We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay - Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hidden Oak Inn to your Saves list
Hidden Oak Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   214 E. Napa Street, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Procrastinators Special
Ranked #3 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay - Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was my husband and my first time staying in Sonoma and at a B&B. The location was perfect as we walked into the Sonoma town square where there were shops and restaurants. Good location, in proximity to many wineries. Valerie, the Innkeeper was perfect. She provided breakfast every day, but on our schedule.Valerie had many good suggestions as to where to go. It was also nice to unwind with wine & cheese every day in the afternoon. We would definitely recommend staying here and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
84
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We can't say enough good things about Valerie and Don and their B&B. we stayed for 3 nights at the end of may and had a great time. The location is great just blocks from Sonoma town square where tons of restaurants and shops are. We walked practically everywhere. The house is adorable with an amazing back patio, porch , pool and hot tub. We spent one afternoon just lounging by the pool and Valerie even whipped us up some margaritas! The breakfast that was included was delicious. On weekends it is available from 8:30-10am and had offerings of assorted coffee tea juice cereal pastries etc. on weekends it is served at 9am and we had fruit With granola and yogurt and croissants followed by a delicious frittata and fresh cherries. From 4-6 they provide wine and cheese/meat trays for you to enjoy and yummy cookies at night. She can even accommodate different diets as another couple was Paleo. The room we were in was the California oak which had ample room and a private bath. Free wifi is included but there is no tv which we didn't mind. You are on a fairly busy street so there is some noise but it didn't bother Us. You can also check out their two bikes to hop around town. We did that one morning and it was so much fun! All in all we had a great time here and would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge Twp
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was a revisit to Hidden Oak Inn for us because of the great stay we had there 2 years ago, this time we came back with friends. Val is an amazing cook, and the location is the best. Make this a "must stay" if you are visiting the Sonoma area. It is a wonderful experience, can't think of anything that could be improved!

Room Tip: They only have three rooms - our favorite is the English Garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about the Hidden Oak Inn. My recent experience there was pleasant from beginning to end. The inn is very charming and in a fantastic location. We were able to easily walk to the many shops, restaurants, and tasting rooms. The innkeeper was friendly and added several personal touches such as an afternoon wine tasting and cookies left out every evening. :) And our Sunday-morning breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend this B&B and will stay here again when I visit Sonoma next.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hidden Oak Inn at the recommendation of friends who stayed there in 2011 and we couldn't have been happier! The rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated, breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the location was in walking distance of everything in the heart of Sonoma. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hidden Oak in late Oct. It was perfect. Location was super convenient - quick walk to town and a great walking/hiking trail (great views and saw a family of deer). Val the owner was so welcoming!! Very accommodating to dietary needs and a fab cook!! She and I quickly bonded over crossFit and even went to a few early morning classes with her - which btw is a really welcoming cf community!

We stayed in the Lilac room. It was perfect. Clean and comfortable.

Fell in love with Sonoma!!! Got to know some of the locals who were all super helpful and welcoming and alot of fun to hang out with! Tuesday night we went to an open market. It was the last week before the winter and a little cold but still a nice option for a Tuesday night.

We were sad to leave but can't wait to go back!! Thanks Val!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a mini trip to Sonoma for our 2nd Anniversary. We could not be more pleased with our choice. To begin, the owner had a special for the month of November ($155/night for Sun-Thurs). The house is very simple, and charming in a slightly old fashioned way (the floors creek ever so slightly, the decorations are very cozy, great music system and nice fireplace in the main dining room).

When we arrived, we were greeted by a wine and cheese appetizer, which was a great way to meet the other guests and get a feel for the house. That evening we had a nice one block stroll to some of the best restaurants that Sonoma has to offer. The breakfasts, while not the full service one experiences on the weekend, were still lovely. Fresh pastries, a hot egg dish every morning, lots of fruit and coffee was all that we could ask for.

The B&B was only a few blocks from a great running/bike trail which we took advantage of the second morning or our stay. And we also were able to take advantage of a pass for free wine tastings to over 20 Sonoma Valley wineries. This in and of itself made the Inn a great value. The wineries ranged from big, well known wineries (Benzinger) to smaller, family owned wineries (Kaz, Robledo).

Room Tip: We were in the English Cottage Room; the only downside was that it had smaller than average windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hidden Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Oak Inn

Address: 214 E. Napa Street, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A touch of old Sonoma ... Experience the warmth of this California Craftsman home in the delightful town of Sonoma. The casual elegance of this 3 room historic bed and breakfast reflects a time of serenity and beauty. The innkeepers have tried to preserve the past and added many antiques and collectibles throughout the Inn. The spacious rooms provide a restful interlude for two after a day of wine tasting or exploring the town. Amenities include: breakfast, wine and cheese tasting, wine tasing pass for complimentary wine tasting to local wineries, passes to local health club, pool and bicycles. Located just one block from Sonoma Plaza shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.