We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Vista Inn

Save Saved
You added Arroyo Vista Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arroyo Vista Inn
335 Monterey Road, South Pasadena, CA 91030   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Springs, California
1 review
“Beautiful spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our visit at the Arroyo Vista. Clean, comfortable room with a wonderful view; quiet & restful. The home is meticulously restored. Each room is unique & the setting is lovely. Pat, the owner, provided us with a delicious, hot breakfast & was careful of the dietary restrictions that I had to place upon her. This was a surprise trip for my birthday & there was a bottle of champagne on ice & chocolate(!) waiting for us in our room when we arrived along with a note of good wishes. Thanks, Pat, for a lovely time! We will be recommending this place to our friends.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms have terraces.
See more room tips
Green Features: Solar power; lo-flo plumbing (but no lack of pressure!); cfl lighting - excellent!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    17
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
71
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We just got back from an overnight stay at the charming Arroyo Vista Inn. We stayed in the Oak Terrace Room (#1) and were quite comfortable. It was clean and spacious with a queen sized bed, a sofa sleeper, and lots of natural light. There's a large terrace off this room that is shared with the neighboring room, but we never saw or heard the neighbors even though there were guests in that room. (One of the fun quirks of an old house: there's two doors in the private ensuite bathroom -- one that leads from the bedroom into the bathroom, and one that leads from the bathroom onto a small terrace shared with another guest room. Don't worry -- that door to the terrace locks!) The room was very warm when we arrived in late afternoon, so we turned on the AC for a short time. After we returned from dinner, we opened the doors to both terraces and had a nice cross breeze. Although our bedroom windows wouldn't open, we slept comfortably with the bathroom windows open and the bedroom ceiling fan going. We never heard any noise from other guests except during the evening wine and cheese time when some guests were sitting on the porch. There was a little bit of white noise from traffic in the distance but it didn't bother us.

When we arrived, we let ourself in using the security code provided in our confirmation email. Someone greeted us, told us about wine and cheese hour, asked our preferred time for breakfast, and showed us to our room. White and red wines, as well as crackers, cheese, and nuts were set out at 5:00 so we could help ourself to a pre-dinner snack. A small refrigerator stocked with water and soda, a bowl of tangerines, and a plate of yummy oatmeal chocolate chip cookies were available all the time. Breakfast the next morning was delicious (fresh fruit, eggs florentine, cauliflower bacon cups, toast, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee) and hot (even though we were about 5 minutes late) and served by a friendly and attentive chef. At breakfast, we met Pat, the proprietor, who thanked us for visiting her inn.

I've read some negative reviews about unresponsive/inattentive/absent staff but that wasn't our experience at all, thus this long and detailed review. After checking into our room we did have a question and came downstairs. Although no one was in sight, when we called out "hello?" someone came out from a back room and happily assisted us. This is an intimate 10-room bed-and-breakfast, not a commercial hotel with a team of impersonal staff members on duty, and therein lies its charm.

My only suggestion would be to change the furniture on the large veranda shared by rooms 1 & 2. The chairs were vintage gliding rockers but not terrifically comfortable. We hope to return next year to see the museums we didn't have time for on this trip and we would definitely stay at Arroyo Vista Inn again. (Save 10% by booking directly through the inn's website!)

Room Tip: We like to spend time in the room reading and so we chose the Oak Terrace room for its natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very disappointed with this place. The owner is nowhere to be found when you have a question or concern. She is not available in the morning, afternoon or evening. The breakfast was clearly a leftover from the previous day/s, it was some sort of Quiche hot in the outside extremely cold in the inside with a cold piece of toast that you can accompany with some butter dipped in water. This place has great reviews and that is why we decided to stay here. Unfortunately for us it was a very unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arroyovistainn335, Owner at Arroyo Vista Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
This review is surprising and disappointing on so many levels. First, I apologize that any guest would be served a partially cold breakfast. That is not what we strive for, nor is it the usual experience here. Secondly, the reviewer says I was nowhere to be found. I am here most of the time and December is one of our busiest months. I did go away one weekend in December, leaving other managers to staff the B & B. This reviewer’s email address does not match any guest that weekend in December. Additionally, since the guest stayed more than four months ago, it is very difficult to pinpoint and correct the cause for dissatisfaction, i.e., who dropped the ball. Had this guest brought the issue to the attention of the manager on duty or the cook who prepared the breakfast, we would have done our utmost to rectify the situation. Again, I am very sorry if this guest had a less than desirable experience; it is the goal of all the Arroyo Vista Inn staff to provide each guest an excellent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Even seeing all the high online ratings before our trip, Arroyo Vista Inn exceeded our expectations. Very pleasant staff and owner, excellent breakfasts, clean and comfortable. We definitely are planning to stay here again on our next visit to LA!

Room Tip: First time staying at Arroyo Vista Inn, and highly recommend the Veranda room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Tucked into a hillside in Pasadena, you will find historic home, run by very welcoming and very helpful people. We walked to dinner, through a small residential neighborhood, less than a mile from the Inn, and also walked less than a mile to the South Pasadena Metro Rail stop in the same nice neighborhood. It seemed to take just minutes to get there and then on to Chinatown, Union Station -- connecting to the entire rail network -- and on to Little Tokyo. Every morning out for a jog along the Arroyo Seco National Trail, without even having to get into the car -- and this is in metro LA ! The Huntington Museum, Descanso Gardens and Nuccio's Nursery (with one of the highest quality and greatest variety of camellia's for purchase in the U.S.) are all within a 5 and 7 mile drive. I agree with the reviewer "baywanderer", that this is not your classic small 5 star B&B, in a unique tourist or natural setting. But, when you look at each element being rated separately and consider the context of greater urban L.A., this is a special place to stay, well worth experiencing

Green Features: The Inn is run as an eco-friendly establishment -- solar powered, etc.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I am not one to write these reviews, but I recently stayed again at the Arroyo Vista Inn and thought it deserved to be recognized as one of the hidden treasures of South Pasadena. I have stayed here for both business and pleasure. With every visit, I marvel at the tranquil surroundings, beautiful appointments, and consistently excellent service. I love the eclectic furnishings, with leanings toward the Restoration Hardware look. I am not one to like frilly B&Bs, so this is right up my alley. The owners are charming and welcoming. There is nothing like sitting on the front porch watching the sun set and sharing wine and cheese with the owners, Pat and "Farmer" Russ. They are not intrusive, but ask them join you for some of their complementary wine and you won't be disappointed with the company! Breakfast has never let me down. The fruit is always fresh (frequently grown by "Farmer" Russ), the lattes are perfection, and the healthy choices are always delicious. On top of it all, the place is eco-friendly. Last word of advice - don't miss the cookies and toffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

There are several pluses: (1) an isolated location up the hill: (2) a well prepared breakfast and (3) good management, but the rooms and overall interior while decent simply do not come up to the standard of top class b and bs we have stayed in elsewhere. The neighborhood can best be described an mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arroyo Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Vista Inn

Address: 335 Monterey Road, South Pasadena, CA 91030
Location: United States > California > South Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1910 Craftsman home completely restored with all modern amenities perched on top of a hill on a 2-acre property. Many of the rooms have fabulous views of the city and the mountains. Several rooms have porches or balconies. Several have state of the art spa tubs. All the rooms have luxurious linens and window treatments. The rooms are furnished with a simple yet sophisticated combination of antiques and contemporary furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arroyo Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Vista Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.