We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best, ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonoma Chalet
Save
You added Sonoma Chalet to your Saves list
18935 5th St. W., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the Best, ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We only stayed one night, but we wish we could stay there permanently. Beautiful old house with a fantastic view of the hills, filled with antiques and run by an extremely nice and interesting man named Joe. No TV, no wi-fi...which was perfect. Breakfast of fresh fruits, etc. on the deck with fiestaware and depression glass was great.

We've stayed in several B&B's over the years, and let me tell you, The Sonoma Chalet is one of the best, ever. A great B&B has a personality...and this one has plenty. From the antique furniture and collectibles to the fantastic view, you'll never want to leave.

It's also only about 5 minutes from the Square in Sonoma, yet set back far enough off the road that you feel very secluded. Fantastic.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Farm View room and loved it. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My friend and I spent three enjoyable nights at the Sonoma Chalet B&B in the month of September of this year as part of our tour of California. After the high energy action of our visits to San Francisco and Los Angeles, we were ready for a slower paced visit to the wine country. Sonoma Chalet provided us with the perfect retreat. We stayed in Leslie's Cottage which was a little separate cabin set up studio-style with queen bed, private bath and a little sitting area. The cottage was clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was simple but fresh and tasty. The property has one large house with rooms to rent and two other cute little cabins located just a short distance from the Sonoma town square. Overall, we had a very nice stay at Sonoma Chalet and can recommend it to other visitors to Sonoma wine country.

Room Tip: The complimentary Wine Tasting Card from Sonoma Chalet saved us the tasting fees at a number of loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times and I was surprised to see I've not written a review before! We love this B&B, but it does not have some of the comforts, like high thread count sheets or gourmet breakfast, that some places are known for. What you get instead is a beautiful old farmhouse and cottages away from the hustle and bustle of Sonoma square, but not too far away. It's kind of old and creaky, but by no means run down, and for us the age and old books on the shelf are part of the charm. We always stay in the Farmhouse Suite when we can get it, which features two balconies and a working fireplace for those chilly northern California evenings. The room itself is quite large with a full bathroom and separate washroom/closet plus a nice sitting area in front of the fireplace. When the weather is nice, breakfast is served out on the large deck off the kitchen. There's a surprising amount of wildlife, such as deer, hare and quail for a place so close to town. We've always enjoyed talking to the other guests over breakfast and Joe is a hospitable and accommodating innkeeper. Don't miss the hot tub out back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you're focusing on someone greeting you at the door and the bedding, you are seriously missing the greatness of the Sonoma Chalet.

A B&B is *not* a hotel, and that is the point of staying at one. They are not a conglomerate but instead are often owned by a single person with a small staff who may not always be available to lead you to your room.

This B&B is a quaint, rustic and very homey place to stay in the lovely town of Sonoma. Joe and Ruth are very accommodating and fun hosts; always quick with a smile and up for a conversation but never obtrusive.

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in the country, you found it here!

Room Tip: The main house is very nice but the cottages are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I prefer to stay in B&Bs that have a homey feel. That's exactly what I got with Sonoma Chalet. My girlfriend and I opted for a smaller room to save money, but were surprised with the size. Even the though the bathroom wasn't in the room, it was easy to get to right across the hall. The continental breakfast was tasty with a variety of baked goods, cereal, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, fresh juice, and coffee/tea.

The beds are comfy but could be better.
The hot tub is big, but seemed a little dirty.

Location was fantastic for doing day trips to vineyards and the plaza. I would absolutely go back.

Room Tip: The cottages look really cool. If money isn't an issue, I would choose one of them. If mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not sure if this is the norm for the Sonoma Chalet as we were never alerted that no one would be on the premises when we arrived at approx. 4 pm. There was no one to greet us on arrival for check in except a note on the on the wall next to office door stating that if our name was on the list posted there we were to then go to the house across the way and find our room upstairs. It was our first time stay here and with all the overgrowth of plants we could not find the entrance. We finally spotted a sign pointing to creaky wooden stairs..once inside another flight of stairs which led to a long dark hall. Creak, creak went the slanting floor. No human in sight. There was a note on one of the doors with our name on it. We had booked the Indian Room...old, quirky and spooky. After checking out the nooks and crannies we made our way to kitchen downstairs looking for someone who might be in charge. No one home but we did find yet another note next to a phone said in case of emergency call the two numbers listed. Kitchen over run with lots of antiques...tons! A cob web running from one wall decor to another sparkled in the sun. No sitting room available, no wifi, no radio, no tv and no people! We decided to go down to the plaza. On our way out I spotted someone cleaning one of the cottages ...possibly the owner? They made no attempt to greet us or offer to answer any questions we may have had. Not even a hello. Came back later that night and sat in our car in the dark listening to the presidential debate .. as I mentioned before no tv or radio on site. The next morning we packed ASAP to get out. Went downstairs to find Ruth..pleasant woman who served us coffee, orange juice, sliced melons, followed by yet more fruit in the form of a strawberry banana granola parfait and warm sweet rolls ( delicious). There was cold cereal and hard boils eggs on the counter. We had a nice conversation with her and a young German couple on a visit to Calif. I'm all for quirky, off beat movies, places and experiences BUT at the very least there should have been some one there to greet us. A welcome of some kind. Notes taped to doors are so cold and impersonal. One thing I will not tolerate though is old worn out frayed bedding. The pillows were all but a couple of inches thick. The pillow cases frayed to the point where the hems were split from age..sheet frayed and old hem seams unraveling from age. Inexcusable and uninviting. This is not our first B&B stay but by far the most unusual.

Room Tip: It appears people who chose the cottages were in general pleased. It still wouldn't have made up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I had a really hard time finding hotels/b&bs in Sonoma that would take us for less than a 2 night stay. We were just looking to spend 1 night in Sonoma, and so called around a few days before to see if any places would be willing to take us for 1 night if they couldn't sell 2. So, Sonoma chalet came up on the list and after speaking with joe (the owner) he was willing to give us the one room he had available for the weekend for just the one night. There aren't many pictures on the website so I relied on trip advisor to see what others thought. We stayed in the Indian room, which is the smallest of all the rooms, but with a private bath. Overall, the experience was charming and very quaint. The place is definitely old, so don't expect one of those new, modern b&bs, but it serves it's purpose. Took a little getting used to the quiet when we were going to sleep - no TV in the room, and the house definitely makes noises, but once you're used to it it's totally fine. The room we were in had a/c, and a little balcony which was nice. Joe was really lovely, unfortunately we slept in and missed breakfast but im sure it would have been good. The location is great, a 5 minute drive from the square, which was perfect. There are 3 separate cottages that aren't attached to the big house that looked super cute. They were sold out so we didn't see them but that's what I would try and book if I were to go back there again. I did feel like the rate we paid was high for what we got, but then again it's Sonoma and a busy time of year up there so not sure we would've gotten anything better for much less.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonoma Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Chalet

Address: 18935 5th St. W., Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-style farmhouse and country cottages in Sonoma Valley's Wine Country. Three cottages and four rooms with fireplace or wood stove, decorated with antiques, quilts and collectibles. Situated on three acres just blocks from Sonoma's Historic Square. Continental breakfast served on the deck overlooking a 200 acre ranch or in the privacy of your own cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonoma Chalet Hotel Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.