We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better restaurant in Sonora” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emberz

Emberz
177 South Washington Street, Sonora, CA 95370
(209)532-2272
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 74 Restaurants in Sonora
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Taipei
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurant in Sonora”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Food quality is very good. Try their variety of fries. You can split the order to try 2 different styles.

Price is reasonable.

Located in downtown.

In a historical building with cool features.

Food quality is good. Better than many big cities american food restaurant

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good drinks, food inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been to Emberz 3 or 4 times now and although I enjoyed the drinks, the food hasn't wowed me. The first trip it was great, but the following times it failed to make me want to go back again. If the consistency came together better, this would be a nice place to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, noisy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have been here for dinner twice. My sister and her husband have been to Emberz about five times. We all agree, the food is delicious, the service is good, but the brick walls, hard floors etc cause the noise level to be quite high. Just don't go there to have a quiet romantic dinner. Just go to enjoy some very tasty meals with a friendly and efficient wait staff.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Creme Brulee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

embers has a good stone oven pizza and their Creme Brulee is delicious!! Late night good place to go, noisy in the front quiet in the back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips, very good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We were hungry. This restaurant was on the list so we went. I asked our server for her favorite - she recommended the fish and chips. My wife ordered a pizza with sausage and parmesan. Both were very good. The fish was light had a great tasting beer batter. The pizza was great and again later cold (we could not eat both). Good service good atmosphere and good price. We would certainly come back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emberz also viewed

 

Been to Emberz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emberz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.