We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel at a very comfortable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19551 Hess Avenue, Sonora, CA 95370   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel at a very comfortable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We paid $107 a night -- including breakfast for two -- at this very appealing hotel. The rooms are fairly standard, but quite comfortable and well-planned. The building is attractive and modern but well-suited to the rustic area. The breakfast was much better than the "Continental" fare one sometimes gets in this price range. The service in both the hotel and the restaurant was exceptionally friendly and efficient. I doubt you will do better in the area, especially for the price.

Room Tip: All the rooms would appear to be quite similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. You have described our hotel very well in just a few words. Our team will love to read your comments; we print and share all reviews! Our rates vary with the seasons. They can be higher and lower than your example, depending when you make your reservations. I would suggest earlier than later, in any case.

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    227
    58
    14
    2
See reviews for
194
225
14
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
novato, ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a nice stay here....the bed was comfy and we had a glass sliding door which led to a patio which was just perfect since we had our dog with us....the reception was very accommodating about everything and gave us treats and toys for our pooch. Breakfast was included next door at the pine cone restaurant. A nice place and a nice price .

Room Tip: We really liked the rooms that face the pool area....patio door and your own patio to sit outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are pleased that your loyal pooch liked our hotel and brought you along for the trip. We also have little pet gifts for our canine friends. Currently we are provided a Doggie Bowl and snacks.
You are correct, this time of year the pool rooms are wonderful, overlooking the park-like setting.
I like that comment “A nice place and a nice price…”

Christopher Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Check in was smooth and the staff was pleasant and engaged.
Rooms were clean, neat and were well presented.
Presence of a fridge and microwave was very convenient.
Hotel grounds were well lit and hotel appearance was good.
We only ate breakfast at the Pinetree restaruant but food was good and not expensive.

For the price i found this motel to be an excellent value and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel was on other side of town from main street. You will need to drive approx 15 minutes. Spa and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The rooms are clean, spacious and very quiet. I have found the office staff to be very courteous and helpful. I think it is a little pricey for the area, probably due to the proximity to Yosemite. The adjacent cafe is very convenient, there is room service which is nice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer additions are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife, dog and I stayed at the Sonora Best Western plus for two nights, February 14th and 15th and really enjoyed our time there.

We went to the hills partially to celebrate Valentines Day. Also to just get out in the woods and recharge our batteries. Our visit to the SBW+ did just that.

From the time we checked in the hotel clerk, Kathy?, made me feel as though we'd come to stay with cousins in the mountain for a couple of nights. Meaning at a comfortable home away from home. Whenever I needed additional help from them, the maids and hotel restaurant staff were all so nice. More family than clerks.

We stayed on the ground floor towards the middle of the property. Specifically room #116. We loved the expansive grounds. With the various grassy spots and trees it was nice for both pooch and people to walk around.

The room was well appointed and offers a sliding glass door to a patio area. Thus allowing fresh air in your room. TV seemed large though we didn't turn it on. Refrigerator comes in handy to store chow for your trip or leftovers from the great restaurant.

Down sides to the room were: (a) The bed lacks good support (b) The AC comes on a bit loud in the middle of the night. Also if you have a ground floor room it can be noisy outside your door in the a.m. Reason being some folks use the SBW+ as a through-way place by some folks going to the Sierras. They tend to get up early, load up their cars and leave.

Kathy at the front desk pointed out the noise factor can be avoided by either taking an inside room or one of the rooms by the conference center in the back part of the property.

Their restaurant on site was nice but we wanted to try some other places in the town of Sonora. Kathy's suggestions were good for places in town. Just be sure to make reservations or get to town early as the restaurants fill up fast.

The breakfast provided at the SBW+ restaurant tasted great, was filling and made the stay an excellent value. I enjoyed, eggs, bacon, oatmeal and a waffle . . . um I was hungry.

In terms of what we did or to do if you're interested in the out of doors I'd do two things. When I offer these keep in mind my wife and I are north of 50 and in so so shape. So these are easy things to do.

First; Go hike through Red Hills BLM land near Chinese Camp. It's about 20 minutes south east from the property. Nice terrain, easy hike on a fire road, nice stream running along side with a small waterfall about 30 minutes up the trail. Though be sure to go early in the morning if it will be warm that day.

Second: On the same day we traveled North East on 108 to Pine Crest lake in the afternoon and hiked around there a bit. Very different from Red Hills in terms of geography.

For other things to do I'd highly recommend you check in at the Stanislaus National Forrest Headquarters building. It's about 10 minutes west from the hotel. They are open M-F. There you'll find maps, free information, guide books, pins and trinkets to buy if ya need them and great counter staff.

Summary

The Sonora Best Western and conference center offers good comfortable rooms, with excellent food on the property. All of the staff from the ground up are there to please the guests and seem as though they really like what they do. They seemed more family than employees doing a job.

This hotel and it's location serve as a great base camp for a simple 'get out there' couple of days spent in the lower Sierra mountains.

We'll be back for sure.

Peace, Woof & God Bless

Scott R. Kirkman

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good place to stay and we stay here any time we visit the area. Parking is easy, room is comfortable. Pool/spa are nice, but on this visit they were closed for us (sign said closed for maintenance through march xx 2013; check w/ hotel if this is important to you).

Room Tip: You can get a "garden" room further away from pool, or a room near pool.... choose based o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The snow park package that was offered was a good value. We enjoyed the short drive up the mtn. to the snow park. Being able to buy the tickets at the hotel saved us time once we arrived at the snow park. The ticket price included a full lunch and hot chocolate at the end of the day. Also, having a full breakfast each morning in the coffee shop next door to the hotel was again a good use of money spent on the package. This is a great value for families looking for a fun snow trip that doesn't cost an arm & a leg!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 19551 Hess Avenue, Sonora, CA 95370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Sonora, California hotel conveniently located in the heart of Gold Country. Those in need of Yosemite lodging will not be disappointed at the Best Western Sonora Oaks! Guests will be a short distance from many landmarks and attractions, including the Sierra Railroad, Columbia State Park and Yosemite National Park. Guests will also be near Dodge Ridge Ski Area, Leland Snow Park and we are the closest hotel to Black Oak Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel Sonora
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel And Conference Center
Sonora Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.