We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in an expensive place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good value in an expensive place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed three nights for a Sonoma getaway. Hotel is conveniently located near centre of town. Check in was quick and friendly, if perhaps a little too efficient. Rooms have to be accessed from outside, and once we found parking (it's a challenge) we did make the trek to the room okay. No elevators, and walkways are not fantastic.

Room was enormous, but dark. We had a king opening up to a small balcony pool-side. It was clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable, though could have used a newer set of bedding. This would be true of much in the room -- overused, hard-used, long-used. Carpet, furniture, and bedding all showed how busy the hotel is. At least, however, it was clean.

Didn't use our fireplace because we were warm enough with August heat. A/C unit was ancient but effective. Nice to have a patio door with screen. Would like to have been able to open bathroom window, too.

Complimentary breakfast required a hike back to "event centre" building each morning, but the hours were great (7-10am) and the food good enough to get by. Staff there worked hard to meet demand, but there are a lot of guests with a lot of demands. Free coffee and tea was also available in lobby. Two wineries showed up Friday evening for complimentary tastings, a nice touch in the courtyard. Appreciated the free wi-fi and local calls, too.

Pool is small but refreshing. Hot tub also available. The "fitness room" is a closet with very little equipment -- why bother, Best Western?!

Location, price, and space made the stay memorable -- we'll return.

Room Tip: Recommend main floor rooms, if you have a lot of luggage to bring in -- no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear McMarshal,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our property. I am glad you felt that our hotel was a good value. I am sorry that it was challenging for you to find parking. Unfortunately this can happen when we are sold out, however we have a large parking lot so this is not always a problem. I’m sorry for your concern about the sidewalks. If there was any particular location that should be addressed please feel free to contact me at kendall@sonmavalleyinn.com.
I’m glad that our rooms were spacious and I apologize that you felt that it was dark in the room. I also apologize that you felt that our room was overused. We go through our property yearly to update our rooms and perhaps this one needs attention. If you are able to email the room number that you stayed in I would be very grateful.
I’m glad that the breakfast met your needs and that our staff was accommodating. I apologize that we have a modest fitness room; however we are planning to upgrade it. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon and thank you for your review.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    261
    84
    34
    23
See reviews for
107
332
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County, USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The beds were comfortable and our second floor room was quiet when the doors were shut and the air conditioner is on. The room was on the large size. Smokers on balconeys and walkways are annoying but they have no where else to go. Only nine chairs by the pool and they seemed to be always in use during the hot spell. The best part about breakfast is it is free. The pancake machine fascinated me.I must be easily amused.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear City_Girls_CA,
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and found our beds comfortable. I want to apologize for the smokers in your area. This is a strictly non smoking property. In the future please feel free to contact the front desk so they are able to stop people from smoking immediately, as it is not allowed on our property. I am sorry that there was not enough seating in the pool area. We will address this situation as well. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and we hope that you will be able to come back again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location was excellent but the room was just so/so. There is a working fireplace in the room which was nice but made the room smell like smoke even without using the fire place. The pool area was nice, however I wish the fire pit was open a little later. The staff wasn't very friendly and I felt like the women at the front desk was a little snobby, but maybe she was just having a bad day. Staying close to the square was a plus and had a lot of great resturants and bars however I'm not sure I would stay at this property again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have heavy luggage make sure you stay on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Erika I,
Thank you for your honest review. I am glad that you liked the location of the hotel. However, I apologize that you did not enjoy the room. The fireplaces are a wonderful amenity, but I can see if you are not using it, it is not a value. For the future, we have rooms without fireplaces. These rooms are our Standard King rooms.
I am very sorry to hear that the customer service was poor and I want you to know that this is not a reflection of our standards or values. I apologize again and we hope that you will reconsider, and stay with us again. Thank you for your review.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for just one night. This is a motel style building with doors opening to the outside. There is an interior courtyard with a pool and you have a slider that opens up to a little balcony. Rooms were not new but in good condition. Room was clean. They provide the basic necessities. We noticed that the tissues were very rough and the "spa" toiletries must have come from a Wal-mart.

