We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Needs Upgrades” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Needs Upgrades”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stay in the Sonoma Valley Inn while visiting family a few times per year. I enjoy it for its proximity to the downtown plaza, food market, its swimming pool and jacuzzi, and overall family friendly and relaxed atmosphere. It is getting a bit pricey for the quality. It would do well by its patrons to upgrade/replace worn and out-dated carpet, bedding and fixtures. Otherwise, the staff are always friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is average, but they do provide several options. Its a few notches better than average, but needs some TLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Truegirl88,
Thank you for your helpful review. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and public areas, as well as our family friendly atmosphere. We value the families that stay with us and we want you to feel welcome and comfortable.
I apologize that the carpets are outdated. We are in the process of having them replaced, along with the bedding. We hope that you are able to come back again soon to enjoy our updates. I am so glad to hear that our staff was accommodating. We take pride in our excellent customer service staff.
We attempt to offer as many options as possible for your continental breakfast. We have 20+ options to satisfy a wide range of guests needs. If you have any specific suggestions please feel free to contact me at kendall@sonomavalleyinn.com.
Thank you again for your thoughtful review.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    261
    84
    34
    23
See reviews for
107
332
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great property; walking distance to great dining and town square. Highly recommend this hotel and casual dinner at The Red Grape. Have stayed at this Best Western several times and will continue to when visiting the town of Sonoma.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our Sonoma and Napa vacation. The staff was very helpful and gave us free or 2 for 1 wine tasting passes each day. The hotel was spacious and had very comfortable beds, linens, lots of pillows and a nice fireplace with a fresh log each night. Plenty of towels in the rooms and pool area, we never had to ask for more. Hot tub was wonderful, especially at night, pool was closed. A outdoor fire area was nice and warm on a cool evening. Nice tables to sit and eat, drink wine and play cards. Ice tea and hot beverages always available. Continental breakfast was great and just what we needed to start our morning. Our room had a good size fridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Carolann D,
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip to our area. Our front desk staff is delighted to share any wine tasting coupons that we have with our guests. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the amenities in them.
I am also happy to hear that you spent time in our courtyard and pool area. We take pride in our public areas and are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoy their time in them. Thank you very much for your review and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great hotel for location and dog friendly. Nicely appointed rooms, ok public areas. Location is excellent and they are really doggy friendly. However, they are expensive, almost $500 incl all taxes, at that price if you do not have a dog then other options. Breakfast is dissapointing (for that money). But will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear JetlaggedAgain3000,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and our rooms. We also would like to thank you for brining your furry friend with you, as we love to have pets on our property! I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast. We attempt to offer a large variety of options for a wide variety of tastes and I am sorry that you were disappointed. I am glad to hear that you will be back again and we look forward to offering you the best experience possible! Thank you for your review.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was well furnished. But, too much money was spent on useless bed decoration in upholstered pillows and matching cover. Bed had a throw, blanket and VG sheets. There was a TV, fireplace, and airconditioner.
Unfortunately, the complimentary breakfast was laid out along 2 walls in a conference room in a separate building from the motel rooms. The layout of the self-serve breakfast was like a kid's summer camp. Very basic, no signs, huge round tables. Get your own cutlery, paper plates etc., self-serve coffee and all beverages, cold cereal, baked goods, eggs, cheese, yogurt. No provision for celiac/gluten intolerant guests. Getting to the breakfast requires a long 1 block walk through a parking lot. An even longer walk after eating.
I suggest they spend money on interior cafe, like the Best Western Plus Albercorn in Vancouver, BC Canada.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear comparisondiva,
I am glad that you enjoyed some of our amenities, and I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with others. We try to make every aspect of our property high quality, from our rooms to our service. We will be reviewing your suggestions, and again I apologize for your experience. I am also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our continental breakfast. We strive to provide the best breakfast environment possible in our mission style conference center. We do have gluten free options available upon request and we are happy to provide this addition, as we understand the importance of accommodating our guests needs. I apologize that you were not made aware of this. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or suggestions for our property at kendall@sonomavalleyinn.com. Thank you very much for your review.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The location for this hotel is optimal if you're staying in Sonoma. The room was great. We were traveling with 5 people and they were very accommodating with our requests. Get there early to find a good parking spot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were disappointed overall with this hotel because the experience could have been made so much better with a little effort. Our room was very spacious and superficially comfortable but there is a definite need for a bit of TLC and a pot of paint or two needed for this place. The complimentary breakfast was an insult - traipse across the car park to a help yourself buffet: make your own pancakes or waffles and then pretend you are staying in a tent or caravan and eat with plastic utensils and paper plates. A four star hotel - give me strength!! A complimentary breakfast - compliment certainly not taken! Complimentary bicycles would have been a better PR move.

It is not as if we paid $100 dollars or under for the dubious pleasure of this one-night stay either at which point I may have been a little less critical. I am prepared to outline that there were some good aspects to the stay. The location is fairly central to Sonoma, parking availability was good (and free!), rooms were spacious and clean, and the steam room and hot-tub were a nice little extra.

Sadly we would not stay here again and cannot recommend it to others based on our experiences. We stayed in both San Francisco and New York for cheaper and in hotels that took pride in service. We felt part of a conveyor belt - get them in, get the cash and get them out ready for the next lot - all very impersonal!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Doubleorquits,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Honest reviews on our property and services are critical in our improvement as a hotel, so we thank you for yours. I am very sorry to hear the issues that you encountered during your stay. I apologize for the condition of your room. We are consistently upgrading our rooms throughout the year. I’d like to get some more information about your particular experience so if you could email me at: kendall@sonomavalleyinn.com. I am also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast and would like to address that with you as well.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our property and the amenities that we offer. I look forward to hearing from you soon so we are able to address your particular issues and hopefully see you again. Thank you again for your review.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.