag myself in that mess and when i told the frontdesk, one of them a woman in glasses laughed, like it was funny. Got it back in the end with help from the shuttle driver.

In the end stayed there for two nights the third one they told me they could not offer me any more room cuz they were full. When checking out they told my card didnt go thru so i had to pay cash/debit. It sucked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry that you lost your luggage, but more importantly the lackluster service from the front desk. I will share your comments with them so they can improve on their service. It's unfortunate that your credit card was declined, but that is not a reflection on the hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience and we hope to see you again soon. Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For the price, the park-and-fly deal at the Grosvenor SFO can't be beat! In addition to being ten minutes from the terminal at SFO, its a well run hotel with all amenities (bar, restaurant, etc.) Room were absolutely quiet, even though hwy 101 is right next to the property. We'll stay here on our way back from Hawaii. Icing on the cake, a full hot buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello South Carolina! We hope you had a nice visit to Hawai'i! Thank you for your great comments - we really appreciate your feedback! Hope to see you again soon the next time you visit the Islands! Jim McGuire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel makes travel to-from SFO very easy. PLUSes: Simple, clean, nicely decorated room and a comfortable bed. A restaurant/bar downstairs allowed us to get a good meal after an all-day flight. Dependable, frequent SFO-hotel transportation. Best Western is a good brand at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked the Grosvenor because it was the better (though more expensive) of two hotels that were still available on a website we found dedicated to park, sleep and fly packages at SFO. These packages are especially useful if you have to take an early morning flight and will save you the cost of paid parking, making the effective hotel rate that much lower. We booked the night before arriving and paid $146 including tax and hot buffet breakfast for one night plus up to 10 days of parking. The hotel was sold out by the late hour we checked in, perhaps because of the World Series game up the road. But there were still some available parking slots.

The site we used for booked called the hotel the "Best Western SFO" which turned out to be the Grosvenor. We found out when we went down for breakfast that not all such sites include breakfast. So be careful to read the fine print on the site/package you choose. We had to correct the host at breakfast when he first told us ours wasn't included. He double-checked his print-out and then confirmed that it did.

Our room was refreshingly clean and nice, especially relative to the effective price we paid. It had two double-beds, a desk and chair, two sitting chairs, a mini-fridge, coffee maker, and free wi-fi. The bathroom was basic but clean and included a hair dryer. Breakfast started at 6 am and if you have to leave before that, they can pack up a take-out breakfast which we were told is pretty basic. The free airport shuttle leaves every 30 minutes. It serves several hotels, but on the way to the airport and back, the only other hotel it stopped at was the Holiday Inn Express right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The pluses for this hotel for me would be that I thought it had an excellent breakfast, decent wifi service in the room and a free on-time and reliable airport shuttle (you are literally 10 mins from SFO) that runs every half hour. The bed was also nice. Everything else (rooms need updating) was very mediocre. The men at the front desk are nice. The woman in the evening? Not so much. The restaurant adjacent to the lobby has so-so food, a bar, and a happy hour from 5-7.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I stay here again if I have the option of staying at Travelodge right down the street for a lesser price? Absolutely not. (And by the way....they both share the same on-time, free and reliable airport shuttle service.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Address: 380 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient hotel of 3 Best Western "Director's Award" and 11 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards". Newly renovated rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting space. Location, location, location! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Hotel offers all the amenities you need for business or pleasure! Restaurant, bar, business center, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary shuttle to SFO. PLEASE NOTE that our front entrance and porte cochere are currently under renovation and our entrance is located at the rear of the hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South San Francisco
South San Francisco Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.