We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn to your Saves list
Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   19455 Sonoma Highway, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Boca Raton Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2005

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast, and my husband and I weren't too thrilled. The place is very pretty, but the location isn't good. We had to drive to get downtown. The hottub was barely hot and if you aren't staying on a Thursday-Saturday, don't expect any special cocktail hour. We didn't even get a complimentary glass of wine upon arrival (or anything special, despite the fact we were on our honeymoon). Breakfast was delicious, but the overall vibe here is a little strange. We would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2005
We are very sorry that the guest did not enjoy their stay with us. We work very hard to make each and every guest's stay with us a special one.

This guest mentioned that the location was inconvenient and that they had to drive to get to town. Our inn is located one mile from the Sonoma Plaza. We are very clear about that when we talk to people about our inn and clarify that if they can walk one mile, then we are walking distance to the plaza. We also specifically told these guests that we were one mile from the plaza before they booked their stay with us.

We had turned the temperature down on the hot tub in response to a guest who had asked that the hot tub be slightly cooler than normal. After this is done, it takes a while for the tub to return to its standard temperature. We apologize that when this guest got in, the tub had not yet returned to its standard temperature. We do everything in our power to ensure that each guest is accommodated and some things are just beyond our control.

We do a very nice wine and hors d'oeuvres reception every Thursday through Saturday evenings that features local small-production wines paired with gourmet cheeses and other hors d'ouevres. This is clearly advertised on our website and in any print material that we publish. As such, we are not sure why this guest would expect us to do the wine and hors d'oeuvres on any other night.

The guest also mentioned a wierd vibe. We aren't sure what was meant by this.

As I mentioned above, we do everything in our power to make sure that each guest's stay is enjoyable and exceeds their expectations. We offer a long list of amenities not found at very many other small inns or even larger hotel establishments including a complimentary Port bar, full gourmet multi-course breakfasts with freshly squeezed orange juice served every morning, 600-thread count sheets in all of our guest rooms, thick Egyptian cotton towels, memory foam pillow-top mattresses, complimentary use of bicycles, complimentary access to a local fitness club with a swimming pool, detailed customized itineraries for wine tasting and touring at the best of the small production wineries in the various wine regions in Sonoma County. With all of these amentites that we offer our guests, we are disappointed that this guest chose to partially base their opinion of us on the lack of "free-bees" or lack of additional "complimentary" items in addition to what we offer.

Once again we apologize and hope Tripadvisor readers will recognize our sincere desire to make each and every guest's visit to the Wine Country an enjoyable and wonderful experience. Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have about our Inn and the services we offer.

Warmest regards,

Greg Johns
Owner
Trojan Horse Inn


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    52
    17
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
108
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2005

I am so sorry that I had not posted a review of this B&B run by Greg and Bethany before. My husband and I stayed here at the end of April on our trip along the entire West Coast which included the lovely Sonoma Wine Country. The proprieters are young, sure, but very professional. They operate this exquisitely renovated historic building-turned-B&B efficiently yet are friendly and personable. When I was researching lodging for our trip, I found their tantalizing website; and Greg was very courteous and helpful when I called to arrange our stay. When we parked our car in the lot, the fragrance of roses welcoming us was intoxicating! Entering the living/dining room, we felt instantly "at home" as classic jazz music from the masters provided the ambience for enjoying the wine and cheese put out for us. We stayed in the Veloso room - immaculate, cozy, and stylish, with attached pristine bath. Bethany and Greg thought of everything for us: quality bath products, luxurious bath and bed linens and ear plugs (which would be needed as one of our windows faced the busy downtown intersection.) Some of the traffic, like the gentleman on a very noisy Harley who insisted on driving up and down the street very late at night, kept us up. But breakfast in the bright sunlit dining room on fine china the following morning made up for everything! In fact, if it hadn't have been for the friendly people at our table, who told us about a better route to San Francisco, we would have wasted most of our day trying to get there! As it turned out, it was a magical day; we returned in the evening with enough time to stroll to the little neighborhood Mexican cantina for a delicious Yucatan meal! Thanks, Bethany and Greg! Although this is admittedly late, the memories are like yesterday!
Kathryn

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2005

I decided to stay at the THI because of the reviews on this site. Personally, I think for the money they charge, it is VERY overpriced. You can stay at other B&Bs in the valley for as much or less money in a nicer, more cozy location.

