We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vasteras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Honest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A typical road side hotel/motel. The rooms were good sicced but not spacious. The breakfast was small and consisted of te/coffee and some serials. The hotels best selling point is if you ask me the relative closeness till the airport. One big plus is a that there is a good parking space associated with the hotel. When looking at the hole picture the hotel gives you what they promise and that worked nice for a one night stay over before leaving for the airport but not a place I would wont to use fore more than that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
We are thankful for your recent stay at our hotel and giving us your valuable feedback. I am glad to know you that you like our room decor and our comfortable bed. We are also thankful for recommending our hotel. Thanks again for your comments and hope we can see you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    54
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
62
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach SC - USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a very neat, quiet, small hotel. Only abt. 6 miles from the airport and most reasonably priced for the location. It exceeded our expect ions for value .. at $130/night, it was a great value near the airport (yes, $130 was reasonable for the area) ... the rooms were as pictured on their web site. The free breakfast was small and limited to mostly "cold" items, and the breakfast room was very small. They have a nice patio surrounded by the office and rooms (we did not have the opportunity to use it) ... the 2nd floor rooms are easily accessible to the rear parking area (no stairs to go out) ... The "family" staff were very friendly and helpful ... they helped with our bags (4) as we are handicapped. They also arranged for a taxi to pick us up at 5:30am for the airport; price was less than $20. This was a good overnight stay for us and will use them if we go back to San Francisco ... not only near the airport, but also near downtown San Francisco (abt. 8 miles).

Room Tip: Ask for the lower floor for room location to avoid going up one set of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
We are very thankful for your stay and giving us your feedback. We are glad you liked our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in future. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Walkind distance, service was good, comfortable, accesible to the maim atractions, fishermans and stuff, flower steets, price was very good, bathroom and bedroom always clean, i spent 4 days and was very happy staying no complains...=)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for reaching out and sharing your Hotel visit with us. We're so happy to hear that your first stay was an exceptional one. It's a pleasure to be able to share our charm and services with you, and we look forward to the prospect of hosting you again in travels to come. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms, clean and also a good location: only 20 minutes from Fisherman Wharf. Enough parking spots and a friendly staff.

Some shops in the neighborhood: Starbucks, Subway, Groceries, etcetera.

