We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food and way over priced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Garden Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hong Kong Garden Restaurant
267 South Washington Street, Sonora, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 74 Restaurants in Sonora
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Sonora, California
1 review
“Terrible food and way over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am usually too lazy to write anything. This time I feel obligated to tell the truth about the place.

They charged me $38 plus tax for a dish that is not on menu. I was shocked for what I saw.

I would give 0 star I I could. A very unhappy customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“highly recommanded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Very good food and friendly service! They also give out free soups and appetizers !! Lovely people! Everybody should go

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
“DO NOT EAT HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The service was terrible but the food was much worse than that. Save your money,time, and stomach... WALKING AWAY.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I love the food and the personal service. It is a family business and they make you feel like you are part of the family!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“horrible chinese restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is not the Chinese restaurant you would want to go to if you know real good Chinese food. Its
very oily. Their shrimp fried rice is all soy sauce with small shrimps. I had the shrimp with vegetables, it was awful......... I know I will never go back to this restaurant.........

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.