We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty and smells bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn City of Industry

Rodeway Inn City of Industry
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn City of Industry to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn City of Industry
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1228 N Durfee Avenue, South El Monte, CA 91733 (Formerly Travelodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South El Monte
El Monte, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“dirty and smells bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

if there is one thing i can't stand about a motel is dirty. I understand it's a cheap place but people still expect a nice stay,right? my non-smoking room smells like a smoking room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The bad: really close to the freeway, not much nearby, broken peephole that was filled in instead of repaired.

The good: surprisingly quiet, not a bad neighborhood (not really a neighborhood at all; a freeway intersection, a gas station, and a McDonalds), ample parking, super-friendly desk girl. And I had absolutely no cleanliness issues - my room was immaculate. It's one of the nicer of the Rodeways.

Bottom Line: I'll stay here again if I need a cheap place to crash. It's not a vacation hotel, just a cheap clean bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Mar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

i was there with my couple and i dont like this hotel....Smell so bad,even the lobby....The "continental breakfast" was only a sweet bread and a artificial orange beverage..Imagine this,a country like California with a lot of orange and this hotel brings one beverage that is only 1% juice and the rest just water,sugar and ariticial color..Is so close to the freeway and have noise. The hair dryer doesnt work properly,the microwave oven smells and the refrigerator dont work properly too. The first impression of this hotel was so bad and our stay there confirm this. Another point,if you plan to stay there,get a car in a rent center because this hotel is so far of interesting places.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South El Monte,CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

I checked in after a long day at work and was so tired I didnt even turn on the lights and crawled into bed. I got up a few moments later to turn on the A/C and when I couldnt get it to work I had to turn on a light. I wish I hadnt; the place was filthy, the door was rotting on the bottom with mold. The counter tops were actually sticky. Even the hair dryer on the wall had a thick layer of crud. I called the front desk asking to move rooms and was asked why. I first mentioned to A/C and they sent someone over to look at it and he could do nothing. When I mentioned I would just rather leave since the rooms were so filthy I was greeted with a flurry of F-bombs from the Manager. Get the F out of my hotel etc... I had paid for two nights and asked for a refund and I even said I would pay for the first night though I had only been there for a few hours. Again I was offered up some more F-bombs and was told that I would be getting no refund. I had to call my credit card company to make sure to dispute the charges. I even made sure to call the 800-300-8800 customer relations number to let them know of my joyous stay. If you dont want to trust my experience simply ask to see the room before you pay, any "nice/clean" place will never have a problem with such a request. I should have done this myself but I gave in to being tired and paid the price.

  • Liked — The fact that I left
  • Disliked — I would say the rude Management or the unhealthy conditions in the rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring,maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

When I checked in, i realised that I had booked a economy room facing the freeway. So I asked for a room on the other side and there
was a additional charge for larger suites for $10. It was clean, quiet,and comfortable with nice furniture, and the staff provided great service and since then I have been staying there when I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn City of Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn City of Industry

Address: 1228 N Durfee Avenue, South El Monte, CA 91733 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South El Monte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South El Monte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn City of Industry 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn City of Industry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn South El Monte
South El Monte Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn City of Industry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.