We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Oak Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hidden Oak Inn to your Saves list
Hidden Oak Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   214 E. Napa Street, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Procrastinators Special
Ranked #3 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

we have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Hidden Oak B&B. We stayed in the French Lilac Room but all 3 rooms are equally spacious and nicely done with thoughtful little touches such as the matching Lilac air-freshner in the bathroom.
each afternoon we were offered wine, cheese and crackers and chocolate chip cookies, which was really nice.
breakfast was served in the beautiful family-style dining room and varied a little each day, which made it more interesting and still delicious.
the Inn is located 2 blocks from the town square, which makes it really convenient to walk over to all the restaurants and ride the bike to the wineries.
we truly enjoyed our stay. thank you Valerie and Don!

erik & maja

Room Tip: all three rooms are equally spacious with its own en-suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a friendly welcome for a weary traveller - 9pm looking dishellved and unkempt and in need of a shower and a comfy bed, Val was very welcoming along with her 2 little dogs (to an un-booked traveller). A beautifully restored property with real homely charm, situated within a short walk of Sonoma town plaza. Breakfast was a great start to the day with homemade granola (house speciality), coffee, toast & homemade jam. All this plus cheese & wine in the afternoon after a hard day of wine tasting. Bedrooms are well appointed with nice touches, ipod dock, king size + plus beds and full ensuite bathrooms. Great local knowledge and info re local wineries, directions etc. Highly recommended.
Thanks Val for your hospitality.
Bernadette
- off to make some granola ;)

Room Tip: Small & friendly B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We recently had a mother/daughter bachelorette trip to Sonoma. There were 3 Moms and 3 daughters. This location was perfect. Each Mom/daughter had their own room and we had the entire inn to ourselves. Valerie (the innkeeper) did a wonderful job in helping us with our itinerary as well as preparing a wonderful breakfast. We really enjoyed ourselves! Had a wondeful time. Thanks Valerie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I've stayed in several B&Bs, including several in Sonoma. This one is the best. Very small (only 3 or 4 rooms), 1.5 blocks to wonderful Sonoma Square area, swimming pool, pool-side self-serve bar (including margs), happy hour (wine, cookies, etc.), and of course a good breakfast.

The room was medium-to-large and very cute.

I plan to return to Hidden Oak. In fact, I've twice tried to return, only to find them full boht times. :(

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful stay for one week at the Hidden Oak Inn. Immediately on arrival we were right at home. The owner of the inn, Valerie, supplied us with all the information we required to embark on our wine tours. The breakfasts were varied and very enjoyable.
Our room was spacious ,private ,cosy and cleaned daily. Valerie was a wonderful host and we became fast friends. We would recommend this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Outstanding location just one block from the Plaza. Rooms are well kept and very comfortable. The innkeeper really knows how to add all of the small touches to make a stay memorable. We would highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: We stayed in the English Garden Room which is at the rear of the house and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

On the way to San Francisco for a business meeting, I stayed at Hidden Oak Inn for a couple of nights. What a nice way to relax before an event! Valerie is a wonderful innkeeper and really makes you feel at home! The B&B is small, quiet and very comfortable, I slept like a baby! She made us a wonderful breakfast every morning, more than is typical in a B&B with fresh fruits, homemade jams and pastries. She shared with us the best wineries to go to and even gave us a free tasting card. The Inn is also close enough to downtown to walk and shop. Make sure to be there on Tuesday nights (during the season) for the amazing Farmers Market! What a fun night! I've been to Hidden Oak in a couple of times before and always had a wonderful time. This trip I brought some friends with me and Valerie treated them as if they were family! Hey all had a great time and we can't wait to go back to visit! Hidden Oak Inn is a place that you will be very glad you visited! You might not even want to leave!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Oak Inn

Address: 214 E. Napa Street, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A touch of old Sonoma ... Experience the warmth of this California Craftsman home in the delightful town of Sonoma. The casual elegance of this 3 room historic bed and breakfast reflects a time of serenity and beauty. The innkeepers have tried to preserve the past and added many antiques and collectibles throughout the Inn. The spacious rooms provide a restful interlude for two after a day of wine tasting or exploring the town. Amenities include: breakfast, wine and cheese tasting, wine tasing pass for complimentary wine tasting to local wineries, passes to local health club, pool and bicycles. Located just one block from Sonoma Plaza shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.