We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmine's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carmine's
424 Fair Oaks Ave, South Pasadena, CA 91030
626-799-2266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmine's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Macomb, Michigan
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The menu had lots of selections, was reasonably priced and you got large portions but both food and service were average. Not typical Italian I am accustomed to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good price. Definite recommendation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This review is for the So. Pasadena store. I have not eaten at their Arcadia venue. I've been to Carmine's Italian restaurant/bar a number of times now, and have enjoyed the food. Their soups are delicious as are their salads. The Caesar salad is made with real anchovies and you can ask for extras on the side.

The thick, hot from the oven, all you can eat, focaccia bread served with olive oil and balsamic vinegar on the side is the best ever. But I warn you, you will not be able to stop eating it, so take that into consideration when you order your meal, as it comes to the table along with your water when you first get there.

There house Chardonnay was very nice. And the salmon special that I had was very good. They have specials every day and also weekly specials.

When you come in, to the right is a large bar/lounge with fireplace, lots of seating and the now ubiquitous large screen TVs for sports fanatics. It's a very pleasant lounge over all and you can also order your food in there if you want to sit at the bar or small tables to watch a game.

When you walk in, the main restaurant with outdoor patio is to the left, while not huge, it can accommodate a few large parties. My one gripe is that the music tends to be too loud. I don't go to restaurants to hear a concert, especially when it's music I don't like, and I don't want to have to raise my voice to compete with it. I have had to ask that they turn it down most of the times I've been there. There seems to be a trend with this in restaurants nowadays, unfortunately.

They are open daily for lunch until 2PM (Sunday 12P) and dinner from 5PM. The prices are extremely reasonable, and I've found the food that I've order to be very good every time, as has my friend. I gave it four stars because of the music issue, which might not be an issue at all to others. Overall, a very good experience and a definite recommendation if you're in the area!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“solid food at a solid price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Carmines has always provided heaping portions of pasta with great flavors at a fair price. I was a bit concerned when they remodeled that food quality would suffer but not so. The classic pasta dishes such as the Pasta Gumbi or Pasta Rossa are still great. The pizzas are also a treat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Carmine's in South Pasadena not only have descent italina family style pasta but one of the best pizzas in town. I eat even the crust which I usally dont. They also renovated their "dive" bar and its is now a very good taste lounge.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place, good food, great service, recommend highly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice spot for a fab italian meal. Go for it, you won't regret it. Not far off the highway, so easy to get to!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's also viewed

South Pasadena, CA
South Pasadena, CA
 
South Pasadena, CA
 

Been to Carmine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmine's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.