We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stop-over near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scotland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good Stop-over near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We used this hotel as it was near the airport and we were arriving late evening. There is a shuttle from the airport to the hotel but we were tired and couldn't find it so a quick 5 minute trip in a taxi got us to the hotel. Check in was easy, the room was large, comfortable and clean, we slept well and were not aware of any air traffic noise although we could see planes taking off in the morning.
We used this as a stop-over hotel as were were picking up the car in the morning and moving off. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel in the morning. Car parking albeit chargeable is very cheap compared to other places in San Francisco. I'd stay here again given similar circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    452
    177
    73
    47
See reviews for
284
371
110
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Booked this as only silly priced accomodation in SF due to Bay to breakers race and found on internet for $61 pn (rack rate included breakfast which our price didn't). regular shuttle to airport to catch BART but found it as easy to go on the bus from the stop just down the road from the hotel. Room on small side but expected with low rate. Even though close to main road and airport didn't notice any noise. Staff generally helpful. Not much in walking distance apart from McDonalds and IHOP but didn't need it as spend the day in SF

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I booked this last minute as I needed a hotel near SFO for an early flight. The rate was so good for free wifi, 5.00 parking and close access to the airport. There's a shuttle, too, but I had a car with me.

Reception was friendly, thorough and fast. The gentleman who checked me in and an older doorman/security guard both were considerate and welcoming.

The neighborhood is industrial and near several busy thoroughfares so there's noise outside. There's noise inside, too. The walls are thin, and I could hear my neighbors voices until I put the fan on high and used earplugs. That, combined with a surprisingly good mattress and clean, crisp, new sheets and duvet, allowed me to get a solid night of sleep despite the noises. The bathroom was super clean, as was the carpet. The wallpaper and furniture is old, but maintained with care.

The WiFi was excellent, really super fast and no frills set up, just get online and go. My rate didn't include breakfast, and I had dinner with a friend in Daly City, so I didn't make use of the restaurant, bar or other amenities.

Worked well for a one night stand, don't think I could stay more than that just due to the noise and industrial area.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from families and groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This hotel is older than old. Just because they put a flat screen TV and a new comforter does not mean that it is new or recently updated. The room smelled musty and the fixtures were from 1940. They also indicated there would be a refridgerator in the room and there was not. I was close to the elevator and heard every time it would ding. I went to the restaurant to get dinner and I felt like I walked into the Regal Begal (AKA the bar in Three's Company sitcom). It has not been updated since at least 1960. Besides the atmosphere, the food was not edible. I ordered pork chops and they were thin, with a bone and completely surrounded in fat. After cutting off all the fat, there was about a 2" dia of pork left. I sent it back and they did credit me, rightfully so. But they had the audacity to charge me $2.50 for the cup of soup I had. Really?? You would have looked better if you would have just credited the whole bill. Clearly they need every penny they can get. This hotel is not is such a great area and the people who stayed here did not look very reputable. I think this has a lot to do with them allowing people to park there for free while traveling. Staying there one night is less than paying for parking at the airport. Overall, I would not leave a dead dog to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know that we do have refrigerators available upon request. I am very happy to say that we are now in the process of renovating our restaurant (amongst many other areas in the hotel) to include new carpeting and new chairs, and it looks beautiful. I have shared your comments with our Chef regarding your dissatisfaction with your meal so he can make corrections to the pork chop entree. We do not allow anyone to park for free at our hotel, I am sorry if you thought we did. If you should change your mind and give us another try, I am confident that you will have a better experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Free airport shuttle.
Average size rooms, and quite noisy.
Only free coffee maker, no tea.
Included breakfast quite good , with a reasonable selection.
Polite and helpful front desk staff, good service.
I Hop annd Mcdonalds next door.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Couldn't beat the $79 rate. Opted to stay at an airport hotel for one night since our flight arrived late. Caught the shuttle back to the airport early the next morning to rent a car. We saved a lot of money between not having to pay downtown hotel rates and an extra car rental day.
For an airport hotel it was good. Airport Shuttle bus runs every few minutes. Continental breakfast included in some rates. McDonalds across the street as another option.
No bathroom amenities.
Coffee maker in room.
Clean & adequate for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego Ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Based on other reviews, I booked my husband and I a room at this hotel while we were in San Francisco. The Check-in/out staff are amazing. The room was beautiful and very clean. It was our anniversary and we had eaten clam chowder in sourdough bowls for lunch and so we weren't hungry for a big celebration dinner. We went down to the lounge in the hotel where they have drink special and 1/2 price appetizers. We had a drink and a couple of the appetizers and watched one of the championship basketball games on their HUGE screen. It was a very enjoyable evening. The next morning we went to the free breakfast buffet and were very surprised at what a wonderful selection there was. Scrambled eggs, ham, pancakes, sweetrolls, muffins, croissants, cereal, yougart and much more. It was all very delicious. They even had flavored coffee creamers!

Many people complained about having to pay for parking, we were not charged anything. Maybe they charge if you do the stay and fly where you leave you car there for a while, I really don't know. We did hear a little plane noise but not enough to disturb our sleep.

We would definately stay here again if we were in the area and will be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager650, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Thank you for your great review and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Lounge and our breakfast! I hope you make us a tradition on your Anniversaries! Congratulations and hope to see you soon!
Jim McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Address: 380 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient hotel of 3 Best Western "Director's Award" and 11 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards". Newly renovated rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting space. Location, location, location! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Hotel offers all the amenities you need for business or pleasure! Restaurant, bar, business center, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary shuttle to SFO. PLEASE NOTE that our front entrance and porte cochere are currently under renovation and our entrance is located at the rear of the hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South San Francisco
South San Francisco Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.