We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Juno Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Best buy for the money Great location Staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. Ask for winery coupons and get the discounts. Buena Vista winery in Sonoma is one of the best Harvest moon cafe is great for dinner and Sunday brunch, Jen is the owner. Black Bear restuarant accross the street is terrible. Golden Hawk Cafe accross from BB restuarant has a GREAT breakfast and the scones are the best. Go down 4 blocks west to Sonoma Valley Market and it has a deli area that is much better than Whole foods.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    316
    95
    37
    24
See reviews for
136
396
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel. Perfect location. Everything was very clean and the people were all very nice. Two suggestions: Get better toliet paper. One ply and too rough. Lower your rates. The price was too high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a fancy Best Western. Our room has huge and the fire place had a real burner log that was perfect on a chilly night. We stayed at another BW like this in Healdsburg but the fireplace there was gas burning which was not as cool. The bed was huge and plush. The rooms have a nice boutique hotel feel despite it being a major chain. It is only a few blocks walk from the square and there is a nice Whole Foods across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The property itself may be a bit dated, but the attention the staff pays to the details makes up for it! From the tissues being fanned out in their box to the wonderfully welcoming front desk staff, the service here was nearly as good as the four-star big-name hotel we stayed at in the city a day prior.

No, there's no elevator; and no, there isn't a bellman waiting to call you a cab at the drop of a hat (and a hefty tip). But, when it's a cool and rainy winter NorCal day, and you have easy access to a spotless spa, heated pool & sauna, and a roaring fire to warm the chill after a quick winter dip in the pool, what more could you ask for?

The staff were incredibly accommodating, ensuring we had a room with a fireplace (even though we booked through Hotwire). They even dished about the latest local gossip with us when we mentioned we used to live in the area. The iced & hot tea & coffee available in the lobby at all hours were a nice touch.

The breakfast isn't anything to write home about; we skipped it after the first day as we could get fresh, reasonably priced exotic produce in East Bay asian markets that we can't come close to touching at home in Wisconsin. (Dragonfruit are seriously 10% of the price here as at home!) But, it's included, and the staff were attentive and welcoming.

Our one complaint about the room was that the chairs in front of the fireplace were more for show than for use. A big comfy chair to relax in at the end of the day would have been very appreciated.

Room Tip: If you plan to use the pool often, ask for a room with direct access. We felt a little guilty traips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very nice,large 2 queen room with log fireplace,balconyoverlooking very nice garden patio area. Large well done.Very clean carpet just cleaned. Up grade breakfast with waffels,pancakes hard boiled eggs,cereals,bagels,toast +. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rates with internet special was great. Super location 2 blocks from plaza and lots of restaurants and shops

Room Tip: Loved 2nd story balcony/fireplace room. Upgrade recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and comments. We greatly appreciate the opportunity to host your stay in Sonoma. Thank you for choosing the Sonoma Valley Inn. We hope to see you back again in the future.

All best,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived in town after a 5+ hour flight and an hour+ drive from San Fran to a very nice staff that was very helpful! We had never been to the area and had several questions about dining, etc. The front desk staff was very nice and answered all of our questions.

The room was almost right above their offices. It was a very spacious room, but had no fireplace. Not a huge deal, but I was disappointed. The room itself was clean and in good repair, but was dated. This didn't bother us, though. The shower had good pressure, the drain worked well and there was even a fridge in the unit! Given the class of hotel, this location was above average.

Downfalls? Breakfast is served in another building, a short walk away. Not ideal. Breakfast was average, but the area was clean. There are no elevators. That's not good if you are on the second floor like we were. The exercise room is terrible. A bike, a treadmill and a small weight machine are shoe horned into too small of a space. It's a complete after thought. While clean, it's not useful at all.

Upside? Clean, great service and centrally located. If you are okay with a no frills hotel that's clean and located in a great spot, this is it!!

Room Tip: Try the Black Bear Restaurant across the street for b-fast. There is a whole foods, CVS, etc. in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and input regarding your stay with us. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Standard Rooms. Most of our rooms do have fireplaces, but I don't know the circumstances of how you booked or what our occupancy was at time of your stay. Depending on the circumstances I wish we could have resolved that for you while you were here.

Your appreciation of the staff means a great deal to them, because they pride themselves on doing their best to make sure all our guests have a great time on their vacation.

All of your input regarding your stay, including breakfast, helps us to work harder to make ourselves better.

All best,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
551 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We returned again this year and were very pleased with our stay in a fireplace room. The only problem was our first night was a "no fires day" in California which meant no fireplace use allowed. So we pay extra for a fireplace we can't use. The front desk said sorry we can't do anything - it's the law. Maybe an extra log for the next day would have been nice. Otherwise a great stay, convenient to Sonoma Square with lots of good places to eat and shop. Nice hot tub, and great breakfast - have never seen a pancake machine on a continental breakfast. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us again and providing feedback on your stay. We understand how disappointing it was to our guests when the 'no burn' directives were imposed. We appreciate your input and will take it under consideration next time. The Winter Spare the Air Season ended yesterday. So glad that you enjoyed the pancake machine - we just got that a few months ago, so now our guests can make both pancakes and waffles.

Take care until next time,

Rose Doherty
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#11 of 11 in Sonoma
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd Street West, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.