We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Oyster Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Oyster Point to your Saves list
Inn at Oyster Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Marina Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tiburon, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I live in Marin, and rather than get up at the crack of dawn to catch a really early flight from SFO, I decided to stay the night at the Inn at Oyster Point, and use park n fly.
I was impressed!
The staff was professional and friendly, lots of cool, colorful art, a nice bar with a nice little restaurant with tasty food.
The room was spacious, with views of the SF Bay that you see in travel magazines. Oh, i forgot to mention the room had a fireplace.
Five stars all the way.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    96
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
218
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I routinely rely on Tripadvisor as an honest and reliable source of information when making travel plans. So, I was surprised and disappointed by the unnecessary hassle that I received at the front desk when I was checking in at the #1 rated Inn at Oyster Point (incidentally, The Inn proudly displays a notice at the front desk noting their Tripadvisor #1 status). The hassle that I experienced involved the morning breakfast that the inn provides to it's guests. I had called the inn ahead of time and was assured that no matter what time I was leaving in the morning that breakfast would be brought to my room. When I was checking-in the front desk clerk informed me that that was not the case, and that I would not be receiving a breakfast since I was checking out before their "scheduled breakfast time." When I informed the clerk that I had been assured ahead of time by another employee that I would indeed receive a breakfast regardless of any time constraints the clerk recommended that "go to the restaurant and see if they will give you something to take to your room." At that point I realized that the clerk was passing the buck, and not taking any responsibility for what was definitely a front desk problem. I politely restated the obvious, that the inn needed to keep it's promise to me. The clerk then appeared to realize that I was not going to be easily brushed off, so I was told, "Don't worry, we'll take care of you." 15 minutes later a porter arrived at my door with a plastic bag with 2 containers of yogurt....my "breakfast." The porter noticed my surprise and disappointment. I let him know the history of this breakfast snafu, and then things changed. Finally, someone understood the problem and decided to solve it. 10 minutes later the porter was back with a full breakfast tray, which I enjoyed having before I checked out of the inn very early the next morning.

As an experienced traveler I fully understand that things go wrong when traveling. Problems happen. But the true sign of an accommodation that deserves my business is one that takes ownership of a problem and solves it the first time. This did not happen at The Inn at Oyster Point.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonPearl, Manager at Inn at Oyster Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Our apologies for the inconvenience we caused you. Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience. It was very helpful to us and also to our future early morning departure guests. We now have expanded our complimentary breakfast service offering. In addition to the Complimentary Continental Breakfast delivered to the guestroom, available from 6:30am to 10:00am; we also have an Early Bird Breakfast To Go, available to our guests departing the hotel prior to 6:30am. Many thanks and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This establishment is perfect for the quiet getaway or if you want to visit San Francisco but not be in the thick of it. Although it is about 30 mins out of San Francisco (close to the airport) it is so serene and wonderfully kept. The restaurant and bar area is warm and friendly as are the staff. For those wanting to go into San Francisco "The Inn @ Oyster Point" are happy to drop you to the BART (train) and pick you up so long as its a reasonable hour. The rooms are spacious with a lovely view of the marina. I definitely recommend the " Inn @ Oyster Point" .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I'd been to the Oyster Point area for work quite a few times, but when I had an evening event in the area my wife and I figured we'd stay the night. How surprised we're we by the Oyster Point Inn! The decor is fantastic, a trendy quirky design that is a huge relief from the typical bland and sterile corporate hotels. And since we arrived at night, we didn't really get a feel for the area until we woke up to an absolutely perfect view of the sunrise over the marina. And then to get complimentary room service for breakfast - makes me never want to eat off the styrofoam dishes at most hotels with free breakfast ever again! What a great way to start the day. A true hidden gem!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while on business and was pleasantly surprised. I had a very late arrival (2.00 am) and the front desk could not have been nicer.
I had a great room, not huge, but big enough for a large bed & a small sitting area with views over the marina. The rooms are perfect for a nuce relaxing stay. Very comfortable bed and with a fireplace, which is a nice touch. One of the best things is breakfast delivered to the room. Not a huge choice, but a great way to start the day. I'm sure for some this place is a little out of the way from downtown San Francisco, but for me it was perfect. There's a great walking/running trail directky outside which can rally help with the relaxation. It's about 3 miles from the airport and on the northern tip of South San Francisco. It's very convenient for HWY 101 and although it is close to the airport, you don't really hear the airplanes, unlike Burlingame which is where I usually stay. Overall I've had a great time and would hope to stay here next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Beautiful, warm, welcoming hotel with thoughtful and caring staff. Breakfast delivered to your room each morning is superb (and included in the already excellent price). Fireplace, bay view and breakfast nook in every room. Luscious bedding, lovely lobby, awesome bar staff (Mike made me a hot toddy when I was sick that fixed me right up). Very convenient to airport, city and other points south of SF (such as Palo Alto). Parking is free and ample. Only downside: you do need a car if you stay here, as there is nothing walking distance. But the upside of not staying in the heart of the city is that I was not accosted by screaming homeless people every time I ventured out at night. This is one of my favorite hotels ever and will be my new top choice in San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This place felt like staying in the guest room at a nice house. It's a smaller, unique property that doesn't have that cold airport-hotel feel to it. The best part of the place is the service though - they seem to genuinely care that you have a good stay. I had an issue with the shuttle service, but they ended up reimbursing the taxi I had to take from the airport. Would you ever get that at a chain?

Room Tip: I can't imagine which rooms would be bad, except the ones right next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Oyster Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Oyster Point

Address: 425 Marina Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#1 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Oyster Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel is located on the San Francisco Bay at Oyster Point Marina. All guestrooms feature a fireplace and beautiful view of the Bay. We are located just 10 minutes north of the San Francisco Airport and 10 miles south of San Francisco. Complimentary airport transportation is available from 7:00 am-10:00 pm, daily. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your guestroom, each morning and free wireless access is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Oyster Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Oyster Point Hotel South San Francisco
Hotel At Oyster Point
At Oyster Point Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Oyster Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.