We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good rooms, good pool, nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, United States
1 review
“Good location, good rooms, good pool, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was a last-minute decision to visit Sonoma so there was little choice of where to stay. I thought the hotel was pricey for a mid-week night. However, having said that, the location was great & all staff were efficient, friendly & helpful. The room was a really good size, nicely furnished & very comfortable. It even had a fireplace, which we used. Our request for a quiet room was met, despite the hotel being busy. The bed was very comfy. Good bathroom too. Breakfast was better than average, with plenty of choice. There was plenty of parking. The pool was small but clean & heated to a nice temperature. Would definitely return here if we visit Sonoma again. We were so very glad we stayed here & not in one of the historic hotels in the plaza, which we saw as we strolled around the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Deeba A,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a delightful review of our property. I am happy to hear that you like your room and that your request for a quiet location was met. We make every attempt to ensure a comfortable experience for all of our guests.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, as we offer many choices for all of our guests. Thank you again for your wonderful review of your experience while staying with us. We value our return customers and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    300
    94
    34
    23
See reviews for
124
374
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed four days at this hotel. Hotel is conveniently located to the town square and many restaurants. Whole Foods and CVS is located across the street from the hotel when restaurant food becomes tedious. Friendly efficient staff. Parking spaces are wide enough for most vehicles and keep you from banging your car door on the next car. Free washers and dryers. However, the continental breakfasts are boring. The free cardboard waffles/pancakes, bulk cereals and fatty muffins make you visit local restaurants. You would think Best Western would come up with new menu items. However, would stay at this hotel again when in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor for a quitter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Nevermind2,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at our property. Your input is valuable to us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property and that our staff was efficient. Our customer’s experiences and interactions with our guests are very important.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast. We try to offer a large variety of items including fresh fruit, gluten free options, eggs and oatmeal to name a few. I apologize that you did not like what was offered but we hope to see you here again soon. We value our return guests and would love to have you stay here on your next trip to the wine country. Thank you again for your review.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you don’t mind plastic cups and packaged breakfast this hotel has a great location and nice rooms. However for a pricetag of 200+ usd we expect something more. We did arrive after 10pm, there were not many rooms left in town and the room was larger than most… but still. The service in the reception were very nice – service at breakfast not existing. The location is convenient in the middle of Sonoma city (do not expect views of the wine). We recommend restaurant Della Santina’s Trattoria. Free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Tina P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. I am happy to hear that the room was large, the location was convenient and my staff was pleasant. I am sorry to hear that you felt the breakfast was packages, as we receive fresh pastries, fruit and we have a pancake maker that cooks pancakes right in front of you. I am very sorry to hear that the breakfast staff was not present. We are in the process of training our breakfast staff and I hope that you will consider staying with us again. We strive to give our guests an excellent experience and we value your feedback.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our 3rd stay in four years. In discussing the deterioration of the hotel, I said to my wife it had been two years and she replied "they haven't cleaned it since then". The public walkways were grimy, the carpeting was beat, the bed sagged in the middle, the room was in need of paint and general repair.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Gary B,
I am very sorry that you felt this way about our property. We are in the process of replacing the carpeting and bedding. I am sorry to hear that you encountered this problem and it will be handled immediately. Could you please contact me directly so that we can address this particular room? You can email me at kendall@sonomavalleyinn.com. We hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and I would appreciate any feedback that you will share with me.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful and it is well-located for a very short walk into the heart of Sonoma's town square.

However, the nightly rates are outrageous for what are pretty basic amenities. Some rooms are quite dark and haven't been updated in a long time. We were put in an accessible room, so the bar in the closet was too low to hang up a dress, which, since we were here for a wedding, was a problem. They could put a second bar or hook in the closet or something but no one has thought through these details, which is shocking at $400/night (AAA rate). I would also not expect to see dry rot in the bathroom.

I had requested a quiet room and we were placed downstairs near the staircase - pretty much the opposite. While other guests were quite polite, there's very little soundproofing from upstairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear jessbess1,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful.
I am sorry to hear that you felt that the rates were high. We go through our rooms consistently and update them. The brightness is our rooms may vary depending on the location, which is inevitable and uncontrollable. Our accessible rooms have certain guidelines that we must adhere to. I am sorry that you had these issues in your room and in the future we encourage our guests to contact the front desk immediately. We would have been happy to move you to a room that is in an area that receives more light that is not an accessible room as availability allows. We want to satisfy all of our guests; however we must be made aware of these situations.
As for the issue that you encountered in your bathroom; could you please contact me at your convenience to give me the exact room number. It appears that this room needs attention immediately and we will also be inspecting these rooms to fix the problem right away.
The accessible rooms are located in one area of the building, which is why you were located where you were. Again, we encourage our guests to contact the front desk with any issues as we will do everything possible to accommodate your requests.
Thank you again for your review.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Arrived late and had to leave early - wish we could have stayed longer! The location is good - just a short walk to Sonoma Square, with its quaint shops and restaurants. Check-in staff were helpful, but didn't have much info on the wineries - there was a free wine tasting at the hotel the evening we were there - which was much appreciated!
Nice pool area which was perfect for a dip in the evening - and Wholefoods just across the street - to stock up on nibbles and wine which we enjoyed on our balcony.
The rooms were fine - a bit dated, especially the bathroom and sink area (which was just inside the room door?!) - and breakfast was standard fare, but pretty good. We didn't find the walk to the function room at the back of the hotel annoying - despite the large amount of complaints about it on here.
A good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear ni_traveller74,
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am happy to hear that our location worked well for you and that you enjoyed our pool area.
I am glad to hear that the front desk staff was helpful, but I am sorry to hear that they were unable to help you with wine tasting information as they are all very knowledgeable about local wineries. We update our rooms often, so I am sorry to hear that you felt that the rooms were dated. We strive to offer beautiful rooms to our guests. If you have any suggestions feel free to contact me anytime. I would be happy to hear any of your suggestions.
I am glad to hear that the location of the breakfast was not inconvenient for you that our breakfast worked well for you.
I am happy to heat that you enjoyed your time here and we hope that you will stay with us soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The best room of our trip, for a treat stay in the suite located at the back of the property. Private balcony, jacuzzi tub, 2 television sets. complimentary bottle of wine and fireplace. Nice any time of year. Excellent free breakfast.

Room Tip: go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear ronald f,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review of our property. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Suite and our breakfast. I hope that in the future you will stay with us again soon. Thank you again for reviewing our property.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.