We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best values for sure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntersville, NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best values for sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here on overnight before flight out of SFO. Fairly small place- motel style. Very close to airport. It's right on the freeway so there is road noise but it's so constant, it almost puts you to sleep.

We got two rooms for $100 less than some single rooms nearby. Dated rooms but very clean. Everything worked great. Nice TV, super fridge and microwave. The beds were suprisingly comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and the towels just a little scratchy.

They have a light continental breakfast, but let's say very light. Apples, Fruit Loops, cornflakes and juice machine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They showed us a room before we paid because it was so cheap. It was a great value!

We have stayed at the Trip Advisor #1 hotels in Miami and Cancun. We wouldnt want to stay at Best Value for a week, but with the money we saved, we bought a nice meal at the Cliff House in SF.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omboy, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Providing our guests a clean, comfortable, value added room is a choice we make for all of our guests. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
63
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san rafael
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

We messed up and booked the room the night after we needed it--so that is definitely our fault. Regardless, the manager would not allow hotels.com to cancel our reservation and transfer it to the current night. I told him we were staying at his hotel because reviewers said it was a good family run business. His reply was that they are no longer family run and referred to the software and owners he has to answer to.

Even if we stayed here without screwing up, this hotel is just a place to stay before an early flight. Nothing special for a 2 star hotel. Everything is old: CRT tv, old bedding. Average for a motel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omboy, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for posting your review we appreciate your comments. We use your comments to further train our staff as needed. We apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered while staying at our Inn. We are still a family run business and we were away at the time you stayed with us. Our relief manager was in charge when you were here and we have instructed him as to the proper procedure on handling these kind of situations to ensure that something similar does not happen in the future. We hope you will come back again at the time of your next visit to our area and give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I checked into this hotel for two nights because I had to be in the area and most of the hotels are very expensive. This hotel was within walking distance of Grand Avenue, where many very good restaurants are located and is convenient to the airport and to the Oyster Point area. The owner was friendly and accommodating and the rooms were very clean - and you can't beat the price. One thing to consider it that they do not have a free shuttle to/from the airport, but it is easily accessible by bus, Cal Train or taxi. I will definitely stay here again if I need to be in the area and recommend it.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor in a king room and it was fine. I did notice that the suites are roomi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omboy, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and we are happy you found our Inn comfortable and relaxing. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit in the very near future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is a family run operation and I've stayed here previously. I've found it to be good value in what is a very overpriced San Francisco area and it's very well maintained and clean and quiet. This time, I stayed for 3 nights and used it as a base to do day trips into the city on the nearby BART station. One more thing . . . they provide free, strong wifi and some hotel operators drive me nuts in that they still are nickel and diming guests by charging extra for what is now a basic item. It reminds me of the airlines!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omboy, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. Hope everything has worked out well for you. I look forward to hosting you when you are in the San Francisco again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

A great hotel for people flying in or out of San Francisco International Airport, close enough to get to airport in seven minutes but far enough so you don't hear the roaring plans. This hotel also offers free private parking and very very clean rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms with the Hot Tub are very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omboy, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Providing our guests a clean, comfortable, value added room is a choice we make for all of our guests. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I waited until the last minute to book my room due to my wariness of staying at any hotel in the downtown area. The reviews on the various hotels in the general vicinity seemed poor, if not scary. After hours of comparing hotels and prices, as I was traveling on a budget, I decided to book this hotel and spend around $100 for a night. I'm happy to say my decision was the right one. It was easy to find the hotel and its location made it perfect for walking with friends to several shops and restaurants downtown. The lobby was very nice and inviting. The staff was friendly and accommodating; I decided to upgrade to two beds upon checking in. My upgrade was handled quickly, with excellent customer service. My room was clean and in excellent condition. The recent hotel remodel is apparent and very nice. A microwave and mini fridge came standard with the room. In the morning, after good sleep, All in all, if you're looking for a modern yet charming hotel in a good airport location, I have to say this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omboy, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your review with us. I am glad you chose to stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to meet you and I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This motel is only 20 minutes from fisherman's wharf. This motel is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. For the price this hotel is great you don't have to spend the 300 dollars a night they ask for the downtown hotels but you are close enough to do all the things you want to do in San Francisco. You also do not have to pay to park which is great because parking anywhere in San Francisco can be expensive. The owner is very kind and we had a great chat. Thanks for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omboy, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you kindly for your review. at Americas Best Value Inn- San Francisco Airport we give our best to make your stay comfortable. We are happy you found our Inn comfortable and relaxing. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport

Address: 701 Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco. We are conveniently located off Highway 101, only three miles north from San Francisco International Airport and eight miles from downtown San Francisco. Our hotel is a short ride from Fisherman's Wharf, Cable Car Stations, Pier 39, Presidio, Fort Mason, Alcatraz, and the Golden Gate Bridge. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco features 23 newly renovated hotel rooms and suites with beautiful decor. Our hotel offers a free continental breakfast served daily from 7am to 10am. Our guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, cable TVs with HBO, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, and free local calls. Free on-site parking is available. Our hotel is ideal for families, couples, and individual travelers. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco offers the perfect blend of bay area charm, luxury, and modern amenities. We understand that it is the little things that make your stay comfortable. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Airport/South San Francisco, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - San Francisco Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.