We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, even with the little issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Oyster Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Oyster Point to your Saves list
Inn at Oyster Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Marina Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Delightful, even with the little issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Two nights in this hotel was a fantastic way to end our California trip.

The beds were so comfortable! The bed linens were fabulous and the sleep experience felt luxurious. The gas fireplace was really nice, and although I thought it would only be used aesthetically, we actually benefitted from the heat it gave off. In late March, our room got a little cold, and our thermostat didn't seem to work, so the fireplace offered some comfort.

We stayed in room 329 on the third floor. Besides the issue with the heat, our venetian blinds did not work smoothly to pull the blinds completely up. We didn't want to be bothered with hotel staff in fixing these issues during our stay, and although a bit of an inconvenience, it didn't put a damper on our experience of being there.

You get to choose which items you like for breakfast, which is delivered at the time of your choice. My boyfriend told me that the coffee was good for a dark roast, and they also offered soy milk as a dairy alternative. There was also a Keurig coffee maker in the room with Green Mountain brand coffee for those who would like to brew their own. The breakfast was nothing exceptional, but the fresh fruit was great, and I had a tiny croissant that was very tasty. I also got a chocolate chip muffin, which was not very good. Cranberry juice was acceptable, but did't taste like pure cranberry juice. Even so, it was all free, and you really can't expect a high quality free breakfast at a hotel. There was a fridge, which was nice. It was completely stocked, so I had to empty most of it on the counter just to fit our personal food and drinks.

The room layout was well designed, with a pleasant sitting area by the windows, lots of sunlight and a very nice view of the marina. The room was bright and cheery, and the artwork was unique, a nice change from boring pictures you see in most hotels. The bathroom was big with wood floors, and it was nice to have the robes when we got breakfast delivered in the morning. The room was extremely clean, but the outside of the windows had a few dirty smudges. I understand that happens sometimes, and I'm only noting it here to give a full report of our room experience.

It took less than 15 minutes to get to the airport, which was very convenient.

Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel experience. It felt really wonderful being in the room. We would go back if visiting SF again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    95
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
217
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Inn At Oyster Point during Easter weekend (March 29th-March 31st). Having read so many reviews and seen so many pictures, I had an expectation of how the room/hotel would look and what the services would be like and I was nervous that these expectations would not be met, but I was pleasantly suprised and am happy to say that those expectations WERE met!

Upon first arrival we were greeted by a woman at the front desk with a welcoming smile and the check in process was very simple and quick, which was perfect after our 6+ hour drive from LA. Once we arrived in the room I was so excited to see that the room looked pretty much identical to all the pictures I had seen!

We stayed in the 3rd floor room 330 and it was a VERY spacious room with great decor. The room was neat and proper as well as the rest of the room. The TV was a good size and had plenty of channels to choose from, the bed was nice and comfy, as were the chairs in the room. The restroom was also nice and large with plenty of towels and a couple of bath robes waiting for us. The fireplace is also very nice and provides a nice feel to the room that I loved.

The hotel does offer continental breakfast brought to the room, which many have mentioned and it was just perfect amount of food for early morning eating. It was nothing too extravagant but they had many options to choose from which was awesome.

The location is a bit distant (20 minute drive) from main shops/restaurants/attractions but I didnt mind it at all. The rooms were very relaxing and quiet (with the exeption of 1 or 2 planes passing by which you can faintly hear).

When we checked out we actually had to go back into the hotel because we had forgotten something up in the room. When we mentioned to the woman at the front desk that we thought we had forgotten something in our room, without hesitation, the woman said "Would you like to go up again?" and handed us the keys. she didnt scoff or make faces or bad attitude or anything which I thought was extremely nice and understanding of her (which I'm sure we all like). I was very pleased with the customer service in general that the hotel employees offered!

All in all this is a great hotel with awesome service, amazing rooms, and cute decor throughout. I would definitely stay again and would recomend to anyone traveling to the San Francisco area. Truly a great find and great value!
Loved my stay!!!!! (:

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here after a cruise to get our land legs and meet up with friends. We were impressed, it 's quiet yet convenient for the City and Sausalito. We loved the breakfasts in the room overlooking the marina, and the fireplace in the room was cosy. Staff are very helpful and were kind enough to shuttle us to the BART etc to get around, what more could you want? We stayed 3 nights in a very comfortable large room, with a large bathroom.
Would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet stay in the San Francisco area.

