We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save 15%
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the second year that I have stayed at this hotel, and again it didn't disappoint. I was attending a conference downtown, and going on my own dime, needed affordable accommodations in easy reach of the city, and this is a great choice.

I stayed here for three days, and arrived a little before check-in time, but there was absolutely no problem checking in early. The rooms are relatively basic but comfortable, functional and exceptionally clean -- while this certainly isn't a luxury hotel, it has everything you need. The bathrooms are possibly a little tired, but extremely well maintained, and again, spotlessly clean.

Despite having a no vacancy sign at both check-in and check-out, the hotel was very quiet, and I was never disturbed by other guests. Aircraft noise from the nearby airport is audible outside, but I never noticed it in the room. The air conditioning unit worked very well, and the bed was comfortable if on the firm side. The two car parks were always almost full, but even arriving back late I was always able to find a space.

This hotel is conveniently located for the Caltrain station, a good option for reaching downtown. The station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and even walking back at night I never felt unsafe. The Caltrain costs $3 to get downtown and takes about 15 minutes, so this is a very good option to save on the cost of parking if you are going to be there for a few hours.

The only downside I can think of is that the wifi, which last year had been faster-than-average for a hotel of this type, was this year often slow to the point of unusable -- on a few occasions I had to switch to tethering via my phone, as the wifi would only partially load webpages at best. This may have been a result of the hotel being at capacity, or the location of my room, however.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again next year -- I just hope that, as they are appear to be becoming very popular, I'm able to get in!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for making our hotel your second home when you're in San Francisco. Your continued patronage of our hotel is sincerely appreciated and we hope to be part of your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auburn, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Super Clean: Rooms are nice and clean. Beds are very comfortable. Close to the interstate, but not noisy at all. Very nice atmosphere.
Reasonably Priced and great, convenient location close to the airport! Free Parking! Free WiFi!
Friendly Staff: Sam, the owner, and his family are super nice! They will do anything to accommodate you and make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible.
The only negative is the breakfast: The selection is very limited and bland. Coffee and juice, two choices of cereals, bananas an apples. Nowhere to sit. You have to take your food back to your room on a tray.
Great stay overall. I would and will go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We arrived very late and were confused by our GPS directions. We called hotel and they stayed on the phone with us and guided us there quickly. This was very much appreciated as we had no idea where we were late at night. The room was very clean and updated and just right for us. The breakfast was light but plenty for what we wanted. Coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, and pastry. Thanks for your help and advice for next day travels!


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlstanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Really good airport hotel/motel close to Airport for a one night stop over with early flights. Not luxury but clean and spacious room, good standard, comfy beds, good wifi and clean bathroom.

Only bad thing was communications, no good public transportations and when we took a taxi from central San Francisco the driver could not find the hotel, took 20 min extra before we got there...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Having stayed a number of times in hotels around SFO airport I find this hotel to be a good deal. There are a lot of options and various price ranges. This hotel offers a great value and good location, in an area where hotel rates are rising. We spent 4 days there(two at start of vacation and two when leaving). There are a number of places to eat within walking distance. America's Best Value Inn in South SF has all the basics- free parking, small continental breakfast , fridge , microwave and internet. One can walk around the neighborhood and feel safe. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They obviously pay attention to detail and monitor the property. Rooms are extremely clean and surprisingly spacious. When someone accidentally spilled some breakfast outside our room they had it cleaned within minutes. For the price, I do not think one could do better in this area. Only down side is the they do not have a shuttle to the airport.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a sofa which is nice if you are looking to have a place to relax in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were just staying one night in San Francisco prior a trip to Reno. The hotel is just minutes from the airport and very convenient. The room was spotlessly clean and had all amenities required for a good nights sleep. Parking was easy and practically right outside the door of our upstairs room. All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juaradawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great place to stay if your looking for a really nice (recently renovated) room for a night near SF. Management was SUPER friendly and we enjoyed our stay in a nice clean room (and super clean bathroom) which was only about 20 mins from the city. Not luxury - but clean and comfortable. I will definitely look here to stay again if I'm going in for a baseball game at AT+T park or for a next day adventure in SF.

Room Tip: Rooms are prone to airport noise (but you knew that since you booked near the airport!-ha) Limited p...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel had separate receptacles for reg trash and recyclable material.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#5 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn at Oyster Point
Inn at Oyster Point
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#17 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport

Address: 701 Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#1 Best Value Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco. We are conveniently located off Highway 101, only three miles north from San Francisco International Airport and eight miles from downtown San Francisco. Our hotel is a short ride from Fisherman's Wharf, Cable Car Stations, Pier 39, Presidio, Fort Mason, Alcatraz, and the Golden Gate Bridge. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco features 23 newly renovated hotel rooms and suites with beautiful decor. Our hotel offers a free continental breakfast served daily from 7am to 10am. Our guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, cable TVs with HBO, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, and free local calls. Free on-site parking is available. Our hotel is ideal for families, couples, and individual travelers. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco offers the perfect blend of bay area charm, luxury, and modern amenities. We understand that it is the little things that make your stay comfortable. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - San Francisco Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing