We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, nice wines, meh tasting experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gundlach Bundschu Winery

Gundlach Bundschu Winery
2000 Denmark St., Sonoma, CA 95476
707-938-5277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 76 Activities in Sonoma
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, nice wines, meh tasting experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The grounds were beautiful (aren't they all?). Some of the wines were pretty good and reasonably priced. The tasting experience? The man behind the counter wasn't very informative or helpful. Then again, he had to help two couples at the same time, but STILL.

I think they should waive the tasting fee if you buy, but he rang that tasting fee right up with the wine we bought. That right there will keep me from returning.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    15
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not so great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very, very, small tastings....don't remember the name of our tasting guy, but not fun or informative. Wouldn't go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice grounds and fun tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Gundlach Bundschu was a short walk from the house my friends and I rented for a long weekend in Sonoma. We shared a couple tastings among our group and despite it being a bit busy had a lot of fun with our server who was friendly and informative. The grounds were lovely.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gun-Lock-Bun-Shoe!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

You think I jest.. that's how you pronounce it and that's what on their merchandise (we bought t-shirts and the coolest wine glass ID thingies).

Gabe was our tasting guy and he was great. It was Friday afternoon, late in the day, and a bit crowded when we got there just after 4 pm. We stayed until they closed up shop at 5:30 and bought several bottles of wine.

A very fun experience, with a beautiful setting outside. They were having a wedding when we were there so couldn't go outside to enjoy the views and wine together. This was a vineyard that was recommended to us by several locals, so we definitely wanted to experience it. I'm sure it was smaller and less commercial at some point, but even with that part of it, it's a great experience and a great little vineyard.

We would have joined the wine club, but they wanted us to buy 24 bottles of wine each year... yikes! A bit steep... but we definitely loved the Merlot and will be buying it separately forever.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wines and tasting room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

By far our favorite place for wine tasting in Sonoma. Excellent wines and tasting room. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Always our first stop when visiting the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gundlach Bundschu Winery also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Gundlach Bundschu Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gundlach Bundschu Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.