We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when in Sonoma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonoma Cheese Factory

The Sonoma Cheese Factory
2 E Spain St, On the Plaza, Sonoma, CA 95476-5729
707-996-1931
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 106 Restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must when in Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a great specialty food store!! Teriffic selection of cheese, fruits, meats and specialty oils & vinegars. If you are going on a picnic this is the place to go first. Don't miss the grill on the patio- amazing burger and brisket sandwiches. The fudge is out of this world!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    54
    26
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A MUST FOR TOURISTS TO THE PLAZA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you want the ultimate casual tourist spot on the Plaza in Sonoma then you must not miss this long standing cheese factory. You get to sample all the cheeses, have an outdoor BBQ burger or sausage grilled to perfection. Great for families on a budget as Sonoma has few fast food outlets. Great espresso, lunch packages and deli sandwiches to die for! all you need for a picnic at one of the outstanding wineries in the area. Lots of interesting souvenirs and wines on offer too. Outdoor casual seating to the side and front. Always busy but fast service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outdoor Tri-Tip Grill irresistable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

OK, mostly for cheese lovers (not me), but the outdoor grill offering tri-tip sandwiches was irresistible. Shady side walkway dining out of the foot traffic was VERY nice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice spot that has an array of food and wine options.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We read reviews on Tripadvisor so we popped in. Nicely done store. Good cheese samples (but be careful with unattended children sampling cheese without picks). Very good choices loved the lavender jack and havarti locally produced. We also tried the gelato and it was great for the warm day. Wine was better priced and the sampling threw in a complimentary wine glass to keep! How nice. Didn't get to try the food though. But smelled great. Had fun!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George, Utah
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Roast Beef on Sonoma French Roll!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

O.K. I grew up eating sandwiches from this place when it was small. The baked their bread and made their cheeses.

Now they have grown and the quality is still the same when I visited there while showing my kids where I grew up.

You can eat your grub there on site or walk across the street to the Sonoma Square, and share a bench with people from around the world. Just ask, everyone is frindly and willing top have you join them.

Hit a number of shops all around the square, and don't forget to visit the Sonoma Mission just across the way.

As a kid I used to go in and watch them make cheese, I am sure you still have that opportunity.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sonoma Cheese Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Sonoma Cheese Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonoma Cheese Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.