We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect two nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Oak Inn

Save Saved
You added Hidden Oak Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Oak Inn
214 E. Napa Street, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect two nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Looking for a place in Sonoma for a November reunion with two childhood friends, I found this B&B on Trip Advisor. It looked perfect, so I crossed my fingers and trusted the reviews. It was everything mentioned and more. The location was perfect, the owner, Valerie was very friendly and helpful, making spot-on recommendations as to where we should eat. (The Girl and the Fig and Cafe la Haye- both yummy) The lilac room with the extra Murphy bed was spotless and lovely. I slept in the pull-down bed and it was very comfortable and extremely easy to pull down or put back up. The breakfast was delicious both mornings and sitting on the porch waiting for Platypus tours to pick us up for our wine tour was very pleasant. Thank you Valerie! I'll be coming back next season.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms so book early. The French Lilac room got plenty of sun, but had room dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Hidden Oak Inn, and it was everything we like about staying in B&Bs. It was in a lovely older house in a quiet neighbourhood, the room was lovely, the hot breakfast was fabulous, the hosts were so helpful and pleasant, and the B&B was close to the centre of Sonoma so that we could walk to see the local sights. We also had arranged a wine tour through Platypus tours, which picked us up and delivered us right back to the B&B. This is a great place -- we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stumbled upon the Hidden Oak at the end of a long day of driving. We'd gone to Napa first, but hotels were booked, so we went on to Sonoma. We were so glad we did. Especially since we were able to stay at the Hidden Oak Inn. Valerie made us feel welcome from the minute we walked in. After we brought our luggage upstairs we unwound in the beautiful living room with cheese and wine. Perfect. The cheese and wine was almost enough for dinner. Valerie gave us very good suggestions for places to eat and visit, told us about a nice hiking trail and produce market. The breakfast was copious, delicious and healthy. Delicious Coffee was served in heated mugs, and coffee was availabile for guests all the time. The rooms were beautiful, beds incredibly comfortable. The Inn is a pleasant 10-minute walk from the city center. We stayed there 2 nights and loved our stay. We will definitely be back. We did take a bit of the Inn back with us -- a mug and a two coasters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Book this now - you won't be disappointed! The Inn is clean and offers more comforts than you can imagine - and is just 2 blocks from the center of town. The owners are generous and welcoming - and very helpful when it comes to planning your time if you need advice. The rooms are spacious, and quiet. The pool, jacuzzi and daily wine+ cheese happy hours are wonderful. We've been raving about our 2-night stay, and are already looking forward to going back! (Don - you better be ready to run! And Valerie - prepare some of your famous homemade granola!)

Room Tip: California Oak room was quiet and spacious! Comfy new bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here last September 2012 a couple of days after we got engaged. The host was very friendly and outgoing. We loved that they have a pool and hot tub for guests to use because it was very hot in Sonoma during our visit. This BnB is just a short walk from town which is very convenient for going out to dinner. We also walked into town to rent bikes and then bike around Wine Country for a day. The prices of places to stay in Wine Country can be out of control, so I would definitely recommend this place as a more realistic (and enjoyable) place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Three years ago a group of friends and I went to Sonoma for a music festival and stayed in Santa Rosa. We ended up sitting next to Valerie and Don Patterson on the lawn for the concert and soon discovered they own a B&B conveniently located about 2 blocks off the Sonoma plaza. MUCH more conveniently located. We'll probably never stay anywhere else! Not only can you not beat the location... you can walk home from any number of great restaurants and even a few wineries, but at the Hidden Oak Inn there are lovely spacious accommodations and incredible attention to little details. Delicious breakfasts, happy hour wine and cheese, freshly baked cookies... all provided by such lovely people! and Valerie has great restaurant and winery recommendations too. We'll continue to go back without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hidden Oak is a fine B & B, located two blocks from the beautiful Sonoma town square and downtown shops/restaurants. The rooms and public areas (indoors and outdoors) are comfortable and quaint. There are lots of "continental plus" breakfast choices, as well as a hot item. Valerie provides food surprises through the day. The location is perfect for travelling up the Sonoma Valley, and is only minutes from the Napa Valley. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Oak Inn

Address: 214 E. Napa Street, Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A touch of old Sonoma ... Experience the warmth of this California Craftsman home in the delightful town of Sonoma. The casual elegance of this 3 room historic bed and breakfast reflects a time of serenity and beauty. The innkeepers have tried to preserve the past and added many antiques and collectibles throughout the Inn. The spacious rooms provide a restful interlude for two after a day of wine tasting or exploring the town. Amenities include: breakfast, wine and cheese tasting, wine tasing pass for complimentary wine tasting to local wineries, passes to local health club, pool and bicycles. Located just one block from Sonoma Plaza shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hidden Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.