We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service not so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe House

Canoe House
805 Fair Oaks Ave, South Pasadena, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Polynesian
Description: New-Replaced a neighborhood restaurant called Wild Thyme
Restaurant details
Description: New-Replaced a neighborhood restaurant called Wild Thyme
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, service not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Really good food. They offer both inside and outside seating. Unfortunately service is lacking in attentiveness. Waters didn't come until we were half way through with our meal and even though I was using a birthday coupon, we were not asked if we wanted dessert.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, so so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I went with a friend to this restaurant because we were looking for a new place. Parking was not a problem although we were out on the patio with cars pulling in and out of the parking lot. I ordered the hamburger which was really greasy and my girlfriend ordered the pulled pork which she had to sent back because it was ice cold. The management took it back and gave her a brand new one that she said was good. I saw many of the other items on the menu and they looked good but I would not go back. Not a real fan of Polynesian themed food. If you do it is worth a try. The staff is super nice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time won't be last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Easy to find, easy parking, clean and new establishment, friendly waiter. Had the house sliders, bigger than expected, tasty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Maui in South Pasadena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The food was very good and the staff was great. We just returned from Maui and was craving the Gazebo breakfast fried rice and coconut syrup. You need to add bananas to your pancakes. The owner needs to get the recipes from the Gazebo they are close and I'm happy to advise.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Good food & service, fun decor/atmosphere.
Have eaten here three time and have had good meals.
Friendly service and a nice menu + a couple decent ales on hand.
The Ahi tacos I had we're generous and well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe House also viewed

South Pasadena, CA
South Pasadena, CA
 

Been to Canoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.