We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonoma chalet - a charming, but older b&b experience in Sonoma” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonoma Chalet
Save
You added Sonoma Chalet to your Saves list
18935 5th St. W., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sonoma chalet - a charming, but older b&b experience in Sonoma”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I had a really hard time finding hotels/b&bs in Sonoma that would take us for less than a 2 night stay. We were just looking to spend 1 night in Sonoma, and so called around a few days before to see if any places would be willing to take us for 1 night if they couldn't sell 2. So, Sonoma chalet came up on the list and after speaking with joe (the owner) he was willing to give us the one room he had available for the weekend for just the one night. There aren't many pictures on the website so I relied on trip advisor to see what others thought. We stayed in the Indian room, which is the smallest of all the rooms, but with a private bath. Overall, the experience was charming and very quaint. The place is definitely old, so don't expect one of those new, modern b&bs, but it serves it's purpose. Took a little getting used to the quiet when we were going to sleep - no TV in the room, and the house definitely makes noises, but once you're used to it it's totally fine. The room we were in had a/c, and a little balcony which was nice. Joe was really lovely, unfortunately we slept in and missed breakfast but im sure it would have been good. The location is great, a 5 minute drive from the square, which was perfect. There are 3 separate cottages that aren't attached to the big house that looked super cute. They were sold out so we didn't see them but that's what I would try and book if I were to go back there again. I did feel like the rate we paid was high for what we got, but then again it's Sonoma and a busy time of year up there so not sure we would've gotten anything better for much less.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We enjoyed our weekend visit to Sonoma, we stayed in the Lauren Chalet, the room was clean and full of unique antiques, Joe the owner was very sweet and gave great advise. No complaints would stay there again next time we are their.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Had a WONDERFUL stay in Sara's Cottage for three nights, it's nicer than the pictures on the website. What a perfect location, within Sonoma but next to a hillside pasture complete with wildlife, birds and trees. It is so relaxing you almost melt sitting on the porch.

Joe the host is very friendly, and makes you feel right at home without being obtrusive. He serves a plentiful continental breakfast each morning with great coffee and pastries the size of your head. The accommodations are very clean and the furnishings fun and quirky. We biked around local wineries one day (Wine Country Cyclery), and visited some other via car the next. We hated to leave, and will DEFINITELY come back for another visit if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is an interesting and unusual place.

Slightly like staying at a mad uncles house, but in a good way. Room was small (Indian room), but full of character.
Everything worked well, but it's certainly not a sleek minimalist place!

I found it just a hint of a bit creepy when I got up to use the bathroom in the night.

The next morning we had a REALLY nice breakfast on the terrace, and the proprietor and daughter were very friendly.

It would be a 40 minute walk to town square, or a 4 minute drive. Downtown Sonoma has plenty of free parking so it's not an issue being a bit further out. In fact the location is really nice as its semi rural.

I enjoyed our stay and would come again, but probably wouldn't use it to stay for more than one night as we generally prefer somewhere lighter and brighter. It was good to stay somewhere different though...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed in Sara's Cottage with my boyfriend for one night. I've stayed at several B&B's in the past, and this was by far the best. It was so romantic and welcoming that the first thing I did - even before we went wine tasting in Sonoma! - was take lots of photos. The decor is very eclectic and perfect for the setting; you feel like you're staying in your grandparents' cottage out in the countryside. Sara's Cottage is in the most remote location on the Chalet property, and we didn't hear any other guest the entire time. What we DID hear were doves in the morning, cooing from an aviary nearby on the property! Very charming. (And don't worry, they're not close enough to wake you up in the morning.) The hosts are very kind and helpful, offering tips on the surrounding area and providing a very casual but satisfying breakfast in the morning, outside on the main building's patio. There's a hot tub on the property, but we didn't use it as our cottage had a large claw-foot tub for soaking--and the hot tub is in a bit of a tight location, too close to the main building and a neighboring cottage for our taste (it feels like it's right in someone's backyard). As an added bonus, though, you receive a free wine tasting card to nearly 30 local wineries when you stay here. Going to just three places before dinner, that saved us around $65! We'll definitely return here the next time we stay in Sonoma.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My fiance and I spent two days in the Indian room and loved everything about it! The location is very convenient, sitting right at the edge of town, making it very easy to go out to eat, go shopping, or visit the vineyards and wineries. But as close as you are to town, you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, as the property is surrounded by empty space. It's very quiet; the only sound you'll hear is the doves. The decorations and antique furnishings make you feel like you've gone back in time. Joe is very nice and served us a delicious breakfast on the beautiful deck overlooking the hills behind the property and gave us some good recommendations for places to eat in town. I accidentally left my belts in the room while packing, and Joe mailed them to me before I even had a chance to contact him to ask if he found them! We enjoyed the Indian room, but if go back some day we'd like to stay in one of the private cottages, which are like little cabins in the woods.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Indian room, but if go back some day we'd like to stay in one of the private cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Absolutely loved this place! My favourite stay during my trip to California this spring. The cottages are a 15 min walk from the main plaza - accessible, but far enough so that you have the countryside on your doorstep. At the side of the cottage is a nature reserve, where you can see wild deer and beautiful birds. The cottages themselves are so unique and kitsch. The rooms and common areas are adorned with trinkets, furniture and ornaments - its like The Little House on the Prairie meets the opulence of Bollywood, with a periodic feel. Its absolutely bananas in a wonderful way! Each room has a little balcony where you can sit and catch rays in the evening, enjoying any purchases from your wineries that day. Breakfast is served in a cosy little kitchen. A beautiful table is set by the owner Jo. The breakfast is fab - great coffee, cereals, fresh fruit, eggs and pastries to die for! Jo is a wonderful host - smiling and charming, yet unimposing. He was so kind and welcoming during our stay. He also provides you with a voucher (provided by B+Bs who are members to a syndicate in Sonoma) which gives you free wine tasting in many wineries. Given that my partner and I visited six wineries over our stay, I reckon this saved us about USD120 approx. Amazing. I really love this place. Would love to go back some day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonoma Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Chalet

Address: 18935 5th St. W., Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-style farmhouse and country cottages in Sonoma Valley's Wine Country. Three cottages and four rooms with fireplace or wood stove, decorated with antiques, quilts and collectibles. Situated on three acres just blocks from Sonoma's Historic Square. Continental breakfast served on the deck overlooking a 200 acre ranch or in the privacy of your own cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonoma Chalet Hotel Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.