We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Oak Tree Inn
1325 Fair Oaks Ave, South Pasadena, CA 91030-3807
(323) 682-2882
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
South Pasadena, California
1 review
“Great place for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We just went there for Christmas dinner and we were very impressed. We had prawns (boiled), crab with Oak Tree Special Sauce, and snow leaf pea. The meal was fantastic. The servers were no-nonsense and did an excellent job continually clearing plates and keeping the table clean. I highly recommend this place for seafood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good for large groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Have been here many times with family and have always found the food excellent. Was particularly impressed on this occasion when I came with large party of 14 people. The service was friendly and efficient and the food was beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“A top notch Chinese restaurant in pleasant surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We were guests having a Saturday lunch with relatives and were blown away by the great food and excellent service. Our friends were very familiar with the style of Chinese cooking here -- it's not pretentious but very honest with well prepared dishes in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere. Peking Duck was exceptional with a perfectly seasoned and roasted bird. Their beef steak had a great honey flavor and was tender and succulent. Mayonnaise prawns, sautéed rock cod, salt and pepper pork chop, chicken chow mein, beef chow fun, sautéed gai Lon, hot and sour soup--you name it-- we're all done well and, while not something to blow you away , they were all done well and used fresh ingredients. The quiet and airy surroundings, very clean restaurant, and good service made the lunch something we treasured and enjoyed. There's plenty of good Chinese restaurants in LA but not many in South Passdena and few that know how to provide good comfortable service in a nice surrounding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shrimp oh so yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a last minute food delivery...oh the shrimp dish was great! Delivery was fast and friendly. The portions were good. If you want your food spicy you need to tell them when you order. We will order from them again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Who'd Believe South Pasadena Has the Best Chinese Food in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I am a crab nut! I love it when you sentence your crab to death and you know it is fresh. The ginger crab here is the best. I have now visited the place four times and each time the food was excellent. The service is excellent. I recommend Oak Tree without reservations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Tree Inn also viewed

 
South Pasadena, CA
South Pasadena, CA
 

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.