We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
northern ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fab location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Arrived late and had to leave early - wish we could have stayed longer! The location is good - just a short walk to Sonoma Square, with its quaint shops and restaurants. Check-in staff were helpful, but didn't have much info on the wineries - there was a free wine tasting at the hotel the evening we were there - which was much appreciated!
Nice pool area which was perfect for a dip in the evening - and Wholefoods just across the street - to stock up on nibbles and wine which we enjoyed on our balcony.
The rooms were fine - a bit dated, especially the bathroom and sink area (which was just inside the room door?!) - and breakfast was standard fare, but pretty good. We didn't find the walk to the function room at the back of the hotel annoying - despite the large amount of complaints about it on here.
A good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear ni_traveller74,
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am happy to hear that our location worked well for you and that you enjoyed our pool area.
I am glad to hear that the front desk staff was helpful, but I am sorry to hear that they were unable to help you with wine tasting information as they are all very knowledgeable about local wineries. We update our rooms often, so I am sorry to hear that you felt that the rooms were dated. We strive to offer beautiful rooms to our guests. If you have any suggestions feel free to contact me anytime. I would be happy to hear any of your suggestions.
I am glad to hear that the location of the breakfast was not inconvenient for you that our breakfast worked well for you.
I am happy to heat that you enjoyed your time here and we hope that you will stay with us soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    244
    81
    32
    22
See reviews for
103
315
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The best room of our trip, for a treat stay in the suite located at the back of the property. Private balcony, jacuzzi tub, 2 television sets. complimentary bottle of wine and fireplace. Nice any time of year. Excellent free breakfast.

Room Tip: go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear ronald f,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review of our property. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Suite and our breakfast. I hope that in the future you will stay with us again soon. Thank you again for reviewing our property.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only stayed here one night but wished we had stayed longer. The location was wonderful with walking distance to the town square. The staff was helpful especially Lacy and the breakfast very adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We decided to stay an extra night almost as soon as we arrived. Ours was a charming retreat. Each room has a comfortable private balcony area that is adjacent to the pool, hot tub and common area. We even sat by the fire and had a great conversation with some of the other guests one evening.

It is also a great location in Sonoma. We were able to walk to the town square for dinner each night. There are some great choices. The hotel is also across from a Whole Foods.

The room was adequate and clean. The bed was comfortable and there was a fireplace but we didn't attempt the fire :) . Breakfast was provided -- basic but it included hot foods and lots of room to sit.

I do wonder if it was a bit pricey but I can see why they can charge what they do. I would definitely recommend it and stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the pool -- but think about asking to be just to the side of it as it could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Chris W,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that you liked your room and our garden patio. The fire pit in the courtyard is cozy and relaxing, and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it.
I am glad that our location was convenient and that our breakfast worked well for you. I am sorry to hear that you encountered noise at the pool area during your stay. We always encourage our guests to contact the front desk if there are any noise issues, as we want all of our guests to have an excellent stay.
Thank you again for taking the time review our property and we hope to have you here again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We got in late and we were on a girls trip to celebrate a birthday. My requests were met - I ordered a roll a way bed and was not charged for it! The reviews are pretty accurate. Good location, breakfast adequate, front desk very nice and speedy. Loved the real fireplace in the room. The room size was a surprise and delight. Too bad we only spend 1 night there.

downside - there is no elevator and we had to lug our luggage upstairs and since it was late at night we made a lot of noise, but tried to be quiet. There was not enough towels in the room.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor. there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear 808ulu,
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience that you had at our property. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you enjoyed your time here. It is very important to my staff and I that our guests have an outstanding experience.
I am sorry to hear that you had to take your luggage up the stairs. We would have been happy to have one of our Public Area Attendants deliver your luggage to your room for you. I am also sorry to hear that there were not enough towels in your room. We stock our rooms with enough towels for 2-3 people; however we are more than happy to deliver additional towels to your room for you any time. We hope that you will be able to stay with us in the future and please, do not hesitate to contact the front desk about requests. Thank you again for your kind review.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We understand this is Sonoma, but even at the high time, charning $400/night for this quality of a room is unacceptable. Also, we were on the 2nd floor in the corner with no balcony where all the other rooms on 2 had a balcony facing the pool. If there are no other options in town, drive the 14 miles and stay in Novato for 1/2 the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Michelle M,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you felt our rates are expensive. This is an extremely busy time for us in Sonoma and the rates of rooms in the town reflect that. We strive to offer our guests the best experience possible with our facility, location and staff interactions.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room. Unfortunately, not every room on the second (or first) floor has balconies. We have rooms with and without balconies and the rates for these rooms reflect this. Our Standard King rooms and our Fireplace King rooms do not have the patio or balconies, and the rates are lower for that reason. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and please note that the rooms with balconies are called Garden Rooms. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review about our property and have a wonderful day.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Location, location, location. Just a five minute walk and you were in a lovely town centre with lots of shopping and historic buildings. The hotel had plenty of parking and the 'Plus' breakfast included was very good. Our room was very clean and spacious and faced onto the courtyard/pool area. The pool was a little cold, but the spa tub was lovely. Nice area to sit outside of an evening with a glass of wine.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of heavy luggage, ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift and there are tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear vssh2,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our facility made for an outstanding experience. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and I am sorry to hear that you felt the pool was on the cold side. We keep it at a constant 81 degrees. We encourage our guests to inform us of any issues so we are able to address it promptly. We are happy to check the temperature any time as we strive to keep our guests happy and satisfied. We hope that you will stay with us again soon. We would love to have you. Thank you again for your kind review.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.