We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Garden Inn

Victorian Garden Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian Garden Inn to your Saves list
Victorian Garden Inn
316 E. Napa St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We greatly enjoyed the Victorian Garden Inn. The room was comfortable. The full breakfast was superb. Fresh fruit and cookies are available throughout the day. Sherry is available in the afternoon and evening.

The inn is located a few blocks from the plaza, which made wine tasting and getting home very convenient.

We liked it so much, we plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great B&B. They serve an excellent breakfast. They gave the option to eat inside or in the lovely garden. The staff is excellent. We needed to leave the B&B about 6AM as we were running the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon and they offered to serve us breakfast when we returned from the run. We returned about 10AM which was after the normal breakfast hours. We enjoyed our breakfast and they did not rush us. We would be happy to return. Loved the location only a short walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a very lovely room on the 2nd floor. It was low season, so we had the house to ourselves. The breakfast was very good, with homemade preserves, and it was served by the pool, surrounded by fruit trees and a beautiful garden. At night, when we would be coming back from our outings around Sonoma square, we had drinks waiting in the living room, with some classical music on. Our stay was so «soothing», we were very much in need of a relaxing break, and this place was just perfect for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in the woodcutters cottage, the ambiance and staff were great. The breakfast was delivered to our room and was very nice. The problem is that on the last night of our stay some of our personal stuff (prescription medication that needed to be kept cool) was stolen from the communal fridge. This was a major concern and caused us quite a bit of grief. Due to this breach of security I would not stay at this location again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Victoria Garden Inn is aptly named so, because the garden does really take you back to the late 1800s. Recline with today's catch (read: wine, thats why you're here, isn't it!) while taking in the lovely flowers, or cool off in the pool.

Breakfast is served in your room, in the garden or inside, your choice. ITS BIG! And nicely varied with local produce.

Afternoon tea and sherry, I last had that in India back in 1993, but what a nice ritual, after a dusty day sightseeing the wineyards.

A quiet travel back in time, with a lovely setting, in walking distance of downtown Sonoma.

Only reason why I'm not on 5 stars is because of the price. The Inn is not cheap, but I think the place almost makes up for the cost.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, make sure to not book the "tower room". Its very lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quintainn, Manager at Victorian Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Uffe,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed our gardens and our location. Our number one goal is to make our guest have a unique experience in wine country and receive the best concierge services .

I have to agree with you that if you have any problems with stairs please don't book the upstairs rooms. We wouldn't want our guest to get hurt. We do have two other rooms that are located in the ground flood that are just as lovely as the Tower room.

I hope that if you are traveling once again to Sonoma you will stay with us.

Remember, if you stay with us previously you do get a discount.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights at this inn in October 2012. The service was excellent. The breakfast was very good each day. There was a lot of personal attention by the young lady that was in charge of breakfast, checking in and out and pretty much everything. The owner was very pleasant and we did get a chance for a couple of nice conversations. The rooms were very nice but could really use some refurbishing and updating. The rugs were very worn in our room. It was clean enough but new carpet would have made it much better. Not far to the square so the location is great. The young woman was very happy to help us book a tour of Sonoma and was very good about communication with us before we arrived. Gardens were very lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My sister-in-law and I stayed at The Victorian Garden Inn for 5 nights and had a fabulous time.
The gardens are just gorgeous and the setting is surreal. I didn't even miss TV because we stayed so busy. The daily breakfast was so yummy and nutritious, we couldn't wait for 9am to get there. We were only 2 blocks from the town square and all the shops and wonderful eateries. Donna and Janet were the top notch and our service couldn't have been better. They were so helpful and informative on places to go and things to see. We took the trolley tour to 4 wineries and had the most fun. I highly recommend that tour. We plan to visit there again and would recommend it to anyone. You must remember it is victorian, so don't expect the amenities of a luxury hotel, but they have everything you need and most of all peaceful beauty. If you want a larger room, get the woodcutters room. It has a private patio.

Room Tip: Woodcutters is awesome. The other rooms are frilly, but very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Garden Inn

Address: 316 E. Napa St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us spoil you at the Victorian Garden Inn, a historic Sonoma bed and breakfast. Just a short walk from the Historic Sonoma Plaza in Northern California's famed Wine Country, we provide you with the best in Sonoma lodging.A stay at A Victorian Garden Inn offers one the opportunity to step back into another era. Originally built in 1870 as a private residence, it is one of the oldest properties in the City of Sonoma. It was opened to guests as a bed and breakfast in 1983. Surrounded by historic sites such as the San Francisco de Solano Mission, the Sonoma Barracks, and Lachryma Montis, the home of General Mariano Guadalupe Vallejo, the Inn is the perfect getaway to enjoy the history of Sonoma.The Inn is named for its lush English gardens surrounding our historical Sonoma farmhouse. With well-appointed rooms and a comfortable parlor inside, you'll find everything you're looking for in a Sonoma Wine Country bed and breakfast. Our acre of gardens is a great place to relax with a glass of wine from one of our local wineries at the end of a long day enjoying the beauty of Sonoma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victorian Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Garden Hotel Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.