San Francisco is a wonderful and beautiful city. Tips: Whale Tour, Sightseeing Hop on and Hop off bus - cross the Golden Gate Bridge and visit Sausalito.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel and for reaching out with such exceptional words for us. It was a pleasure to have hosted your San Francisco visit, and we're happy to hear that our hotel and attentive services lent to your enjoyable stay. We'd love the opportunity to host your returning visits, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan your next travels to our region. Thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights during my west coast road trip, booked it after good reviews on here and crazy prices closer to downtown. So glad I did, good location, big room, giant bed, quiet, very clean and excellent price. The owner was very nice and gave good advice on getting around San Francisco, he advised getting the 292 samtrans bus that stops right outside and goes directly to downtown San Fran in approx 35 mins for $2, I did this and it was an excellent service. There is a mall a few mins away on el camino real which included a massive cinema that I used a couple of times. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hotel and for reaching out to share your experience with us. We're so happy to hear that our team and services were the highlight of your trip, and we look forward to hosting you through the duration of your travels to come. Please be sure to reach out to us the next time you're planning a San Francisco stay; we'd love the opportunity to provide you another incomparable visit. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is by far the nicest "motel" I've stayed at. The owners/managers have thought about almost every detail you can think of. Thick new carpet, marble shower, nice bedding, extremely clean, CFL lighting, new technology access cards, motion sensors (I know some of these things don't matter but it's their attention to detail that is so impressive). Very clean and comfortable, good price, good location to restaurants, etc. Recommended highly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share the simple luxuries of our Hotel. We're immensely proud of our property and our outgoing team, and we're happy to have been able to afford you with a relaxing end to your adventurous days. It would be a pleasure to host you again, and we hope that you'll reach out to us the next time you return to the area. We'd love to build more memories alongside you, and we thank you again for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We shopped around for a location close to the airport with decent prices and decent accommodations. Some silicon valley confab made rooms at our usual haunts hard to come by at anything you would call a reasonable price. I wasn't familiar with this brand and, therefore, relied on Tripadvisor comments to convince me that I wasn't going to end up in a dump. First, one has to realize that this is not a Marriott or Hilton, even though it is rated more highly than some of those. This is more like a 2-story motel. So, if a big lobby with a concierge is what you want, you will be disappointed. That said, it is a nicely-run, well-kept property that is comfortable enough for the price. The gentleman at the desk, Sam I think, was very helpful with suggestions for dining and directions to the freeway, which was pretty easy to get to considering how convoluted it was to get to the hotel from 101 North. There's parking (in a garage) for the ground floor as well as same-deck parking for the second floor, which is where we stayed. The office is very small and is also where the continental breakfast is located. We didn't use the breakfast because of our early departure, but the breakfast is a take-it-and-go setup (there's no room to sit or to congregate more than 2 or 3 people). Also, the office is not a 24 hour operation. I was advised to leave my electronic key in the room and make sure the door was shut. I was given my bill when I checked in. I would check ahead with the hotel if you're planning a late arrival. Don't expect to pop in at 2 AM and have a normal check-in. Now, about the rooms. The room was to me was good-sized with a king bed, a small sofa, coffee table, desk area, dresser drawers, flat-screen TV, micro wave and mini-fridge. There was also an iron and ironing board as well as a built-in hair dryer. The bathroom sink area was outside of the toilet shower/tub area. Everything was up-to-date. The shower was very good despite being a tub combo. The light switches are combination switch/motion activation, so they go out by themselves if you forget to turn them off. The bed was very good. I like a firm bed and this was one of those. Of the 11 hotels I stayed in this trip, this was the best bed I slept in. Wi-Fi was strong and easy to access. The only real complaint I had about the room was that the bath towels were thin and scratchy, and I couldn't get the ironing board to fold back up. As mentioned in other reviews, the room doors open to the outside, not an interior hallway. However, the room doors all face inward toward a courtyard area rather than toward the street. The door locks were modern electronic-type with dead-bolt and hasp-type locks on the inside. The area the hotel is in is more of a blue collar industrial area, not a scary area but not hotel row either. This hotel can be easy to miss if you're not paying attention. There seems to be one check-in parking stall right in front on the street, or it might be a bus stop. I wasn't sure. You can turn the corner just past the entrance and park in the garage to check in. Don't be put off by the hotel exterior, which is not fancy. Fortunately for the traveler, the modernization investment was made in the rooms. We paid $111 and change (taxes included) through booking.com. Considering the alternatives, I thought we got a good deal for that price. Not the Ritz, but a good bargain for a one-nighter near the airport.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the 2nd floor rooms just to be free of noise from above. Parking also is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your Hotel experience with us. We're happy to hear that your visit was an enjoyable one, and we appreciate your suggestions for improvement. Guest feedback like yours enables our continued growth, and we hope that you'll reach out in the future to share in this evolution. It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest; we'd love to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport

Address: 701 Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#1 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco. We are conveniently located off Highway 101, only three miles north from San Francisco International Airport and eight miles from downtown San Francisco. Our hotel is a short ride from Fisherman's Wharf, Cable Car Stations, Pier 39, Presidio, Fort Mason, Alcatraz, and the Golden Gate Bridge. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco features 23 newly renovated hotel rooms and suites with beautiful decor. Our hotel offers a free continental breakfast served daily from 7am to 10am. Our guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, cable TVs with HBO, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, and free local calls. Free on-site parking is available. Our hotel is ideal for families, couples, and individual travelers. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco offers the perfect blend of bay area charm, luxury, and modern amenities. We understand that it is the little things that make your stay comfortable. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - San Francisco Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.