We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
Northern California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really nice Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked our room the night before we arrived. Would have gotten a nice price online, but ended up using BW points. The room was spacious, clean, had a fireplace, a small patio that opened out to the inner courtyard. It was quite peaceful. Loved having a fire pit for the evening in the courtyard. Location to Sonoma's square is very convenient, just around the block. Breakfast included waffles, fruit, breads, cereal, pastries, coffee, juices, hard boiled eggs.

Room Tip: I don't think second floor rooms had personal balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear djjazzytiff,
We are very happy that you were able to stay with us and thank you for being a Best Western Rewards® member. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. Our beautiful Garden Fireplace rooms have private patios, or private balconies complete with a fireplace and your choice of two queen beds or one king bed. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms. I am pleased to read that your time here was peaceful and relaxing, while spending time in our garden courtyard. Our location, just a block from the plaza is definitely convenient and I am glad that you were able to take advantage of this.
I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. We strive to provide a great variety of breakfast items to satisfy all of our guests. Thank you again for choosing us for your Sonoma getaway and we hope that you are able to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    228
    78
    31
    20
See reviews for
95
298
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This resort is a warm, hospitable, "home-away-from-home".

The rooms are VERY CLEAN as well as the property.

My only "Disappointment" is that there are NOT enough ice machines on the property. My room was in the front of the property, above the office. The ice machine is located in the back of the property. In order to pursue ice, one must go through a locked gate, take the stairs down, go across the pool/spa area, go through another locked gated, and walk around the main building to find "Ice/Vending". Then unlock that door. To return, one must go in reverse of the process.

I am NOT against the exercise; just the fact that such a nice resort SHOULD have more than one offerings of ice. Especially since this is such a popular establishment!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Samuel V,
Thank you for your kind review. We strive to give our guests the finest experience during their stay and we want you to feel at home and comfortable. We also do our upmost to provide a clean property, both inside our rooms and throughout our grounds.

I greatly apologize for the inconvenience of the location of the ice machines. I absolutely understand the incontinence that was caused by the location of your room in relation to the ice machine. If you are able to stay with us in the future and find yourself away from the ice machine, or anything else on our property, please call us at the front desk anytime. We are more than happy to have our friendly staff deliver ice, or anything else you may need within our capabilities. It is important to us that you have a comfortable and trouble-free stay while you are with us. We hope that you are able to stay with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our first trip to Wine country was greatly improved by this hotel. The staff was courteous and informative. Gave us coupons for several of the wineries. Our room had a patio that opened out to the courtyard. The pool was heated and the spa was wonderful. There is also a steam room. A log was supplied for the fireplace in our room. Breakfast was ample and there was fresh coffee in the office 24/7. Being located right in the center of town gave us many choices of where to eat. There are also many Tasting rooms wiathin walking distance. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor patio room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Patfra2,
We sincerely thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to read that your trip was enhanced by your stay with us. We take great pride in our entire property. We constantly upgrade our rooms and consistently add to our breakfast menu. Our Garden rooms have private patios and balconies as well as a cozy fireplace to give our guests the best experience possible. Our location is excellent and allows our guests to be within walking distance of the Sonoma Plaza, with unique shopping, gourmet dining and award winning wine tasting rooms. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a nice motel and is located very close the Square as others have mentioned. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was simple but good. The rooms were spacious and we had a fireplace in our room which was cool. Basic features other than that. Since this is a motel the entrance leads outside which resulted in some noise being heard with people rolling suitcases nearby or talking as they pas the room. Overall, it was great for us because we needed a place we could walk to get downtown and rest. Other than that we were on the go the whole time. It isn't a resort and for the price, you probably aren't expecting one. Would have given 3.5 rating if I could have done that. I would recommend if you need a no frills, nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear David W
I am glad that our location was convent and beneficial for you during your stay. We take pride in our staff and the hospitality we extend to our guests. We have updated and expanded our breakfast recently to include fresh waffles and pancakes, scrambled eggs, a variety of pastries and bagels, fresh fruits and an assortment of cereals and yogurts, among other things. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooms. The fireplaces are cozy and our rooms are spacious and updated. We sincerely apologize for the additional noise that you experienced during your stay and if you are able to stay with us in the future we are happy to put you in a room that may have less foot traffic from other guests. We hope that you are able to stay with us again in the future.
Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights this past week. We absolutely loved this hotel. We had just come from the 5 star Vintage Inn in Yountville so we were very happy that this was not too much of a down-grade. I give this hotel 5 stars for what it is and do not really compare it to the Vintage Inn.

This is an older Inn so you won't find granite or Spanish tile. If you are OK with that, then here is what you WILL get.

