We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deli on square in Sonoma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonoma Cheese Factory

The Sonoma Cheese Factory
2 E Spain St, On the Plaza, Sonoma, CA 95476-5729
707-996-1931
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 106 Restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best deli on square in Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Excellent cold and hot /grilled deli choices. Staff patient. Casual. Nice store for cheese and other deli items. Eat inside or out. Friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    26
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Samples, samples and more samples!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

So many delicious samples! We ended up buying some cheese & crackers & a bottle of wine. We went to the tasting bar & got our souvenier wine glasses (free w/a tasting). We then headed across the street to the park & enjoyed ourselves!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cheese, prices have skyrocketed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have loved the cheeses from the Sonoma Cheese Factory since I was a child growing up in Sonoma County. Went for lunch with my parents and 4 year old today and the prices have skyrocketed! I know dairy costs and yeast costs are going up, but this place has their own cows and own yeast strain, so I just don't get it. Maybe the increase in yuppie tourism from the wineries has driven up the prices. We got two BBQ tri-tip sandwiches, a small thing of grapes and cheese cubes, 2 rootbeers, one Coke and an apple juice and paid over $50. Wow! Should have gone to the BBQ joint down Hwy 12 a bit and paid half that.

The tri-tip sandwiches were not bad, but I've had better. Not enough BBQ sauce, and you can't add more than what they cook it in. They do have a condiment bar with ketchup, mustard, mayo, lettuce, tomatoes, pickles and onions, but no BBQ sauce is available to add to the dry sandwiches. The meat was tender, but the bread was too hard. At $12 a sandwich, though, I had to finish it. My kid wouldn't eat the tri-tip off it because it was too dry for her tastes. I added some pickles and onions and it was okay. My kid loved the cheese and grapes and ate most of them herself, along with a bunch of pickles. The cheese was as delicious as ever, however.

The place is set up deli style. You grab your drinks, chips, salads, ect, then go to the register to order the sandwiches. There are indoor and outdoor tables. The outdoor tables are nice because they are right next to the Sonoma Barracks and the historic buildings in Sonoma Plaza, so I was able to point those out to my kiddo, who didn't really care anyway. Soon, she'll be old enough to love California's history, soon...

Anyhow, while I love the cheese from Sonoma Cheese Factory, that's about the only thing here that saves it. If the cheese wasn't so good, I'd have only rated it poor. Come for the cheese, leave the rest.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Samples Galore - Just Help Yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We enjoyed a nice lunch here - made-to-order sandwiches and great soup. Also a BBQ area in the outside dining space. But, while you are waiting, try any cheese -- and as many times as you want. Many varieties.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home of the Space Needle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Picnic supplies? Maybe. Stay for lunch? No.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Sonoma Cheese Factory is OK for on-the-go picnic supplies, but don't bother with their sandwich counter / BBQ. This is a tourist-only spot located in the center of Sonoma Plaza. Lots of basic picnic items, but steep prices and long check out lines. We stayed for lunch and ordered sandwiches and hot dogs and hamburgers that were made on the outdoor BBQ. The food took a long time to arrive and the quality was below average - the bread was cheap and dry (I noted that other ppl were taking the bread off their items and I quickly realized why). Also, the whole outside eating area could use a really good scrub down. Picnic supplies? Maybe. Stay for lunch? No.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sonoma Cheese Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Sonoma Cheese Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonoma Cheese Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.