We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel, great location, attractive price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Hotel
Save
You added Swiss Hotel to your Saves list
18 W. Spain Street, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Historic hotel, great location, attractive price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel gets extra points because of its age and history, but do not expect modern luxury. There are four large rooms (suites, actually) on the second floor of this two story building. The restaurant takes up the first floor. The bedroom floors slope and all the furnishings are shabby without the chic. The refrigerator in our room didn't work and there was a large wet spot around the refrigerator. BUT...there is a great covered veranda that runs across the front of the hotel with a view of the town square. On a warm night my husband and sat out late and shared a bottle of wine.

This was our second stay at the Swiss hotel, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stopped by the Swiss Hotel for lunch this week and enjoyed it a lot. Always nice to sit outside on the patio and enjoy the fall sun while being under the patio cover. Food and service were very good as always. We have been going here for lunch or dinner for over 30 years.

Room Tip: Eat outside if possible. Have a drink in the old bar too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stopped in Sonoma for lunch during a tour of a few wineries. We chose the restaurant in the Swiss Hotel where we sat out on the back patio. Service was great, food was very good. I had the Eggplant Parm sandwich, H had the pulled pork sandwich. We enjoyed our choices very much. Very tasty. Plenty of parking in rear lot. Nice little town for shopping.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Songbird811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on our way to Sonoma last minute. With never visiting Sonoma, the pictures don't reveal the charm this hotel has. Great location, affordable price and historic feel. Staff is extremely helpful and showed they would go out of their way. I would stay here again for sure!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Karrie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed one LONG night. There's no elevator for the physically challenged; the air conditioning didn't work (Sept. heat wave) and we couldn't open the balcony door or windows as the bar is located below and outside this room; the TV didn't work and we ran out of hot water in the morning. Miserable night-would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't get room #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The staff was very friendly! The second day, they were calling us by our name! The restaurant is delicious and its close of everything. There is also a great park to hang out in front of it. When i'll return to sonoma, I will definitly reserve there again!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed on a Tues and Wed evening at the Swiss Hotel. We drove up on Tuesday morning and got to the hotel at 9:30am. We had a hike and winery tour booked at 10:30am and just figured we'd check in when we were done with the tour later in the afternoon. On a whim, we decided to see if we could check in early - no problem! Our hearts were won! How wonderful to unload our car and "move in" before taking off for the day.

The hotel is absolutely charming and has the character you would expect from an older place - slanted floors, no elevator, an actual room key. We took the recommendation of a previous reviewer and stayed in Room 4; the king room that has a sitting area and direct access to the balcony. We were so pleased! After a long day of hiking, wine tasting, enjoying the Farmer's Market on the Town Square (right across from the hotel!), we sat on the balcony and enjoyed our wine and dessert. Yes, there is noise from the Market (there was a drummer who we enjoyed), restaurant, and bar. I didn't mind the noise and fell right to sleep on the super comfy king-size bed.

The 2nd night we had neighbors who stayed up til about 2am talking on the balcony. They weren't being rowdy, just talking and so we didn't say anything considering it's their vacation too - so, if you want a quiet place to retire, consider elsewhere.

Breakfast was available every morning and adequate - breads, fresh berries, yogurt, granola, coffee, tea, juice. We ate in the restaurant our last night. We both thought the food was ok, but not great. I had the pot roast, which is supposedly their special. Mine was somewhat dry. The service was good and the ambiance is nice.

Because of the the location, we were able to stroll around the town square at night and take in the "night life". We found a pub with a pool table and dart board and excellent beer.

We would stay again at the Swiss Hotel in a heart beat. But... as in other reviews, if you want guaranteed peace and quiet... I gave a 4 only because of what others may think of the noise. in my book, it was a 5! Oh, and check in / check out / reservations is very low tech - they do everything by hand; so make a phone call and don't expect a digital confirmation.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a huge king size bed with a nice sun room / sitting area, with direct access to the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#2 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 18 W. Spain Street, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing