We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My friend was getting married nearby and I needed a place to stay in Sonoma for the weekend. The hotel is in a very convenient location and I believe its an execllent deal/good value given its central location. I found my room to be clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was relatively small, but it was also clean and the shower had good water pressure. The front desk staff were helpful and provided me with easy-to-follow directions. Having also looked into staying at other competitors in the area, I have no regrets that I ultimately chose to stay here. I would not recommend staying here as part of a lengthy vacation spent visiting the local vineyards, but if you're coming into town for a wedding and want an affordable play to stay the weekend, this Best Western is a fine choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear AndyS256,
Thank you for your kind review.
I am delighted to hear that my front desk staff was helpful and friendly. We strive to provide a wonderful experience for our guests. I am happy to hear that our rooms were comfortable. Sonoma is a wonderful town to visit, and we are so lucky to be centrally located just one block from the Historic Sonoma Plaza.
Thank you again for taking the time to write this kind review.
We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    229
    77
    31
    20
See reviews for
96
300
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is not a very fancy-looking hotel, but it was turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. My daughter had stayed there and had highly recommended it, and I can see why. The rooms are nice, very clean and the courtyard/pool area is lovely. Breakfast is satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Jennifer B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our property.
We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and our public areas. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here. I hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Sonoma Valley Inn is NOT a high priced luxury hotel. What it is a very nice, clean and very comfortable hotel in a great location. Rooms are good sized and the beds and linens very nice and fresh. The staff is friendly and helpful and you can't beat the location right off the Plaza. You could easily spend twice as much and not do better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Calistoga Grower,
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy our hotel and it amenities. I am also pleased to hear that you found us to be a great value and a great location. We are fortunate to be located so close to the Sonoma Plaza.
I truly hope you will stay with us again
Best Regards
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel needs some updating. It is clean, but old and tired. The staff is very nice and accommodating and breakfast is available; if not overly innovative, it fills you up. The great thing is that is basically 2 blocks from the square and very convenient to eating and wineries tasting rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Gail P,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know what their experience was. We are actually currently in the process of updating our rooms now by installing new granite countertops, sinks and cabinets in all of our bathrooms as well as new carpeting. We are always looking at ways that we can improve the breakfast and will also be adding fresh oatmeal and cut fruit to the menu.
I sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again should you return to Sonoma.
Best Regards
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I took advantage of a great groupon deal $179 for two nights in a garden room with patio plus daily breakfast and 5 VIP wine-tastings at the Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn. What a great place! Just about an hour out of Sacramento, we headed to the beautiful Sonoma wine country. We arrived on a Tuesday - it was nice and quiet, although the hotel was full. We were given exactly what was shown and we were not disappointed. The room entrances all face the parking lot, although they have ample over-flow parking, and they have handicap parking in front of the rooms. No worrying about walking too far anyhow. Walked into the room and it was quite large. We had the two queens. The vanity/fridge area is just as you walk in to the right - large mirror, one sink, but off to the right so plenty of counter room for your things. The bathroom was large - with full tub/shower. Frosted window for extra light and privacy; heat lamp on timer. Flat screen TV with free cable/HBO; FREE refrigerator - loved that! Nice desk area - FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET - loved that! Private patio (we had the ground floor facing the pool. Just open the gate and take a dip in their clean, heated pool. Next to the pool is a beautiful hot tub with a nice canopy cover - large. Beyond that is a beautiful courtyard with tables/chairs, beautiful fountain, and portable fireplace which is lit in the evening. Great place to have wine and snacks, or bring your breakfast if you choose. COMPLIMENTARY Iced Tea, Iced water (with lemons/cucumber), coffee, tea, hot cocoa in the lobby. WHOLE FOODS MARKET right across the street! Heaven! off the overflow parking lot was their meeting center and each morning between 7-10 breakfast is served. Cereals (instant oatmeal, Special K, Raisin Bran, Cheerios, and Whole Foods' granola; assorted yogurts; oranges, apples, milk, coffee, tea; half-half, assorted creamers; scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage; breads, english muffins, bagles and a toaster to toast them; Assorted Whole Foods' Market danish and muffins. Nice area to sit and eat, or you can load up your tray and return to your room, and take extras for later! Back to the room - the beds were comfortable - pillows perfect; Chairs and table you can move around the room for your convenience. Comfy chairs and table on the patio that you can move around, as well. Just a really nice place to come back to at the end of the day of walking, shopping, hiking (yes - take the Sonoma Overlook Trail - breathtaking!) and wine-tasting - IN ABUNDANCE! We were given passes to Cline, Jacuzzi, Mayo and St. Francis and Kenwood. Great deals - but there are plenty of other places you can go that are listed in Wine Country This Week magazine, that we picked up at the hotel, which offers additional wine tasting deals in Napa and Sonoma - check the ads as they probably change. Don't ignore what is offered around the plaza, as well.

Room Tip: The ground rooms are so convenient, especially if you like to step out for a quick dip in the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear ucdmom,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. The Groupon Promotion was a really great deal and gave us an amazing opportunity to share our property with even more guests.
I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, our courtyard and all of the other amenities we offer. We really enjoy being a part of our charming little town and hope offer our guests a welcoming, fun and relaxing Sonoma experience. I am very proud of our hotel and the staff here and reading your review makes me feel like we are doing something right!
I look forward to having you as our guest again!
Best Regards
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We've been traveling to this Best Western for upwards of twenty years and have always been delighted with our stay. The staff is warm and welcoming and ready to respond to any request. Rooms are adequate with a fridge, TV, and many with fireplaces and porches/balconies. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing, and location - who could ask for closer to the Square? You'll never regret a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Native 54,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so fortunate to have such a loyal long time guest like you. It feels like welcoming back a friend with every stay. Some of our staff has been here for upwards of 15 years and really look forward to seeing guests like you that have been with us through the years.
We are very fortunate for our location and have grown and changed over the years as I’m sure you have seen. I hope that you will enjoy seeing some of the changes and upgrades we are implementing. Please contact me directly to make your reservations when you return again


Warmest Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

the comp internet use and printer usage was extremely helpful when a problem arose and we needed to print important documents. the kind staff assisted us with our needs and were especially kind about it even at 11pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear JennieC,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am so glad that everything worked so well for you and that our staff was able to help you. I hope that if you return to Sonoma again you will consider staying with us.

Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.