Location is just a block away from the Sonoma Plaza with a number of shops restaurants and some tourist attractions.

Breakfast was included in our package but it meets the bear minimum standard and so we went across the street for a big breakfast at the Black Bear Cafe. There are also a couple of options on the square for coffee and pastries.

Room had a HD tv, but only got a few HD channels. Free wi-fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Ed_Kal99,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you felt the amenities were poor quality. I have not heard this complaint in the past, so I thank you for bringing it to my attention and I will be looking into this. I’m glad that you felt that the rooms were clean, as we take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel. We also go through the property yearly to update room and keep them all in the best condition as possible.
I’m sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast that we offer. Feel free to contact me anytime with any suggests that you may have at Kendall@sonomavalleyinn.com. Thank you again for your review and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

For the price you won't find better value for your money. From the moment we arrived our experience could not have been better. The front desk staff checked us in quickly and with smiles. We came back multiple times during our two day stay with questions about restaurants, running paths and the need for a wine bottle opener. Each time they were quick to help, gave some great advice and even loaned us their bottle opener for a night.

The rooms are basic but they do include a mini fridge and safe. I recommend getting a room on the second floor because you'll have a beautiful view of the courtyard from your private deck. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck, reading a book and listening to the birds.

The continental breakfast is included in the price and although it isn't elaborate, what more than cereal, coffee, juice, fruit, bacon and pancakes do you need? It was strange that the breakfast area was in an entirely different building but this is a small property so that was probably the only place they could put it.

You are in easy walking distance to the downtown area with many boutiques and restaurants, plus several grocery stores are within 1 - 3 blocks. As an aside, don't go to Catalina's Skin & Body Salon - they were extremely rude to myself and my teenage daughter. The hotel staff did not recommend this salon, we just happened upon it.

After a day of visiting wineries where we picked up food from the deli and wine, we sat in the hotel courtyard and had a wonderful, peaceful meal. The courtyard in the middle of the hotel is like a sanctuary. It's beautiful, quiet and has every amenity - a fire pit, a fountain, picnic tables, benches, a pool, a jacuzzi and is alive with all kinds of plants and flowers.

And if this isn't enough, they also offer free WiFi. One small downside was the workout room which was cramped and ice cold. If you want exercise, go for a walk/run through the beautiful streets. We would absolutely go back!

Room Tip: The second level offers nice views of the courtyard but are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear RobinWW,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate the time that you that took to write this honest and detailed review of our property. I am so glad that you felt our staff delivered excellent customer service and helped you with all of your needs.
I am also happy to hear that you liked our breakfast. We strive to provide as many options as possible for our guests. I am so glad that you enjoyed our convenient location to the Historic Sonoma Plaza with shopping, dining and wine tasting. I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our blooming garden courtyard. I am sorry to hear that the workout room was cold and cramped. There is a heater in the room that is available for your future convenience.
Thank you again for your wonderful review. Your input and suggestions are not only helpful to other Trip Advisor viewers, but also beneficial to our hotel. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice place very central, some vineyards 5 mins away, hotel clean, friendly and close to everything you would need. Being in easy access to vineyards, and town square is perfect. Good size rooms and they have everything you need. Shopping centre across the road for any essentials you would like us handy. Would recommend this place to stay try for ground floor as easy access to car park and pool/outside area. A gem!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Brian T,
Thank you for your wonderful review. Our location, close to the plaza, vineyards, shopping and dining is perfect for our guests. We take pride in our property and ensure that our rooms and property are clean and well kept. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

There are lots of more upscale places in the Sonoma Valley than this, but if you're looking for value for your money within walking distance to the Plaza and a comfortable place to rest at night, this place is hard to beat. It even includes free laundry facilities, and while breakfast is nothing to write home about, it is included in the price. Rooms have a mini-frig, coffeemaker, and a safe.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear lisak12,
Thank you for your review. Our great location, just one block from the Historic Sonoma Plaza, is convenient and valuable to us and our guests. We strive to make our room welcoming and comfortable. Our free laundry facilities are a great amenity that we are happy to offer our guests. I am delighted to hear that you found our Inn comfortable and pleasant. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon. Thank you again for your review.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.