We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cottage Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Cottage Inn & Spa
310 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special
Ranked #2 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Washington, D. C.
1 review
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

The Cottage Inn couldn't be better. The rooms are spacious, quiet, comfortable. There are so many thoughtful touches -- various lotions, bathtubs with jets, refrigerators with juices and cold water. The Inn is also near the center of Sonoma -- easy walking distance. When you walk in, you feel immediately welcome. But no one hovers over you. You will leave feeling you've been away for quite some time -- even if it's only been a few days!

  • Liked — The serenity and comfort.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    58
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
465
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I attended a meeting at the Fairmont Mission Inn for a week and my wife joined me. I found the inn on TA and chose it for proximity to the square and the reviews. We stayed in the View room upstairs. The entire stay was wonderful. Best decision was not to stay at the Fairmont. It is nice, but close to nothing.

We rented bikes for the week (ask the inn-they recommend a superb company you wont find listed). Every morning while I worked my wife rode her bike on a bike trail to a nearby healthclub included with the room and did classes. She spent the balance of the morning cruising the square. In the afternoon we went to wineries, some by bike, some by car.

We ate at great places Fay and the other innkeepers recommended--and they were never wrong.

The inn is beautiful, and wonderfully maintained. Our room was amazing, and the view over the roofs and trees is wonderful. You can keep the wide doors open to the view and still have complete privacy.

My wife is a bit meticulous--she will not walk barefoot in most hotel rooms, such as the Four Seasons Seatle. She spent the whole week barefoot in this room, and actually did situps on the rug without a towel under her--a true first!

We would go back to Cottage Inn in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — wonderful room and staff
  • Disliked — Too short a stay
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

My husband and I went to Sonoma for our 50th birthdays and stayed at the Cottage Inn and Spa. We stayed in the Vineyard View Suite, which was incredibly lovely. Fresh baked goods arrived each morning on a hook by your door and fresh fruit was brought in to the room each day. Lorrie was the manager for the summer and she couldn't do enough for us. The location was wonderful, just a short walk to the square in Sonoma. We could walk to a different restaurant each night.
A relaxing and very clean place to use as a base in Sonoma.

  • Liked — location to the Square
  • Disliked — no pool, they should have their own bikes for guests
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

My wife and I honeymooned in Sonoma and stayed at the Cottage Inn and Spa. We were lucky to pick such a beautiful place to spend our honeymoon. We stayed in the mission suite which was a beautiful room with a jacuzzi tub and its own privite garden. The garden is perfect to have your breakfast of fresh rolls every morning which are hand delivered to your door. The staff was very helpful in recommendations of wineries and resturants to visit. A couples massage from willow is a must as soon as you arrive at the spa. All I know is that we had a great time and will be staying at the cottage inn and spa again the next time we visit sonoma.

  • Liked — Very welcoming.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Our four days and nights at Cottage Inn & Spa were most relaxing and enjoyable, from the moment we arrived at the property and were greeted in a most welcoming and friendly manner, to the time we checked out to head to San Francisco for a conference.

Cottage Inn & Spa has quite a warm and relaxed ambience throughout the place, and "Good Karma" was readily apparent to me.

The location just one block from Sonoma Town Square is most convenient. There are so many varied restaurants, bars, and wine shops in Sonoma, which gave us ample time to indulge in our passions of food & wine (Hamrony Lounge at The Ledson Hotel, 599 Thai Cafe, The Girl & the Fig, and Cucina Rustica at The Depot Hotel being our favourites).

In-room spa tub was nice and relaxing, with plenty of oils and salts being available to use with the spa.

The room was well stocked with provisions for breakfast (cereals, coffee, tea, milk, orange juice) throughout our four night stay, that more than met our needs (we're not big breakfast eaters) with freshly baked items being delivered outside our door every morning.

Cottage Inn & Spa is a perfect place to stay for a peaceful, quiet, relaxing, and romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Peaceful, quiet, relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Having to leave...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

My husband I went to the Cottage Inn and Spa for his 50th birthday and had a wonderful experience. The owners were extremely helpful to us as our info guides around the Sonoma wineries. The Inn was beautifully quaint, clean and convenient. We would definitely book again!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

Faye and Gaeta, the owners of the cottage are great hosts, friendly staff, laid back atmosphere and very helpful in navigating around wine country. Rooms, service, quality and cleanliness are excellent. Good romatic spot and with walking distance to Sonoma town centre, an ideal location to tour the Sonoma and Napa valley regions. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — People, room, decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Address: 310 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.