We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with an outstanding sommelier.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carneros Bistro

Carneros Bistro
1325 Broadway, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, Sonoma, CA 95476
707-931-2042
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carneros Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 107 Restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Leveroni/ Napa Rd Intersection
Description: Our award-winning Sonoma restaurant's menu features innovative, Mediterranean-influenced cuisine served in a casually elegant setting. Enjoy dishes prepared with local artisanal foods complemented by our sommelier’s wine list of over 400 bottles.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with an outstanding sommelier.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed Carneros Bistro during our recent stay at the Lodge at Sonoma. The menu was not large but the choices were diverse. It has a very nice atmosphere and a classic western decor. Service was very good and the meal timing just right. It was not too slow nor did we feel like we were rushed. The real bigger winner at this bistro is their sommelier, Chris Sawyer. One would expect a restaurant in Sonoma to be armed with a decent sommelier but Chris is on a different level. The guy just flat out knows wine and loves to share his knowledge and passion. His presence and interaction contributes to the overall experience. Definitely a 5.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok for hotel restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Dined here for convenience, since staying on the property. Started to dine outside but the flies were not behaving. Shared the Bistro Wedge and Hanger Steak. Both were very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Skip It”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was staying at the hotel for a wedding with friends and we went to the restaurant for breakfast at 9am. We had to get on a tour bus at 10am so the seven of us sat down and we ordered fairly quickly so we could have plenty of time. We eventually got our food at about 9:50. Noone ordered anything complicated but it took forever to get our food and we had to get up from the table to ask about it twice. Once we got the food we pretty much had to throw it in our mouths and run out the door, but what I did taste was pretty mediocre (I had the mushroom omelet and several people at the table had the huevos rancheros and said it wasn't good either.)

If you're staying here, skip this restaurant and go to nearby Black Bear Diner. We ate there the next two mornings and the food was twice as good and half the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good, albeit not well organized at breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you order the Buffett, it is not clear how you should get your eggs ordered. The chef acted like we weren't supposed to order from him, but waiter didn't take the order. And, they acted like the had never seen a rewards certificate, so we had to walk them thru it daily. Food was fresh and delicious

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Foor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The breakfast was great and well worth it. Very fresh and well cooked. Service was great too. I would return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carneros Bistro also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Carneros Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carneros Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.