We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Gems of the Square - Great for a Resting spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastiani Theatre

Sebastiani Theatre
476 First St E, Sonoma, CA 95476
707 996 9756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 Attractions in Sonoma
Attraction details
Kalama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the Gems of the Square - Great for a Resting spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just like the good old days! I remember sitting in this lovely place 40 years ago - watching Star Wars, Rocky, and the "greats" of the 70's as a kid when I would visit my grand mother a few streets away. Not the sticky floors and seats though :) Love the HUGE restrooms and concession stand.

I'm now in SW Washington and it has the McMinnamin's of Oregon qualities - you gotta check them out too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the "Hearts" of Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Locals love Sebastiani Theatre. Visitors love Sebastiani Theatre. It's old-fashioned with one large screen and has state-of-the art equipment. It feels like you've stepped back into time, but the movies are current. Usually the great independent films. They offer licorice (red & black) in candy jars. Good popcorn and other concessions at reasonable prices. If you like films and have time for movie, it's a must. If not, walk by it to visit with the lady in the ticket booth. Roger will thank you for visiting!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I grew up in Sonoma, so I often went here as a kid, and even as an adult when I come home to visit. In my opinion, nothing has changed one bit. And that is a good thing. Sebastiani Theater is a truly wonderful place. Small town theater, small town feel. The people who work there have been there for years, and are some of the nicest people I know. They're always happy to be there, and that makes a huge difference when you visit :)

They often have decorations and some kind of cardboard cutouts inside, which makes things fun for the kids. The concession stand reminds me of an old style movie theater. They even have jars on the front counter with candy inside, so you can pay for individual pieces! The popcorn is nothing too special, but they do use real butter, if that makes a difference for anyone.

It looks as if the inside of the theater hasn't changed at all over the years. It's old style really makes you feel like you could be going back in time. They also only have 1 screen, so don't go there thinking you'll get to pick from a selection of films.

I really do love this place, and miss it terribly! I haven't seen a theater like it since moving away.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A real gem of a vintage movie theater.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you like movies and are staying in town, be sure to go to the Sebastiani Theatre. From the art deco neon out front to the wonderful inside you can take a sort of step back into time, when theatres were built to look splendid. This theatre has NOT been broken up into two or more viewing theatres, and while it's not fully restored, it's definitely worth going to.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springport, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I watched Frozen. The theatre is absolutely beautiful. The staff were helpful and positive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastiani Theatre also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sebastiani Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastiani Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.