We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely al fresco lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Hotel
Save Saved
You added Swiss Hotel to your Saves list
18 W. Spain Street, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
Salem, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely al fresco lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

While visiting Sonoma for the day, we decided on lunch here because the atmosphere was so attractive. Ate an excellent lunch on the back covered patio. Very pretty setting and everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. My beet salad was delicious! Service was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    5
    0
    7
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Pros:
-Location - location of the hotel was great - you're right off the square in downtown Sonoma and can walk to restaurants, shops, wine tastings, etc.
-Price - we originally booked it because of the location and wanting to be in downtown Sonoma and finding a hotel that was under $300 (I think we booked for $250 for a Friday night).
-Room - size of room was good - pretty generous room and a good size bathroom. Also, for as old of a place as it was, it was pretty clean - didn't feel too dingy.
-Breakfast - not a ton of options, but you get the restaurant to yourself and you can have coffee/tea/juice and food includes cereal, yogurt+granola, bagels or toast, fresh fruit.

Cons:
-Noise - you get warned when you book a room and when you check in that there will be noise as you're situated above a bar/restaurant. So can't complain as I was fully warned. The noise level was pretty loud (banging of pots/pans and talking) until late at night, but was able to fall asleep despite the noise. And the noise began again in the kitchen around 7am on Saturday morning - not too bad, but got a little worse around 8am. I think it we went to Sonoma in the summer, I definitely would not stay here as people might be out later b/c of the warm weather. Also, I would more likely consider staying here during the week instead of a weekend.
-No elevator - didn't both me, but just warning you if you're older or have a big suitcase.
-Parking - no dedicated hotel parking, just spaces out front which are 2 hours limits from about 9am-5pm (free), although I think there's another lot somewhere not too far if you want to park during 9-5 for longer than 2 hours. It worked for us as we parked around 5pm, and left before 11am the following morning.
-No internet - was a little surprised that they didn't have wireless.

Not sure if I'd stay here again - I think if the price was right, maybe, but next time, I might be willing to spend a little more if it got me a nicer (and quieter) place. But not bad given the options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Me and Hubby stumbled across this lovely old hotel with outside tables with candles where we sat down for an hour with a glass of wine. Friendly staff, very interesting decor which tells you about the history of the hotel, we enjoyed our pit stop immensely and would love to go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked a one night stay after a day of wine tasting so we could enjoy the Sonoma square and extend our wonderful day in the wine country. We loved the room! The noise of the bar only lasted a bit and died down about 11pm. We'll be back for sure. Also loved the restaurant and brought dessert back to the room.

Room Tip: Room #4 is the best with a sun room however it's right over the bar, so be prepared for a late n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfalz
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We didn't stay at the Swiss hotel, but we had an excellent dinner there. We sat in the shady patio in the back, and though it was rather crowded the service was friendly and quick.
We liked the Italian dishes and enjoyed the lovely wines.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the hotel was great! It had a very homey feel to it, very simple and cozy. I was just traveling with two other friends, but it would be a great spot for a couples getaway, too. Definitely would go back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated, right on the main square in Sonoma. Parking is easy, just out the back. We had a bed so large that I needed to use the steps up to it and direct access to the balcony overlooking the square. The room had a fridge, lounge area and large bathroom.

Staying right on the square and sleeping directly above a bar can be noisy. The bar quietens down not long after ten so not a problem, but the garbage trucks came round rather earlier than I would have liked.

Breakfast was fine (toast, muffins, bananas, coffee, bagels) but a little simpler than I would have expected. The kitchen effort seems to be focussed on the evening restaurant. Much of dinner takes place in the walled, heated, fairy light filled garden and I highly recommend eating here.

Expect the usual benefits and drawbacks of an old place, lots of soft towels ad hot water, some history, plenty of charm and a little eccentricity.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room upgrade and bagging the room at the front with the lounge un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 18 W. Spain Street, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.