We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous getaway close to LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 Orange Grove Ave, South Pasadena, CA 91030   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Marvelous getaway close to LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Bissell House is a charming and comfortable bed and breakfast in a well-maintained, lovely old house. The chef, Ron, creates delicious breakfasts every day, and there is tea and cake available every afternoon. We stayed just over a week, with another couple, who also enjoyed the house and its beautiful garden. Another plus is that there were interesting things to do in Pasadena itself, including the Huntington Library, the Norton Simon Museum, and architectural tours of the historic neighborhoods. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Chef Ron will be so excited when I pass along your compliments! It's great to hear that you group not only enjoyed your stay with us, but had a chance to see the sights in Pasadena. Thank you for giving us some feedback here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in the area, we hope you stay with us again!

Till then,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    13
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
39
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I enjoyed a one night stay at the Bissell House while attending a few business functions in Pasadena. The Bissell House is a charming victorian mansion located on the corner of Orange Grove Blvd. and Columbia just a couple of blocks from the 110 freeway. The rooms were beautifully decorated in tasteful antiques and the common areas including a living room, dining room, porch and even a large swimming pool in the backyard. The staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean and breakfast was delicious. My only complaint was the sun pouring into my room at 6:00 a.m. since the curtains were inadequate. I would definately return to the Bissell House the next time I stay in Pasadena.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Charming grounds, friendly staff, delicious breakfast — that's what we're going for, so it's great to hear that you think we're hitting our mark! Do you remember which room you stayed in with us? I'd love to take a look at the curtains to see if we can provide more adequate light blocking. I hope you come stay with us again on your next trip to Pasadena!

See you soon,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

When you stay at The Bissell House you are at home.
The breakfast was excellent and there was always coffee and tea available along with cake.
Charming family running this beutiful and peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
I love that you called Bissel House home, Carolina! It's fantastic to know you enjoyed our breakfast and other daily sweet treats. Peaceful is exactly how a B&B should be described, so I'm so happy to hear you say that.

Take care,
Janet
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Bissell House Bed and Breakfast offers wonderful and relaxing accommodations - their hospitality is top-notch! I booked the entire House for our company to stay at during a staff retreat and we couldn't have asked for a better experience! Very tasty breakfast too!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are warmer, but very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I'm glad to hear that your company retreat with us was a success, Gretchen! We work very hard to plan great group events, so your compliments mean a lot to us! Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback here on TripAdvisor. If you're ever planning another company retreat, please let us know!

Till then,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful valentine's day stay here. It was a perfect place for my pregnant wife to relax while I was at work. Breakfast was an incredible treat - far exceeding our expectations (and since my wife was pregnant and sleeping in, they brought the food up to us in a classy tray). Everyone that works there were so very nice. It's the kind of place you can make friends (but they also understand boundaries).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We recently stayed two nights at the Bissell House. Nicely furnished, very comfortable historic property. Staff was very friendly and provided a delicious breakfast both mornings. The only thing keeping me from giving it a "5 Dot" rating was the WiFi. The network was always up and easy to connect to, but the internet signal was very spotty--could only get internet service a few times, and it always dropped off after a few minutes. Very frustrating.

Room Tip: I don't know about the size of the other rooms, but the Master, where we stayed, was very genero...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is a wonderfully maintained bed and breakfast in an elegant part of South Pasadena. The rooms are steeped in history, and the bedding and towels are lush and plush. Breakfasts are an extraordinary treat, prepared by Ron, a marvelous chef. The piece de resistance is the homemade cake or pie awaiting your tasting each evening in the living room. Stopping at only one slice is a near impossibility. Everyone associated with the home is friendly and helpful, making each visit like returning to visit close friends. We've stayed there at least four times and plan to continue staying there. After all, who wouldn't want to stay with close friends!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 201 Orange Grove Ave, South Pasadena, CA 91030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South Pasadena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bissell House is an elegant Victorian bed & breakfast offering tranquil and intimate accommodations. Located in one of Southern California’s most desirable neighborhoods, our bed and breakfast is just a whisper’s distance from Old Town Pasadena, Wrigley Mansion, Rose Bowl, Norton Simon Museum and the Huntington Library & Gardens.It is with great pleasure that we are able to welcome you to this charming and historic three story Victorian home to the public. We have individually decorated rooms with heat/a/c, private baths, antiques, and claw-footed tubs/showers, comfy robes, full gourmet breakfast in the dining room which once hosted Albert Einstein! Our love of meeting individuals from both local and distant environs creates an inviting atmosphere of hospitality.Enjoy shopping, sightseeing, or just spend a tranquil day relaxing in our spacious guest quarters or outdoors in our lovely garden grounds. Located just 12 minutes from downtown Los Angeles, the Bissell House is the perfect choice for your wedding, anniversary party, corporate event or any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.