The innkeepers have done a nice job renovating the rooms and common area. Whirlpool bath was fantastic!

It's just that when I compare the THI to the B&B I stayed in on the same trip in Mendocino (Brewery Gulch Inn), the THI falls short.

I would stay elsewhere next time I am in the Valley.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2005
We are saddened at the review left by this guest of ours. In every aspect of our business, we do our best to ensure that all of our guests receive the highest level of service and attention to detail. Our goal is to see that each guest's expectations are surpassed by their experience at our inn.

While our location is something over which we have no control, we believe it is a positive aspect of our inn. We are located in the town of Sonoma. We do our best to be very clear about this both in our print and website promotions and when we talk with perspective guests on the phone. As an in-town location, we are not able to offer a secluded mountain top or vineyard setting on an expansive estate. On the other hand, by being in town, our our guests are within 1 mile of the many world class restaurants and wonderful shops located on and around the historical Sonoma Plaza. We recognize that this is a trade-off and that while some guests prefer the convenience of an in-town location, other prefer the seclusion of a more remote location.

The reviewer made a point of comparing us to an Inn in Mendocino, mentioning that that particular inn offers more to its guests than we offer to ours. It should be noted that the inn to which we were compared advertises rates that run $80 - $115 per night more than ours. Additionally, Mendocino is a much more rural location than is the town of Sonoma.

We do our best to offer our guests the most for their money. We are proud to offer our guests access to our complimentary Port bar, wine and hors d'oeuvres Thursday-Saturday evenings featuring wines from local small-production wineries, full gourmet multi-course breakfasts with freshly squeezed orange juice, 600-thread count sheets in all of our guest rooms, thick Egyptian cotton towels, memory foam pillow-top mattresses, complimentary use of bicycles, complimentary access to a local fitness club with a swimming pool, detailed customized itineraries for wine tasting and touring at the best of the small production wineries in the various wine regions in Sonoma County, and an attention to detail and high level of service that parallels some of the finest small inns in the country.

We are sorry that our inn wasn't the type of place that this reviewer was looking for and hope that their overall experience in the Wine Country was not negatively impacted by this.

Please feel free to contact us directly at the inn if you have any questions about our inn or visiting the Wine Country in general.

With apologies extended,

Greg Johns
Owner
Trojan Horse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

My wife and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary in Sonoma in August and after an exhaustive search for that "special" place, we decided on the Trojan Horse Inn in Sonoma. Location was great as it was close to the Square in Sonoma and convenient to getting to Sonoma County wineries as well as Napa Valley wineries. The place was very well kept and the beds were to die for. As my wife stated, she has never slept in such a comfortable bed with wonderful sheets. The breakfasts were outstanding and all the guests staying while we were there loved it too. I would highly recommend you consider this place if you are visiting the Wine Country in N. California. Your wife will "love you even more for it". Thanks to Greg and Bethany for their hospitality.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

I would highly recommend the Trojan Horse Inn. The house and guest rooms are beautifully decorated, the sheets on the bed are divine, the breakfasts are a culinary treat, and the location is convenient for wine tasting. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

Our stay at the Trojan horse was part of a 20th anniversary trip. What a place. It's warm and inviting. The furnishings are beautiful. The linens are exquisite. Wine, port and sweets in the evening and excellent breakfasts. Great suggestions on wineries and restaurants. Greg and Bethany know what a B&B experience should be like. Our only minor suggestion would be more inventive selections for those with food allergies.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2005

We spent part of our honeymoon here while we toured the wine country. Bethany and Greg (innkeepers) were ultra-friendly, helpful, fun, and cook an awesome breakfast. The rooms were all charming and our bed was, by a mile, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I would highly recommend this place to ANYONE going to Sonoma/Napa.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn

Address: 19455 Sonoma Highway, Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Bear Creekside Hotel Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.