We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aladdin Motor Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aladdin Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aladdin Motor Inn to your Saves list
Aladdin Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14260 Mono Way, Sonora, CA 95370   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Deerlijk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Aladdin Motor Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Arrival rather unsuccessful: our reservation made half a year ago was not in the system (blame it on the computer) and the non-smoking room had a strong tobacco smell. The lady at the front desk solved both problems successfully and with a smile: good job!
New room clean, quiet and comfortable.
Breakfast rather basic.
Motel has a nice clean pool.
In general: this motel is OK

Room Tip: For those who don't like carrying baggage upstairs: ask for a room on the ground level, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
25
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Vagabond while traveling to Yosemite. Our stay here was fantastic! The pool was wonderful after traveling all day, the room was clean, and the staff very accommodating. The beds were very comfortable. Although I'll admit I was slightly disappointed in the selection of healthier options, breakfast was very adequate. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we are traveling in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

DH and I spent two nights here recently, one in each direction of our trip to Mammoth Lakes. We were in the same room, 227. It is on the back side of the hotel. Really liked that it had a frig and mw, and was near the stairs. Check in and out were easy and quick. The breakfast was nothing special but hit the spot.

Took awhile for the AC to crank up and while it helped create white noise, alas it didn't drown out the harleys on our first night several doors away who thought we all wanted to hear them, or the shower next door.

We would stay here again. It is well priced, clean and in the right spot. I agree with a previous reviewer in that the hotel isn't anywhere near downtown. After seeing how crazy downtown was after visiting Columbia SHP, we opted to get food at the Save Mart and cook in both nights.

The bed was good and the tv had lots of stations to choose from.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Stay on the first floor if you can't carry luggage while climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place was clean, the staff was friendly and they have a hot tub!
The price was right and we were only staying one night in Sonora. I would stay here again if I had anything to do in Sonora.
We asked the woman at the front desk what we should do while in town and she gave us a great list of places to eat and weird bars to check out. They also have breakfast in the morning. It was perfect.
While driving to the place, I was a little suspect. It seems to be kind off the main drag in town, but it ended up being ok. The layout of Sonora is a little weird. It's not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place has a great customer service. The clerks -Donna & Mona- are so friendly, they do make me feel special. The rooms are comfortable and clean restrooms. I'll definitely stay @ Aladdin's on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had been to Sonora previously and noticed the Aladdin and we vowed to stay here on our next foray to this area. We came in Feb 2013 and stayed three days. Excellent rate offered during our stay and we weren't disappointed.
Room was large, and clean. Bed/pillows comfortable. Bathroom was clean and spacious, although we had to ask for additional towels as room was only outfitted for towels for one when we arrived.
Check in was fast and easy, as was check out. Daily room service was good and prompt, so be sure to use your "do not disturb" placard if you don't want that early morning rap on your door.
We used the heater occasionally while we were here and it worked fine, not overly loud, but it drown out any outside noise there might have been.
We never were able to partake of the offered free breakfast as we had plans elsewhere that provided it so cannot comment on it.
Have no complaints about this place and would stay here again as its clean, priced right, and a value for your buck IMO. However, it is a couple of miles from downtown Sonora so you won't be able to walk downtown on a leisurely stroll to visit or dine in town, but it is a nice drive and takes a few minutes to downtown so no harm done. I would recommend this place when in the Sonora Gold Country.

Room Tip: for the quieter locations I would recommend requesting a room on the backside of the property, away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been coming here for four years and this place has consistently met our need in a motel. We just stayed here again last weekend with some friends. We first stumble upon this motel on our way to Bear Valley. We found that this place has a very reasonable price, their rooms are clean and in very good condition, the beds and pillows are comfortable, the sheets and towels are clean and has good quality. Their rooms are quiet too. The airconditioner/heater is not noisy. I remember staying at another Inn closer to Dodge Ridge in the past and it was horrible because the airconditioner/heater was so loud that we hardly slept and there was no free breakfast. Not at Aladdin. We slept really well during our stay. The only time we ever had a problem at Aladdin is when we had Big Foot staying above us last weekend. The guests above us woke us up at 4:30 am. We heard loud stomping. We called the front desk and the receptionist was very attentive and took care of the problem immediately. The free continental breakfast is very good too. They have bagels, waffles, fresh fruits, cereal, etc. Breakfast start at 5am to 10am. It's nice when you;re in a hurry in the morning to get your skiing started. I'm really pleased with this place and I highly recommend it.

Because of the friendly evening staff of Aladdin, we discovered Dodge Ridge ski resort and Black Oak Casino. We do not gamble but the casino has a good buffet restaurant, an upscale restaurant on the third floor and also a bowling alley and sports bar on the first floor. It's always fun visiting the only game in town after skiing. Dodge Ridge is a middle ground kind of ski resort. It's not small like Badger Pass but it's no Heavenly or Squaw. It's decent, it has some pretty good elevation, it's cheaper and it's a closer driving distance from the Bay Area than going to Tahoe. The staff are very fun and friendly too.

Tip: Aladdin Motor Inn gives discounts to guests that are staying to go to Dodge Ridge
Another Tip: Buy your ski lift tickets at Lucky's store, they're cheaper

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aladdin Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aladdin Motor Inn

Address: 14260 Mono Way, Sonora, CA 95370
Location: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aladdin Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aladdin Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aladdin Motor Hotel Sonora
Aladdin Hotel Sonora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aladdin Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.