We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Oyster Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Oyster Point to your Saves list
Inn at Oyster Point
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Marina Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I had a good feeling about this place as soon as I saw the website & my feeling paid off! I stayed at the hotel for 3 weeks whilst I was studying at the baking institute, from the moment I arrived the front desk could not have been more welcoming & helpful. They offer a courtesy couch which makes San Fran & the surrounding areas really accessible. It was obvious that all the team take a real pride in the role at the hotel & this even carries through to the morning breakfast lady, who is so lovely & friendly. The restaurant is the best in South San Fran & again the staff knowledge, bond & professionalism is obvious from the moment I entered. I was a little nervous at first as this is a busy wee bar & restaurant, sometimes eating or having a drink on your own is a little intimidation or lonely.... But NOT in this bar, by the end of my stay I was made to feel like part of the family. Michael, Lacey & their team really know how to make people feel welcome & nothing is a problem. The kitchen is really proud that all there meals are made from scratch & this is obvious in the finished product. This is an American bar/restaurant with flair & personality & I guess thats why its packed with locals & hotel guests every night. I really loved that you could sit at the bar & chat to locals as well as guests, I think this is quite rare in a hotel & it made my trip all the more special. The rooms are more than lovely, they are spotless & the view is superb.
Keep up the magic Inn at Oyster point as you are the best & I will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    92
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
207
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North America
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Inn at Oyster Point offered great rates for us, as we happened to be overnighting in San Francisco during an IT convention. However, it wasn't just great rates that makes Inn at Oyster Point a good place for a stopover -- it's the staff, just so pleasant and professional. We had arrived at SFO, and I think due to low traffic, the shuttle driver was sent home a bit early. We were instructed by the desk staff to hail a cab and they would pay for it.

We had the unfortunate luck of getting a crazy taxi driver at the airport who berated us for not knowing where the hotel is (um .... I think that's your job???) When I handed him the phone no. of the hotel, he proceeded to be extremely rude to the front desk staff. After he literally dumped us off at the hotel (after being berated for giving him a perfectly adequate tip) we were warmly welcomed by the front staffer on duty that evening. She greeted us in a friendly and professional matter, seemingly unfazed by the crazy taxi driver, and reassured us she was ok, as we felt badly she had to endure such abuse from him.

We had a King room, and the bed was very comfortable (almost a bit too soft) with a view that looked out over the marina. I was a bit disappointed in the room -- though it looks "eclectic" on their website it felt a bit like being in Grandma's rumpus room. The refurbishing in my opinion was done better in the lobby. Still, it had some kind of charm to it. The bathroom could have been renovated more, it was a bit depressing with the old tiles still present. It also had an odd configuration to it, as though it used to be a kitchen (large empty space complete with electrical outlet near the floor that would fit a fridge or a stove just past the bath tub). However, it was clean and there were plenty of fluffy white towels provided. Wifi was very fast. The hotel was also very quiet, and we opened the windows for fresh air, could not hear a thing from the airport.

You fill out a form for breakfast and leave it outside the door (no hanger on the card so you lay it on the floor -- we had doubts) However, our breakfast was cheerfully brought at the correct time. Though simple and a bit sparse, it's adequate to get your day started, and very fresh. My husband wanted more and was told he could if he went down to the front desk, as the delivery person was understandably busy with handling other breakfasts.

We had a very pleasant shuttle ride and driver back to the airport, which made up for such an unpleasant ride to the hotel. As I said, even though the rooms could be a bit better, the staff are such a pleasure to deal with, and make you feel at home with their warm and friendly manner. We would definitely stay here again, more as a transit hotel, as we like to stay more in San Francisco when we visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

An excellent spot to have your last night in San Francisco, they offer a good airport drop off service and it is easy to get in to San Francisco and back! The rooms are charming and have great views, also have a bar and restaurant downstairs so it is probably perfect for a romantic getaway and also for business!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

A night flight into SFO necessitated our staying in San Francisco the first night of our Wine Country trip. A delayed flight got us to the Inn at midnight, exhausted, not knowing what to expect. We didn't expect this!!! Cozy; Welcoming; Charming; Warm; Gorgeous Views; Eclectic, nearly eccentric, decorating which we loved. Midnight check-in seemed to be no problem - quick and pleasant. The room welcomed us with a fireplace, very comfortable bed, large bathroom. In the morning the drapes were opened to an amazing view of the marina. Right on time, our breakfast arrived at our door and we sat at the window marveling at this little jewel of an Inn.
If you have a bit of time, the walk around the back of the Inn along the water is so relaxing.
Our much more expensive Bed and Breakfast in Wine Country was beautiful, but this Inn is even more special!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the harbor, so you can't go wrong! We loved our second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport overlooking a marina and across the bay to Oakland. Rooms are spacious and very well appointed, even the in-room artwork is attractive and interesting rather than the usual dull nonsense. The bathroom is spacious although the shower is more like a standard chain motel and should be upgraded to the standard of the room. The staff without exception were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The restaurant has great views but a very limited menu. My ravioli was nice and the mango custard desert was excellent. However, the wine list was less than a dozen wines total and in particular there were no reasonable quality/ price whites. But compared to what one usually gets near an airport, this is both a find and a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of it's location to the airport, but only ended up spending about 5 hours in the room. Very spacious room and bathroom (with bathrobes!); bed was very comfortable. Gas fireplace and view of the water (which we didn't get to see because we arrived in the dark and left before the sun rose). We didn't get to try the breakfast that gets delivered to your room, but the choices looked great. Hotel is in an office park so you'd have to drive to shopping and restaurants. Parking is free.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here at the end of our 25th anniversary week in CA, so we could be close to the airport for our flight out. Much less expensive than downtown SF and a nice place. We had a back corner room on the first floor with a nice view of the marina. The room was spacious, clean, and well maintained. The in-room breakfast was good and convenient, too. Staff was friendly, and although we were an hour before check-in, our room was ready. If I needed to stay in San Fran again and didn't have to be downtown, I would pick this place again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Oyster Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Oyster Point

Address: 425 Marina Blvd., South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#1 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Oyster Point 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Oyster Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Oyster Point Hotel South San Francisco
Hotel At Oyster Point
At Oyster Point Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Oyster Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.