1. Location. Walk to restaurants and shopping
2. Extra Large room. We had a King with a wood-burning FP. Could be classified as a suite as we had a large sitting area
3. Private, covered Patio
4. 24 Hour Brewed Starbucks Coffee in cozy lobby
5. The Courtyard: 4 well maintained Teak Wood Tables, and additional cozy seating areas with waterfall. Tables have umbrellas
6. Very large 10 person jacuzzi. The Jacuzzi is covered
7. Steam Room
8. Swimming pool with Teak Wood Chaise Lounges, very comfortable. Not plastic.
9. Friendly Staff
10. Lush Foliage in the courtyard and covered walk-ways really added to the privacy and ambiance. The jasmine was in bloom.

We plan to come back every year and met numerous couples or "girls groups" who said they have been staying there for years and years.

Essentially, for a 3 star hotel, I give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: We loved 135. Main level near courtyard and coffee. You can park right out in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear 803Martha803,
Thank you for your delightful review. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and our property. We take great pride in the convenient location and our spacious Garden Rooms. The private patio that leads to our manicured garden courtyard, heated pool, Jacuzzi and steam room are both convenient and charming. I am pleased to hear that my staff was gracious and I hope that we were able to assist you with all of your needs and request while you were with us. We are very happy to have you again in the future. Thank you again for your wonderful review.


Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is easy to find, great location - easy walk to the Square. Rooms are spacious, beds are very comfortable. The rooms open out to a courtyard that includes a pool, hot tub, sitting area with a fire pit .. It's really very well done. Staff were very helpful, friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Bikes are available to rent on site .. And breakfast is included. Whole foods and CVS is across the street. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear JoAlberta,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very fortunate to be located so close to the Sonoma Plaza, making it very convenient for our guests to park and play! We strive to provide a good experience for our guests I very much hope that we will have an opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided for our one year anniversary that we would explore San Francisco.. We of course had to visit wine country! Upon our check-in, the day time staff was very accommodating. When we asked where to visit on our winery exploration, they were nothing but helpful and pleasant.
Our room was decent. For the rate in comparison to surrounding Sonoma hotels, it was our best bet. They were clean! We even upgraded to a King room with a fireplace.

Note: there is no elevator so carrying your bags up two flights of stairs is somewhat of a pain.

We decided to venture out to a neighboring restaurant early in the evening for a bite to eat and a couple of drinks. We returned to our hotel room about 10:30pm. The sign above the fireplace encourages patrons to utilize the one fire log you are given per day and that all you need to do is lite it.. You are directed to not touch anything, which we followed.

Well, about 2 hours later we were traumatically woken up to a smoke filled room and our phone ringing. The woman on the other end (Marggie) informed us that our fire alarm was going off. Why isn't there a fire alarm in the actual hotel room? Seems a little backwards to me.

After my husband opened the sliding door and aired out our room we notified Marggie that our room seemed ok and we retuned to sleep. It wasn't until an hour later that our room was so full of smoke that we both woke up coughing and choking. However, this time no one had called us to let us know our fire alarm was going off. We aren't sure if it was, because Marggie never called us back.

My husband called the front desk notifying her that someone needed to come to our room right away. As we rush around our room trying to pack our things a maintenance man arrives. He tells us we closed the "flu". No, sir we didn't. We followed the directions and didn't touch anything. So, did someone else close it before us? Housekeeping? Prior Guests that never used the fireplace? All we know is that we did not touch the flu.

We quickly arrived at the front desk, told Marggie we wanted our money back and that we would not be staying in the room she had offered us. Margie's disbelief in how our room became full of smoke was nothing less than disappointing. She began accusing us of being too drunk. Marggie, we had been sleeping for a couple of hours and had just awoken in a smoke filled room..twice. A tad traumatic. The fact that there is no one else working the front desk (no manager) was a hassle. Marggie quickly called the police, who moments later pulled us over, but due to that fact that we were not intoxicated, we were on our way back to San Fran only moments later.

All-in-all, what a terrible night and a terrible experience. My suggestion to you if you are visiting Sonoma is to spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else. It'll be worth it for better customer service and a nicer room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendallC929, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear KristenFischer6,
My most sincere apologies to you and your husband. The way this was handled is certainly not a good representation of our policies and procedures. I can assure you that this situation has been addressed with our night audit staff.
Unfortunately we are unable to refund an Expedia reservation but what we did do was inform Expedia of the situation and we did not charge for the second night stay. In turn, Expedia was able to refund you.
We do have smoke detectors in our rooms. I will have our Maintenance Engineer follow up to ensure this does not happen again.
I would very much like to discuss this with you further at your convenience. Please feel free to call (707-938-9200 ext 452) or email me (kendall@sonomavalleyinn.com).
Sincerely,
Kendall Comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.