Room Tip: Ask to be overlooking the MARINA Room 215, 214,213
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is a find! My husband and I were looking for a new airport hotel based upon some recent less than desirable experiences at another park and fly hotel we have used for years. Based upon reviews, we decided to jump ship and are so glad we did. The hotel is very unique, the view of the bay is wonderful, and the added touches are indicative of a higher price range. We loved the individual coffee maker, breakfast brought to the room on time, and the very nice and friendly staff. The airport transport was timely as well. We had dinner in the hotel and the food was fresh and tasty as if they were hoping you would return! A very good value and the parking after the two weeks was more cost effective than other park and fly hotels. Thanks for making our stay so nice Oyster Point!!!

Room Tip: I do not know if there is a bad room here. So quiet! We were on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here during a short visit to San Francisco. We were upgraded to a room with a king bed and windows on three sides. We used the fireplace every night and morning. Breakfast delivered to the room was a nice touch and it was great to eat watching the morning light over the bay next to the fire. The bathroom was clean and up to date, and it's quiet at night--you might hear an occasional aircraft. It took us about 45 minutes to drive into downtown San Francisco most mornings. Our only real disappointment was with the hotel restaurant. Their staff is friendly and the food was delivered quickly, but was quite average (we had the cod). We ended up paying more for this meal than any other we had in San Francisco, and it was the least memorable food of all. I'd recommend going into Millbrae and having a meal at Ben Tre or some other place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed just one night as we did on previous trips. We use the overnight stay to reduce the effect of jet lag after the flight from UK. The location is superb, near the airport but not noisy, and next to one of the Bay's many yacht marinas. It is in what appears to be a park, surrounded by neatly manicured lawns criss crossed with paths, a favourite haunt of local dog walkers and joggers.

Our bay window overlooked the yacht marina giving us a splendid and uplifting first morning. We had breakfast in the room, admiring the view as we ate our delicious continental pastries and fruit.

On previous stays we enjoyed delicious evening meals, but the restaurant has been converted into a piano bar, the meals having been reduced to an adjunct to the entertainment with a consequent reduction in quality. If you feel a need to eat there, then have the pasta. The restaurant experience limited my rating to four stars, as otherwise it would have archived five.

The staff are efficient and friendly, the rooms are very large and light. The decor is tasteful and the bed was huge (6 feet King sized). Parking is directly outside the entrance and ramp accessed, very useful when pulling large suitcases about.

We have used this place before and will certainly do so again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although the Inn is a rather modest accommodation choice it has attributes which are sometimes missing from other hotels: 'location, location, location' and 'great service'. The view from each of its rooms is simply gorgeous. We loved eating a delicious continental breakfast in our room's nook while enjoying the view and watching early morning walkers stroll along the boardwalk. On a beautiful sunny day (which was everyday during our stay) the sailboats docked in the marina are particularly colourful. The service we received from the Inn's reception personnel and dining room staff was quite friendly, kind and we appreciated their helpful suggestions. Complimentary rides to the Bart were also a pleasant surprise.

However I do think there are areas which could benefit from improvement: the dining room menu is somewhat limited and we were surprised to discover that, with the possible exception of a beef dip, they didn't serve sandwiches of any kind. When one prefers or needs a light meal this can be problematic. The food was average overall. Our bed was really quite comfortable and we appreciated the warmth of new duvets when we discovered our room had a gas fireplace as its only heat source. Because the fireplace didn't provide adequate heat for our winter visit, we also requested a portable heater. This was promptly attended to by the housekeeping staff. However although we found it a little chilly I don't think this would pose a problem during the spring through fall months. The room itself was quite comfortable although we were rather disappointed with some of the art work. These were a rather confusing mix of eclectic images which we thought didn't contribute to the overall ambiance of the setting. But ... a minor point at best. We do concede that everyone's taste is different. The bathroom had lovely accessories and bathrobes were also provided.

Overall we were delighted with the Inn at Oyster Point and would love to return again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Request a second or third floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Oyster Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Oyster Point

Address: 425 Marina Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Oyster Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel is located on the San Francisco Bay at Oyster Point Marina. All guestrooms feature a fireplace and beautiful view of the Bay. We are located just 10 minutes north of the San Francisco Airport and 10 miles south of San Francisco. Complimentary airport transportation is available from 7:00 am-10:00 pm, daily. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your guestroom, each morning and free wireless access is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Oyster Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Oyster Point Hotel South San Francisco
Hotel At Oyster Point
At Oyster Point Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Oyster Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.