We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love big breakfasts from scratch, this is you place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
201 W Napa St, Ste 34, Sonoma, CA 95476-6621
707-935-6800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 107 Restaurants in Sonoma
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Albany, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you love big breakfasts from scratch, this is you place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Virtually everything is made from scratch here and is awesome. Even their coffee, in huge mugs, is as good as any expensive coffee house. If you love big, hearty breakfasts, this is a place not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    62
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great diner for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Had a huge breakfast here while in town for vacation. Food was so good and you get a lot of it! All the bear stuff was cute, too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ate breakfast here 2 days and it is great! The restaurant is so cute with all the bear memorabilia and the food is very large in portion and tastes great. Try the eggs Benedict they are out of this world.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We came here from our trip up north from L.A.

As you can imagine, we were starved.

The breakfast we had was large and we forced ourselves to finish it.

However, the breakfast did take 25 minutes to come so one less star but it was busy.

We will be coming back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Not bad, first experience better than second.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a heck of a time finding breakfast on the weekdays in Sonoma. This was across the street from the hotel and easy access made it where we went for eggs twice during our visit. The first visit was OK food wise and great service wise. The favorite in the group was the eggs benedict, the other eggs were cooked a little dry. The second visit, the food was better and the service was iffy. The food improved because we knew to order items a little "wet" but the waitress was bordeline unfriendly and we were seated at an out of the way table with flies. We'd probably get off our duffs and head to McDs next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.