We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Hotel
Save
You added Swiss Hotel to your Saves list
18 W. Spain Street, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Sonoma County, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great get away !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked a one night stay after a day of wine tasting so we could enjoy the Sonoma square and extend our wonderful day in the wine country. We loved the room! The noise of the bar only lasted a bit and died down about 11pm. We'll be back for sure. Also loved the restaurant and brought dessert back to the room.

Room Tip: Room #4 is the best with a sun room however it's right over the bar, so be prepared for a late n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    6
    0
    7
See reviews for
6
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We didn't stay at the Swiss hotel, but we had an excellent dinner there. We sat in the shady patio in the back, and though it was rather crowded the service was friendly and quick.
We liked the Italian dishes and enjoyed the lovely wines.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the hotel was great! It had a very homey feel to it, very simple and cozy. I was just traveling with two other friends, but it would be a great spot for a couples getaway, too. Definitely would go back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated, right on the main square in Sonoma. Parking is easy, just out the back. We had a bed so large that I needed to use the steps up to it and direct access to the balcony overlooking the square. The room had a fridge, lounge area and large bathroom.

Staying right on the square and sleeping directly above a bar can be noisy. The bar quietens down not long after ten so not a problem, but the garbage trucks came round rather earlier than I would have liked.

Breakfast was fine (toast, muffins, bananas, coffee, bagels) but a little simpler than I would have expected. The kitchen effort seems to be focussed on the evening restaurant. Much of dinner takes place in the walled, heated, fairy light filled garden and I highly recommend eating here.

Expect the usual benefits and drawbacks of an old place, lots of soft towels ad hot water, some history, plenty of charm and a little eccentricity.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room upgrade and bagging the room at the front with the lounge un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a contrast to our stay at Sonoma Inn last December, where we felt as if we were staying wit a stingy old aunt in her dusty spare room, and who didn't really want us around! At the Swiss Hotel, we got a queen "room" that amounted to a suite, and everything was just fine -- fresh, well appointed and thought-out, and welcoming. We had met the owner in December, and it was his personality that made us want to give this five-room hotel a try. The next morning we were talking about his caring attention to his guests' needs with one of his receptionists, and she said, "You couldn't have a better friend than Hank." What a recommendation!

Then, dinner! God, they must have stolen their chef from one of those fancy restaurants in Yountville! Try the Rosemary Chicken, probably the best prepared I've encountered in years. Excellent service -- a well-paced, a splendid experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a historic hotel. It was dated, but clean. Don't be surprised by the slanted floors. The accommodations are like a room at a Grandmothers house. The location was great (right on the square) especially for the price. Many rooms in Sonoma were booked the night we stayed. We were pleased to stay here over a chain near the highway and not in the center of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

First off, this is a very simple hotel NOT fancy but, clean. Just don't stay in room #1 over the square unless you are completly deaf.

The restaurant and bar however are great, casual places to eat, drink and people watch - one of favorite in Sonoma! Snag a patio seat on the dog friendly front porch if possible. They also have a great back patio. Try the beet salad with grilled prawns for lunch. The bread and olive oil is delicious. The bar has awesome bloody Mary's. The staff is old school and super nice.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the rooms over the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 18 W. Spain Street, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.