We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19551 Hess Avenue, Sonora, CA 95370   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Western Standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After a long day working out in the heat about 20 miles away I decided to stay at the closest Best Western rather than drive 3+ hours home. I had stayed here before and knew the location and service is always good. A couple of problems this time. Within half an hour of moving into my room a family of stomping kids moved into the room above me. The staff were very helpful in moving me to another room and gave me a breakfast voucher for my troubles. The other problem was something they had no control of. There were only a couple of TV channels working. They tried everything they could to get it up and working. No TV for the night. Also, while I could connect to their wi-fi, I could not get on line. I did see a Comcast Cable truck near the office the next morning as I was leaving. I mentioned my disappointment as I was checking out and they apologized. After returning home I filled out a survey about my stay, mentioning that it wasn't my best stay at a Best Western. The Manager contacted me the next day, apologized, and has sent me a 25% off coupon for my next stay. I feel that they stepped up to the plate and handled this very well. I will stay there again next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front are closer to the local restaurant. Vouchers for either dinner or breakfast com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
You are correct about the temporary interruption in TV and Internet on that day. It was also mention in another TA review. ComCast, our internet vender, supplier both the TV and the conduit for Internet has cable problems. Normally the TV and Internet works very well, but on that day they did not provide excellent service. They fixed it quickly, but it did effect some of our our guests.
I am pleased that you contacted the team and you could be moved away from your noisy neighbors. Kids love to have fun in hotels rooms, and sometimes they do go a little overboard.

We are pleased that we could give you the best service we could, and that you will be using your discount certificate to return. Thank you for your feedback!

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    222
    57
    14
    2
See reviews for
184
219
14
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is the best place we've found in the Sonora/Columbia area. It's quiet and clean. Air conditioning is left on in the rooms, so that they are cool when we arrive, even on the hottest days. The breakfast is very good, in a restaurant that is clean and that has good service. We stay here as a jumping-off place for adventures to Yosemite, the Sierra and the desert.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We appreciate that you noticed that we pre-chill or heat the rooms depending on weather conditions. We are located in a mountain seasonal area that adjusting to the changing conditions seems to help our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your full, hot, served breakfast in our onsite restaurant. We have been voted the best hotel in the region for six years, so I am glad that you agree with the vote. It is discerning guest like yourself that keep us to a high service level.

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean, affordable, very friendly staff! Great free breakfast! Restaurant staff were awesome! Can see way it is rated number 1 hotel in Señora. I would recommend this if you are on your way to or from Yosemite! Nice pool and hot tub. Grounds well kept.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Our restaurant team will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary full, hot, served breakfast and the “awesome staff”. The hotel team will be pleased to here that you enjoyed the clean hotel and the affordable rates. We hope to see you next time!

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

After a couple days of hiking we left Yosemite and stayed at Best Western Sonora. We enjoyed the pool, diner, and it was a great stay for our family. I would recommend this hotel if you are leaving the north way out of Yosemite, very good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
As you correctly noted, our Northern (or Western Route) to/from Yosemite is the best route for the San Francisco Bay Area and points north, and it is beautiful! I am glad you have fun in the pool and enjoyed the on-site restaurant and lounge. Thank you for the fine recommendation.

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very clean room (typical size and style) with a beautiful pool and made to order, large delicious breakfast! We enjoyed swimming in the pool as we had it all to ourselves. The soda and ice machine along with our room were just a short walk away. I would probably ask for a pool side room next time just to be right there and have the pretty view. The breakfast is not a buffet or continental style, it is a regular large breakfast that is made to order just for you. Also if you don't have time for a large sit down breakfast you can call ahead and they will make breakfast sandwiches, fruit, coffee and juice to go for you. Breakfast was a $30.00 value for us had we gone out and bought it for our family of four. This place is excellent for the price and it is a very pretty part of California with very friendly people that have been so helpful! It is only a mile or two away from restaurants and shopping. I would recommend staying here to anyone I know.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 114. If it's not much more I would try to get a pool side room next time just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
This is such a nice review that we were speechless while reading it. After reading your comments, we wanted to stop working for the day, and stay here ourselves!! You noticed the excellent choices in served breakfast, the lovely optional poolside homes, and the clean rooms. Thank you..

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I hate to be the proverbial rotten apple in the bucket of shining apples but our stay here was soured - literally by sewer gas. We had a wonderful room. Staff helped us with our bags to the second floor which was really appreciated. Food at the restaurant was superb. I’ve stayed at this hotel before. It was absolutely perfect then and I was looking forward to staying again.

Why did our stay have to be spoiled by smell? I advised the hotel about the smell but they didn't seem to believe me. The comment was that our room wasn't around a sewer which I found strange. Did she not understand that sewer gas comes into the room from the plumbing? I do hope they have looked into it or all the other "terrific and greats" reported here will start to change. I would recommend before taking a room - ask to smell it.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. If you have trouble with stairs, ask for a ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher L, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We appreciate all feedback, even those comments that are not the usual compliments. As we indicated at the front desk, the smell was not a sewerage problem. To be certain, we removed the room from service and perform a full inspection and deep cleaning. Feel free to contact me directly at the hotel, if we can be of further assistance. Maybe we can entice you to return and try out this room or one of our other great lodging choices.

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice clean tidy hotel to spend a couple of nights had a microwave and fridge which was a nice touch. Room had two double beds , tea and coffee facilities. Staff very friendly, happy hour in bar great atmosphere. The breakfast was fantastic cooked to order, evening meals also fantastic and good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 19551 Hess Avenue, Sonora, CA 95370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Sonora, California hotel conveniently located in the heart of Gold Country. Those in need of Yosemite lodging will not be disappointed at the Best Western Sonora Oaks! Guests will be a short distance from many landmarks and attractions, including the Sierra Railroad, Columbia State Park and Yosemite National Park. Guests will also be near Dodge Ridge Ski Area, Leland Snow Park and we are the closest hotel to Black Oak Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel Sonora
Sonora Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.