We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton by SFO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Gateway Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Hampton by SFO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

Basic Hampton Inn, good clean rooms as you expect from Hampton. No problems at front desk. This hotel in in the airport area and not much around it as expected. None of the restaurants that you think of being in San Francisco in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    153
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
131
96
30
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

After staying at the Embassy Suites next door the day before and Thanksgiving Day without having access to heat in the room (see my December review) we cancelled our ES reservations for Dec 20-21 and booked with the Hampton. We reserved the king one bedroom suite, which is similar to the Embassy Suites layout...the living room has a sofa sleeper and the bedroom (which is smaller than at the Embassy Suites). What was nice was that the bathroom is between the living room and the bedroom. At the ES, the person in the living room has to walk into the bedroom to use the bathroom.
Best of all, both the living room and bedroom have individual A/C-heater units and thankfully the heaters worked just fine.
The Hampton has only 99 rooms vs. over 300 next door at the ES. The Hampton does not allow pets (a big plus for us) unlike the ES. The Hampton does not charge for parking unlike the ES next door. Breakfast is served until 10:00 AM unlike the ES, which serves only until 9AM during the week. There is a manager's reception from 5-7 which serves wine and beer and some snacks. There is a small gift shop and also a workout room. There is no pool or formal restaurant.bar.
We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again...note there are only four king befroom suites (one on each of the four floors), but there are other room choices as well.
Please know that both hotels are in sort of an industrial park area, and there are no restaurant/shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

As always Hampton Inn delivers
Nice place with comfortable beds
Very good breakfast
Hotel and grounds very clean
Kind of pricey , we paid 176 $ per night but I think was well wort it

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The hotel was near the airport and about 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco. The room was large and well laid out, the comfortable bed had a choice of pillows, the shower and toilet were in a separate room. There was free wireless HS internet, microwave, refrigerator in the room. The indoor pool was closed for repair. Access to the hotel was a bit challenging.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stopped in San Francisco for three days/two nights while road tripping up to Eureka for work. We had a very spacious and clean room. The second day after retunring from Alcratraz. We noticed a smell of weed coming into our room. We called the front desk and they came right away to find out who it was. Turns out it was the guys in the room across the hall from us. We liked their nightly reception. My fiance and our friend enjoyed drinking wine and beer that the hotel hosted. Not bad at all for the price we paid. Had a little trouble finding it at first but worth every penny

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We have always stayed at Hampton Inns. This one stinks, The staff is nasty, the airport shuttle (20 min schedule) took over an hour and the room I booked 6 months in advance was changed at the last minute to a handicapped room to make room for a more important customer.

I contacted customer service and the Hilton Executive Management (they own Hampton) and was told I would be notified of their actions.

THAT WAS ALMOST 3 MONTHS AGO AND NOT EVEN THE COURTESY OF A RESPONSE.

That's the last time I stay at a Hampton (or Hilton) hotel if that how their customer service treats a complaint. BEWARE OF THEM

Room Tip: Specify which type of room you are not willing to be put in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My daughter and I stayed one night here in order not to have to rush to get to the airport the next morning. Check in was efficient and the desk clerk courteous. Our room had two queen beds with very comfortable, warm, soft bedding. The room was non smoking. Refrigerator and micro wave in room along with everything needed to make morning coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryer available. Wonderful breakfast served 6 AM to 10 AM. Free shuttle to the airport. My flight left in the AM, my daughter's in the PM, so she was able to sleep in for a bit and then return the rental car when she departed for the airport. Worked out very well. Remember to ask for discounts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport

Address: 300 Gateway Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 miles from the San Francisco International Airport, our hotels offers an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. Situated in the center of the biotech industry and minutes away from downtown San Francisco, our guests enjoy the best of the bay area. We offer free shuttle to/from the San Francisco International Airport, as well as a free shuttle to Union Square (shopping center in downtown San Francisco), Fri-Sat. We also offer multiple types of rooms including suites and meeting rooms. Free WiFi, free daily hot breakfast, free parking, fitness center, Manager's Reception (M-W). Also, each room has a 37in LCD flat screen TV with numerous HD channels. We Love Having you Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Francisco Airport Hotel South San Francisco
Hampton Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.